We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Snowbird Mountain Lodge
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Robbinsville
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Phillips Motel(Robbinsville)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
San-Ran Motel(Robbinsville)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
Quality Inn & Suites(Robbinsville)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Two Wheel Inn(Robbinsville)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fontana Village Resort(Fontana Dam)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Quality Inn(Andrews)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (687)
Filter reviews
687 results
Traveler rating
634
41
7
4
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
634
41
7
4
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrobert rankinpacked lunchhot tubsunrise pointoverlooking the mountainsget awaypicnic lunchthree meals a dayfire pitsummer housenearby lakejoyce kilmer national foresthiking trailsextensive libraryfly fishingmountain lodgecherohala skyway
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
538 - 543 of 687 reviews
Reviewed October 15, 2012

We have visited Snowbird Mountain Lodge a number of times and we've decided we must go yearly from now on. It is truly the most relaxing and beautiful place I've ever stayed. The food is superb and the service is terrific. The Chestnut Lodge is the best- so comfortable and cozy with fireplaces in every cabin. Amazing!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amber L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2012

For decades I have been looking for a premier mountain inn in the US. The Snowbird is the place that we have been searching for.

The location is far western NC. I have always been partial to the Asheville or Blowing Rock areas and have never visited the area of the Snowbird, Robbinsville and Santeetlah areas, which is now proven to be a mistake. Views are magnificent, hiking is great, and driving Cherohala magnificent. It is off of the beaten path, which is part of the allure, about 2 hours from Asheville.

At the Inn the attention to detail is amazing. Artistic influence is everywhere, from garden design, to the paintings in the inn, to the welded sculpture on the hiking paths, to the interior design, to the bird feeders loaded with warblers, to the food, fireplace, historic ambience, and just everything. It seems that the innkeeper has truly put his heart and soul into it. It is an overall beautiful experience, not just in the natural beauty of the area but majestically beautiful in the inn experience. I am amazed how aesthetically gorgeous it is.

Food was a solid A+. Sarah the chef, was magnificent in her blend of traditional mountain/southern influence with innovative modern creativity. I will put her cooking up against any of the great restaurants that we have been fortunate enough to go to worldwide. You will be pleased.

Don't miss the hiking on the site. Sunrise from the point highly recommended. Or go meditate at "the rocks". Where else will you find sculpture on a hiking trail! Joyce Kilmer only a few miles away is magnificent and on the morning we went was so peaceful, quiet, and majestic. Also consider the hikes to Huckleberry bald or the shorter Hooper bald off of the Cherohala.

Had room 17 which has a wonderful mountain view. It also had squeaky floors, typical of a historic inn. As we are less fond of the historic room and sleeping experience we will choose the more modern Chestnut or Wolfe lodge next time, which are wonderful options and yet can still enjoy the historic components of the lodge, but with additional cost.

It is a friendly place, not uppety or arrogant. LaKota the dog will greet you like family. We greatly enjoyed Sandra at the desk, and all of the staff. Bar is great and large variety of wines and spirits. Exceptional bag lunch included, or have it in a backpack provided for hiking.

If I were an innkeeper, the Snowbird would be my fantasies desire. Mr. Rankin has created a masterpiece.

Room Tip: Main lodge with historic rooms. Ask for mountain view. Other lodges with more modern rooms and fireplaces.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank djkeys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

We only stayed one night - but it was wonderful. Loved the views, the people, the common living spaces, and especially the food. Can't wait to come back with friends and do some serious exploration of the surrounding area.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cindy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

The most delightful and peaceful stay. Choice of sitting by the fire or in front of the picture windows overlooking Snowbird Mtn while reading, or hike the trails, or take a canoe out on the lake. Overlook points for sunrise and also sunset. Exceptional Dinner. No TV in rooms or lobby and no phones in rooms. Wi-Fi available and Verizon cell service works fine. Staff is most accomodating. We have gone to the mountains for years, but never stayed anywere that we liked as well has Snowbird. We will definitely return.

Room Tip: Mountain View 2nd floor if available.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Once again, April made planning a gathering of friends such a plaeasure. Twenty two of us got together to celebrate the 97th birthday of our dear friend, Pop Hollandsworth. Everything was perfect. The rooms are so comfortable. The food (Thank you, Sarah!!!) is delicious!! April and Sandra helped us make the great room our own for slideshows and presentations. The hiking in the area is plentiful and the relaxing around the lodge is as desirable as the hiking! I hope we'll be back soon for many more celebrations!!

Room Tip: For rustic atmosphere, stay in the Main Lodge. For hot tub on the deck and fireplace in the room stay in the Chestnut Lodge.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ATJ1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews