We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for overnight stay.”
Review of Phillips Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Robbinsville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Phillips Motel
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Robbinsville
Reviewed November 10, 2012

Most reviews pretty much sum up the Phillips Motel. I had one of the small rooms on the street behind the main part of the motel. The room was furnished with mis-matched furniture and lamps from many era's. Just a collection of pieces put together by a blind person. TV was a small old tube type that worked fine. Micro & fridge also in room. Bathroom was small but served it's purpose. Heater worked well during the cool night. Overall the room was clean & tidy. Price was right. $40 + tax. You can hardly camp for that price. I would rather stay in a place like this than your standard cookie cutter motels that fill the landscape of freeway exits in our country. This place has it's own unique character that's missing in chain motels. Maybe it's the throwback to travel time with my parents and staying in the old roadside motels in the 50's & 60's. Maybe it's because I want to rest and don't care about what kind of marble the sink in the bathroom is made off. It doesn't matter when the rest is comfortable. You will find comfort here.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sean B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (61)
There are newer reviews for Phillips Motel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

50 - 56 of 61 reviews

Reviewed August 3, 2012

Nice little retro motel. No pool,but makes up for it with reasonable rates.Very comfy and convenient to the dragon. Good,visible place to park your car or scoot. Mizz Reba is a very nice lady and helpful with knowledge about the area.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cajunito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2012

Phillips is a really quaint little motel with very reasonable rates. The room was clean, the bed was comfortable (thick memory foam topper) with high thread-count sheets. Bathroom was small and a little on the retro side (fine by me). This would be a great place for paddlers traveling to the area for a Cheoah release, as you'd be about equidistant from both that river and the NOC campus.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SomeMiddleAgedChick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2012

Ms. Reba at Phillips Motel in Robbinsville, NC, is the BEST! Made us feel like family the moment we arrived. She went above and beyond to make our stay happy, comfortable and very memorable. Our rooms were very adequate and clean with comfortable beds. Our bikes had ample, safe, asphalt parking in plain view at all times. Location is very convenient to the famous Deals Gap and Hwy 129 Tail of the Dragon. The quaint, charming courtyard was inviting to sit with others and share stories about the experiences of our days spent riding the great motorcycle roads of the Smoky Mountains. One night we were grateful to see a cozy fire pit going and huddled our frozen bodies around it once we finally made it in at midnight! Memories! That's what this place has to offer - and more!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jill J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2012

room 109
This was a walk down memory lane for us--a time warp of sorts; the looks in and out were of
motels long ago.
The stone facade and lovely yard were very inviting as are the ample chairs, benches, tables,
and fire pit. The owner is an interesting and personable lady who has been there since her
childhood; the place just has that homey feel.

As this town is very near 3 or 4 scenic drives that especially appeal to motorcycle riders from
around the world, it is well worth hanging out by the fire pit to meet interesting folks and
share travel stories & tips even if you are not a rider.

All that being said, do be prepared for very basic rooms. Our room would have benefited from some serious updating including a new mattress and more thorough cleaning in the nooks and crannies. A coffee maker would be a nice addition; the owner did provide one to one of the
international guests who then shared the coffee at the fire pit. Also be prepared for some
noise as the rooms are far from sound-proofed; the sounds come from the gatherings at the
fire pit and the school buses across the street when they start up early in the morning.

The next door restaurant had good service and above average food at reasonable cost.
Overall this motel is a good choice in this town.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank davontheroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2011

We normally only stay in the well known Hotels and Motels but, thought we would try something different on the weekend of News Years. I was really surprised in a good way. We had a refrigerator and microwave. I am currently staying tonight at the Hampton which has neither. If you are looking for a new place, Phillips is not it. I think it was built in 1944 and maintained.The owner was nice and helpful. Our room was fine, comfortable and clean. The only low rating would be the water pressure and varying hot water which I have seen in really nice Hotels. Overall enjoyed the visit.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2011

Well, this place to me was very average. Clean, but average. Very old property...Bathrooms were from the 60-70's. If the adjoining room had water on, not much more than a trickle flowed from the faucet. Wifi is good in certain areas. My first room it would not connect. Large properties like this need to have multiple routers. It is unacceptable to hear, "It's working here in the office"......Maybe it's your computer....Nope, not my computer when the school across the street has a stronger signal!!

Also, this is right in the town. The pictures are a bit deceiving. The front area of the motel is nicely landscape, and a few tables are around. But you are looking at a big wall and an elevated parking lot for the school buses.

Would I go back?? Maybe. To me everything was just ok.....

Room Tip: If you want wifi, don't get room 109.....
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank G R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Robbinsville
0.4 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Robbinsville
10.9 mi away
Historic Tapoco Lodge Resort
Historic Tapoco Lodge Resort
#2 of 6 in Robbinsville
687 reviews
7.3 mi away
Fontana Village Resort
Fontana Village Resort
#1 of 1 in Fontana Dam
514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#1 of 1 in Andrews
92 reviews
21.5 mi away
Sleep Inn Bryson City - Cherokee Area
21.0 mi away
Days Inn Murphy
Days Inn Murphy
#4 of 6 in Murphy
278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phillips Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phillips Motel

Address: 290 Main Street, Robbinsville, NC 28771
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Robbinsville
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Robbinsville
Price Range: $40 - $125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Phillips Motel is a locally, family-owned motel located in the heart of the Smoky Mountains -- come see us! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing