We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a fantastic bargain!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Robbinsville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Snowbird Mountain Lodge
Ranked #1 of 12 Robbinsville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 20, 2006

We retired to Pinehurst,NC a year plus ago and decided to experience the mountains of our new home state this summer. From a magazine about NC B&B's published by "Our State" magazine we made a short list and then checked it against reviews in TripAdvisor. Snowbird was not in the magazine, but one of the reviews mentioned it and said it was head and shoulders above the B&B we were considering. So...we checked their attractive, well illustrated website and thought it looked like a good bet. So how many places can you find where you get a king bed room and three meals a day for $230?....and it turns out to be fabulous too??? Okay, the final tab has a 15% service charge plus taxes added, but that's still a bargain. And yes, the lunch is a picnic in a back-pack, but that's part of what makes the place special: you're out in the middle of nowhere, hiking, canoeing, biking, and you've got a neat picnic lunch with you; made to order and waiting by the door when you leave to explore Graham County. The couple running the lodge have all the details covered: umbrellas to use if it rains; walking sticks to take on your hike; printed directions to anything and everything; mountains bikes and helmets; canoes and kayaks on Lake Santeelah; two tennis courts.....and there's NO charge added for any of these amenities. The views are to die for. The rooms are in an updated 1929 corporate hunting lodge. If you want fancier they have a brand new building with rooms with jacuzi and fireplace, but we found the main lodge to be quite enjoyable. The dinner menu offers two soups, three salads and five entrees featuring local produce and regional favorites. These western counties are dry...but Snowbird has a liquor license. The bar has a neat selection of micro-brews and wines. My only small crab is that I hate cocktails with one carefully measured jigger of booze. Gimmee a break, I'm on vacation! Check out the website.....the pics are a good preview. We'll be back, count on it!

Stayed: July 2006
3  Thank S2K4POP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (671)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

665 - 671 of 671 reviews

Reviewed August 7, 2006

I stayed at Snowbird Mountain Lodge from August 1-3. The view of the mountains is wonderful. The room was very nice and clean with air conditioning. The food was excellent and rivals any gourmet restaurant. There are no televisions in the rooms, but you can check-out a portable DVD player to watch movies. There are several outdoor activities nearby. I would highly recommend Snowbird Mountain Lodge and bring your appetite.

Stayed: August 2006
2  Thank AURICONE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2005

We really enjoyed our one night stay at the Snowbird Mountain Lodge. We stayed in one of the cottages. It offered everything you could want. At first, I was a bit disappointed with the interior..specifically, it looked just like boards had been put up with no finish. However, with some time and adjustment, I really came to like this little cottage. Can't explain what happened! Our meals were just wonderful! We'd been to the Joyce Kilmer earlier in the day, so once we got to Showbird, we didn't leave. We just sat on the porch, read, and enjoyed the beautiful scenery.

  • Stayed: October 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank wintersummer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
southwestern Penna.
210
Reviewed June 27, 2005

What I've envisioned in staying in a mountain lodge, was found here. Gorgeous view off the mountains as soon as you get out of the car. You are perched up top of a mountain with scenes of the clouds wafting in and out of the gaps and peaks....the view always changes, and its always there right out the front window of the lodge. There are trails right on the site and in the morning you can take a short walk and catch the scenes of the mountains as they are nestled in a soft blanket of mist.....ahhhhh. The food is also excellent! I've eaten things I never thought I'd try because I knew it would be good. It's wonderful how they provide you with a "to-go" lunch as you trek around the area. A wonderful experience is canoeing on Santeetlah lake. It makes for a wonderful day, you can paddle around the many inlets on the lake and just take it all in. Joyce Kilmer Memorial Forest is lovely and gives you a glimpse of what Appalachia must have been like before all of the logging took place. My only gripe would be that you could here all kinds of noises and bumps between the thin walls, and it didn't feel very private, as you would like to feel on a vacation. The price was a little high for our budget, but I can say that it was worth it, especially considering that all of our meals were paid for. If I could afford it, I'd go every year.

  • Stayed: June 2003
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2005

We enjoyed the Snowbird during the July 4th weekend in 2003. We still have wonderful memories and have recommended the Snowbird to many. The natural view is lovely, the inn super clean and charming, and the meals are wonderful. The other guests seem to all be people who also value nature and good hospitality. Definitely hike the Joyce Kilmer National Forest -- you will feel like you stepped inside a terrarium -- it is lovely!
We opted for a second-floor corner room, which we liked. All the rooms are somewhat dark, because of the natural wood paneling, but plenty of windows help. Also, because there is no airconditioning and it is very quiet at night, we would not recommend it for those who like to stay up late and party.....this is an early to bed and early to rise crowd here. We visited with many other guests, many who return each year. We will definitely return.
If you hate the crowds of Gatlinburg, you will love this place....no crowds....peace, quiet and the lovely mountain scenery!

8  Thank MargNashville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Maitland, FL
17
Reviewed May 6, 2004

When you were a kid, did you ever visit a favorite grandparent that lived in the country? Staying at Snowbird Lodge is like the best of those times. A bit pricey, but it includes 3 delicious meals. Everything is provided. They have an extensive reference library, backpacks, canteens, bicycles, most anything you need to enjoy your stay. Views from the deck are breathtaking. Or, for a more panaramic view, take the short 3/8 mile hike to the eastern point of the ridge & enjoy unlimited views in most all directions. On cool mornings, watch a golden fog cloud rise from the lake below & slowly drift over the opposing ridge. No tv's or radios allowed in the lobby or sitting room & children 12 & under are not permitted. A box lunch is provided for those that want to explore beyond the lodge property. Tranquility at it's best!

7  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Chattanooga, Tennessee
15
Reviewed March 29, 2004

A true escape from the "rat race". You can choose to relax in the beautiful lodge (you can also stay in cottages), be spoiled by gourmet meals, or you can choose hiking, fishing, rafting, getting close to nature. If you like to read, there is a large selection of great books in the lodge. Near Joyce Kilmer Forest where you see a virgin forest of huge Tulip Poplars. Some large enough four adults can't reach around them.

5  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Robbinsville
7.5 mi away
Historic Tapoco Lodge Resort
Historic Tapoco Lodge Resort
#2 of 6 in Robbinsville
708 reviews
7.4 mi away
Fontana Village Resort
Fontana Village Resort
#1 of 1 in Fontana Dam
523 reviews
24.5 mi away
Best Western Cades Cove Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.7 mi away
Harrah's Cherokee Valley River Casino & Hotel
19.1 mi away
Nantahala Village
Nantahala Village
#6 of 23 in Bryson City
217 reviews
23.9 mi away
Dancing Bear Lodge
Dancing Bear Lodge
#1 of 10 in Townsend
587 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Snowbird Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Snowbird Mountain Lodge

Address: 4633 Santeetlah Rd, Robbinsville, NC 28771-7824
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Robbinsville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Robbinsville
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Snowbird Mountain Lodge, a unique and timeless retreat with majestic views, pampering accommodations, warm hospitality, endless adventure and delectable cuisine, is tucked deep in the Nantahala National Forest. Created in 1941, Snowbird continues to be a mountain haven where guests remove themselves from everyday life and connect with one another amidst nature's abundance. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Snowbird Mountain Lodge b&b
Snowbird Mountain Hotel Robbinsville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing