We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Mountain Oasis !”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Robbinsville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Iron Horse Motorcycle Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Madison, Alabama
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“A Mountain Oasis !”
Reviewed May 6, 2013

All the private rooms were booked and I was little apprehensive about a semi-private room (sharing a bathroom with previously unknown bikers) But WOW what an awesome place!!!

Rather than a Jack/Jill type bathroom, the rooms were totally private with a surprising modern, clean & large bath off a common foyer. Each room had it's own set of large, fluffy towels. The shower had a shampoo/conditioner/body wash dispenser. The bathroom had TWO hair dryers a heater and even a spray can of room deodorizer - they literally thought of everything !

Add to that Ice chests/coolers available for guest use, covered parking for motorcycles, chairs on the cabin porch/deck, rockers on the lodge deck all topped off by EXCELLENT, friendly service and fun fellow guests. I look forward to staying here again.

So why not a 5 rating you might ask. Only "minor" reasons. Although I hear the Prime Rib on Sat. is excellent we stayed over a Friday night. My BBQ (pulled pork) was avg., my bf didn't care for the chicken and the sides were bland - not a complaint per se, the generous servings filled us up for a reasonable price. Again breakfast was generous, but bland & we got cubed fried potatoes, not hashbrowns like I think of hashbrowns - perhaps it's a regional difference in terminology. Also, the convenience store had only carbonated drinks & water, maybe powerade too, I don't recall. I really wanted lemonade or juice, I've never seen a Coca-Cola fridge full of coke products without Minute Maid lemonade or other flavors, so that was a disappointment for me.

Not meant to be a negative toward the venue or owners, but something I will be more aware of in the future is to ask if they have a special event planned. They were hosting a wedding the weekend we stayed, thus many (most?) of the other guests were already family & friends, and they "took over" the fire pit so to speak. Remember I started this review saying "....previously unknown bikers". Our "bath-room-mate" was pleasant company on the porch and we made a point to have dinner & breakfast at tables with solo dinners, so we met some nice folks from all across the country. However, I noticed at the fire pit some solo bikers, as well as my bf and I were scattered about the outer edges of the fire circle, effectively observing a private party. Whereas if not for the wedding, I believe all "equal strangers" probably would have gathered closer in and enjoyed some biker camaraderie.

Ironically, it's akin to the "give an inch and they take a foot" phenomena, since the meals, store & fire pit are more than is offered at many other lodges, it's almost unfair of me to use them as reason for less than excellent rating. However, since it was built up such that I expected "bonuses", just more variety of beverage choices (for purchase) and socializing at the fire, could have put it "over the top" for me.

Note it is located in a 'dry county', so if you wish to imbibe - BYOB or plan to make a run to the next county.

Room Tip: I really appreciated being creekside, seeing the main lodge, the fire & camping areas. I appreci...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MsJlg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    146
    20
    3
    0
    2
See reviews for
8
44
27
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Charles Town, West Virginia, United States
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013

The Iron Horse is a facility that caters to the motoring lifestyle. There are many options to choose from. For those that enjoy the primative campsites to those like my wife and I that prefer a private room with your own bathroom attached. The owner and staff go out of their was to make sure you have a great stay. Nightly the bonfire is lit and there are plenty of old biker stories being swapped. In the morning there was a fog that encompassed the area (thats why it's the Smoky Mountains) and after it lifted the bikes would start rolling out. Maybe a ride to the Smokey Mountain National Park, Tail of the Dragon or pehaps the many other day trips that are available. There is no bad riding in this area.

Room Tip: Everything from primative camping to private suites. For groups there are bunkhouses and rental hous...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murrells Inlet, South Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2012

We were first-time motorcycle campers, and this was the perfect place to try it out! Great spots, hot food at the lodge, clean bathrooms, fun staff. It was a little hard to find the place, but it's a mountain resort so that was expected.

The food was surprisingly good, the owners were friendly and accomodating. Location was close to great riding. I was also pleastantly surprised at the feel of the place... being surrounded by bikers you never know what to expect...and the laid-back, relaxed atmosphere was fun! Not loud or obnoxious, just fun.

We were tent campers, so I can't really speak to the cabins/bunk houses.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JR_SC_68_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
469 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 239 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2012

A group of us senior riders stayed at the Iron Horse on a several day trip to ride the famous mountain roads of western NC and eastern TN, some of the best riding on the planet. Conveniently located right off of "Moonshiner 28," 23 miles south of the "Tail of the Dragon," and just "over the mountain" from Robbinsville, this place is perfect for serious bikers who are focused on riding, on after-riding camaraderie, on being out in the great outdoors, and are willing to sleep on small beds, two to a room, to share a bathroom among four guys, or to sleep on the grass in a small tent. We shared rooms in the cozy little cabins and it worked out very, very well. Motorcycle support facilities, including covered parking and air, are provided. Motorcyclist support facilities, including maps, wifi, early morning coffee, lounges with big TVs, and breakfast and dinner, are also available. Meals were good (and actually, the pot roast that I had was excellent), but not very large, which to me is a good thing. Some bikers might want to order two dinners or a double breakfast. But one of the best things about this place - and why we'll come back until we're either riding trikes or dead - is the group of people who own Iron Horse and run it. They've not only made a gem in the wilderness, but also accommodate their customers in a manner that you might not expect. For example, one of our group had a serious riding incident and ended up in a nearby hospital. Several of us had to cancel our visit and return home to help retrieve his bike and to support his family. The owners could have done nothing financially or given us a credit for next year... but they chose to refund our money for the time we weren't there. There's little question that we'll be back for as many years as we can. So if you're interested in a different kind of experience, and even if you're as rich as Malcolm Forbes was, this is definitely the place to go.

Room Tip: The "200" cabin worked well for us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank AlPhD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, NV
Level 6 Contributor
219 reviews
175 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 285 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2012

What a beautiful place! The grounds are immaculate, the bed wonderful, and if you are there on a Saturday night you must have the prime rib dinner! If you are riding in this area and want a biker-friendly-oasis this is it. The owners were on-site and I feel this makes a difference in a well-kept property and they were so gracious and welcoming. Seriously, I can't say enough about Iron Horse!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Pattyjo98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coppell, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

This was our groups first visit to this facility. Our organizer had found it online and felt it was a good fit for us. We ride around the country and are always looking for facilities like this one. It exceeded all of our expectations and then some. A large group of us rented a cabin up on the hill and were very pleased with the amenities. We had our own kitchen and dining area as well as four good sized bathrooms. We even had a one car garage to store some of our Motorcyles and the porch set up allowed us to get the other bikes out of the weather overnight (had a couple of short rain showers while we were there). Breakfast and dinner are served in the main lodge area if you want it and the food was very good and reasonably priced. If you ride mortorcyles all day, you kind of want a place to kick back to eat after a long full day of riding. We also had a couple of riders use the RV section and they were very pleased as well with the facilities. All in all a great place for motorcyle riders to stay. It's also very convenient to some of the best motorcyle roads we have ever seen. When and if we go back to the Smoky Mountain area, we will definitely stay here again. We met and spoke with the owners on a couple of occassions and found them to be extremely accomodating and very customer oriented. If you like to stay in tents they have tent sites as well and a small creek runs right through the center of the property.

Room Tip: They have complete cabins, rooms, tent sites, and RV sites as well. All were convenient to the main...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ed J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lenoir, North Carolina, USA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2012

The Ironhorse Campground is amazing! The accommodations were very affordable starting with a "rent a tent" to cabins with a jacuzzi. The dinners (prime rib & pot roast) were delicious! The local roads were wonderful to ride but sitting by the creek in a swing was just as enjoyable. What made this place exceptional was the owners & staff. We had 3 bikes breakdown in our group and the owners/staff went over and above to help us get bike service. As a group we enjoyed the theater area which was a nice private place to gather at the end of the day to share ride memories & have a good time. We will be back and hopefully it will be sooner than later.

Room Tip: For value choose the "rent a tent". They will have a tent with mat, sleeping bags, clean l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank free2ride
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Robbinsville
8.5 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Robbinsville
15.2 mi away
Historic Tapoco Lodge Resort
Historic Tapoco Lodge Resort
#2 of 6 in Robbinsville
655 reviews
8.7 mi away
Fontana Village Resort
Fontana Village Resort
#1 of 1 in Fontana Dam
491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.2 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#1 of 1 in Andrews
90 reviews
20.2 mi away
Townsend Gateway Inn
Townsend Gateway Inn
#2 of 10 in Townsend
498 reviews
7.3 mi away
Nantahala Village
Nantahala Village
#4 of 22 in Bryson City
209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iron Horse Motorcycle Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iron Horse Motorcycle Lodge

Property: Iron Horse Motorcycle Lodge
Address: 1755 Lower Stecoah Rd, Robbinsville, NC 28771-8918
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Robbinsville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Specialty Lodging in Robbinsville
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a motorcycle exclusive resort located in the middle of the twists & turns in Western NC. We offer all types of accommodations from primitive tent camping, private rooms, RV sites, and full cabin rentals that sleep up to 6-12ppl!! We also have a restaurant on property, Chuck Wagon Grill, that serves breakfast 7 days a week and Dinners Wed - Sunday for our guests on property. We carter to couples, individuals, small groups and even larger groups with 120+. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing