We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Snowbird Mountain Lodge
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Robbinsville
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Phillips Motel(Robbinsville)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
San-Ran Motel(Robbinsville)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
Quality Inn & Suites(Robbinsville)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Two Wheel Inn(Robbinsville)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fontana Village Resort(Fontana Dam)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Quality Inn(Andrews)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (687)
Filter reviews
687 results
Traveler rating
634
41
7
4
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
634
41
7
4
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrobert rankinpacked lunchhot tubsunrise pointoverlooking the mountainsget awaypicnic lunchthree meals a dayfire pitsummer housenearby lakejoyce kilmer national foresthiking trailsextensive libraryfly fishingmountain lodgecherohala skyway
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
577 - 582 of 687 reviews
Reviewed August 19, 2012

What drove me to Snowbird Lodge was a Camera Workshop with Mark Dauber that the lodge sponsored. What makes me want to go back to Snowbird Lodge?: magnificent food, my every need being met, privacy, wonderful hiking, the people, great views and a well kept lodge. Snowbird is a definite 5 star!

Sharron C.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharron1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2012

We just came back for the Snowbird - it was our 6th trip. We love the serenity at the lodge (no TVs). Sitting on the porch in rocking chairs sipping on wine and watching birds - it does not get any better. The food and staff are awesome. this past weekend we experienced beer and wine dinners! Yummy! Met awesome people both nights!

Room Tip: Choose a mountain side room in the lodge.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2012

Have been visiting the Lodge many times over the years and it just keeps getting better. Wonderful backpacking &/or hiking trails in nearby mountains including tracts of virgin forests, & excellent trout fishing in the creeks. I usually camp for a few days and end the trips with a couple of nights at Snowbird to enjoy their unmatched hospitality, exceptional food and well-stocked library. This place combines warm Appalachian ambiance with a zen-like grace, quietly inviting you to forget your troubles, ‘take your boots off and sit a spell’. Probably not for the tight-budget traveler, but worth every penny.
Lodge rooms are cozy & simple, fitting a Lodge built in the 40’s but with up-dated bathrooms & amenities…. The cabins are larger and well appointed, the largest of which have very private balconies and hot tubs overlooking the mountains. I really enjoy the humorous & quirky collection of metal artwork scattered across the grounds.
Additionally, the Lodge is in the vicinity of the Cherolala Skyway and Deal’s Gap Road (“Tail of the Dragon”) which are extremely popular for motorcycle touring, though only a few of the bikers seem to use the lodge as a homebase. Nearby Lake Santeelah is a spectacular & pristine mountain lake with much undeveloped shoreline in the Nantahala National Forest. Canoes & Kayaks are available at the Lodge. Hikers, bikers, sight-seers, harried city dwellers, fishermen, and foodies will all find something they can enjoy here.

Room Tip: All Lodge rooms are simple, cozy but quiet & restful. Cabins are more private (and more modern in furnishings).
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PaulBrown1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2012

Rather than fly to the Pacific Northwest, we decided to save the plane fare and rental car fees to remain in North Carolina and pay for better accommodations. Snowbird exceeds expectations. It is a destination tucked deep in the mountains. We could be as relaxed or busy as we chose. We enjoyed hiking the trails; and there are many choices, from easy to difficult, from short to long. A professional photographer was on the Snowbird schedule for complimentary photography classes, so some of us guests gathered mornings to become more knowledgeable and comfortable with using our various cameras. An unexpected bonus was the bond of friendship that developed while we shot and shared our photos.

All the positive comments about the gourmet cuisine is true. There was plenty of choice on each day's menu. After a good breakfast, the kitchen staff sent us out with a picnic lunch every day, and we returned to a gourmet dinner menu every evening.

The staff are considerate and thoughtful, and anticipate needs without hovering. For example, there are several lookout points on the property. At each lookout point, there are covered metal boxes bolted to the rails, where that contain flashlights, binoculars, and bug repellant.

The lodge has a huge and homey sitting room/library with a huge window overlooking the mountain vista. We spent several evenings on the stone-paved patio with our new friends, watching the butterflies and hummingbirds during daylight, or viewing the stars at night.

We came home relaxed and plan to return.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GaGirl5376
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2012

Snowbird Mountain Lodge has been my husband's and my retreat for many years. To get away from the fast pace of life, hassles, and demands, you can't ask for better. You walk from your room in the lodge, down the hall and out the door,onto the terrace and have a 180 degree vista of the Snowbird Mountains from 2600 ft. Then, all you have to do is drink coffe, eat a gourmet breakfast, read books from an extensive library or if relaxation to you is distraction, hike all through the Nantahala Forest, paddle board, canoe, or kayak Santeetlah Lake. Tsali mountain bike trails are 45 minutes away. However, for my husband and me, we bird watch, hike a bit, build artful stacked stone cairns in the clear creeks and enjoy the gourmet dinners! There is also a full bar with local micro brews and extensive wine list. A wonderful, magical place... don't miss it!

Room Tip: There is no swimming pool... I can't get the rating to go away.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ew0755
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews