We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Anniversary Stay!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Robbinsville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Snowbird Mountain Lodge
Ranked #1 of 12 Robbinsville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Seymour, Tennessee
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great Anniversary Stay!”
Reviewed July 5, 2012

Thank you Snowbird. This was our first stay and we were delighted. We were greated by smiling faces and shown to our room, which was a lovey corner lodge room. The furnishings and decor were beyond what we had truly expected. The grounds and views were breathtaking. After check in we hiked the grounds and out to the sunset and sunrise decks, just beautiful. After a cocktail in the lounge, we enjoyed a very gorment meal of trout and ribeye, followed by delious dessert. The wine list was very good and we appreciated that. After dinner we rocked on the back patio and had a very pleasant evening. Breakfast was something to not miss. We had two fantastic massages with David, which we highly recommend, followed by a picnic lunch, packed by the restaurant and a drive through the Joyce Kilmer National Forest. The second night's dinner was just as memorable, as we celebrated 26 years of marriage. The follow morning after breakfast, we picked up our bagged lunch and headed out. We will come back again and again. The hospitality, food, wine, views and more are just something you don't find in combination much in the Smokies. So glad we live near by. Thank you Snowbird Lodge!
The Hazels

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Kimberly H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

648 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    599
    39
    6
    3
    1
See reviews for
53
455
15
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (268)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vero Beach, Florida, United States
1 review
Reviewed July 2, 2012

Snowbird Mountain Lodge welcomed us into plush log cabin comfort! A lovely staff made checking in a breeze! The mountain vista from our room stretched the imagination of picture window's. We dined on perfectly prepared mountain trout and prime rib! We broke fast on local Nantahala sausage and fresh baked scones. Our back packed, brown paper bag lunch was sumptuous eaten before a hike in the Joyce Kilmer Forest minutes in the car from Snowbird. Our first time paddle boarding that afternoon in Santeetlah Lake, compliments of the Lodge equipment ,was way too much fun in a beautiful, peaceful, valley lake. We miss it already and will be headed back soon!

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side give a view of the mountains and the variety of birds visiting the feeder...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melinda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
Reviewed June 28, 2012

My wife and I have been visiting Snowbird yearly for a number of years. It is only about 160 miles from Atlanta, but few here know of this hidden treasure. Given that the price includes the wonderful gourmet food, it is a very good deal. We love to take advantage of the outdoor activities, including renting a boat at the local Marina (Deytons) to spend time on the beautiful and unspoiled Lake Santeetlah (be sure to look for the resident bald eagles and to take a dip in one of many coves). Also, the hike to Hangover Lead (elev. 5300) is one the best in the Southeast (Robert can show you on the map). We also take advantage of the mountain bikes, canoes, and fishing (equipment all provided by the Lodge as part of the price). Of course, there is no better place to simply relax, read, and talk than in or around the lodge itself, with the wonderful mountain views and near perfect weather. You will see many beautiful birds (hummingbirds and gold finches abound) in and around the beautiful grounds. Be sure to walk to sunrise point at sunrise or sunset for a more spectacular view.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2012

My husband and I had seen Snowbird lodge several times on day trips we take across the Cherohala Skyway by motorcycle and had always talked about staying there. We finally took that opportunity for Father's Day 2012. Only three hours away from our home in Chattanooga, it was a perfect little getaway. The lodge is beautiful with rustic and historic decor and the surrounding scenery is breathtaking. The wine list is extensive and we enjoyed cocktails from the full bar. We relaxed to live music with the magnificent view of the mountains behind. The Food!!! We were totally surprised by the caliber of the food...it was outstanding and it is included in the cost of the stay! I don't think I have enough positive superlatives to describe our impressions of this lodge. Our visit to Snowbird Mountain lodge was very relaxing and we look forward to returning so we can partake in the activities we did not have time for this trip. We will be recommending this lodge to all friends and family!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wndrlst4us
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
1 review
Reviewed June 11, 2012

If you are looking for the perfect mountain retreat you can't beat the Snowbird Mountian Lodge.The room, service. food and the caring hospitality of everyone we met during our stay was exceptional!
The Owner / Innkeeper, Robert, went out of his way to make certain that our stay was everything we were looking for and more. He even offered to personally escort us on an evening /night hike into the Joyce kilmer Forset to whitness the "sync'ed" firefly event that nature puts on this time of the year.
If you haven't been to the Snowbird Mountain Lodge give it a try. You will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: Try the two room cottage. Fireplace, hot tub, outstanding mountin views and no phone, TV, or radio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Casatellico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leftcoast
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2012

I've been wanting to visit this place for a number of years but never quite had the opportunity until we spent two nights at this beautiful mountain lodge in late May 2012. The setting is great - a stunning mountain view and a really great lobby full of books, couches, and games. Rocking chairs on the front patio, a hammock on the lawn, a screened-in summer house, and a variety of benches throughout the surrounding woodland provide additional spots to relax. It is a very peaceful place. The no kids under 12 policy helps ensure that.

Staying here presents a conundrum. It is set in the Natahala National Forest, with easy access to hiking in the Joyce Kilmer Memorial Forest or spending time on the adjacent Lake Santeelah. But this place isn't for the faint of pocketbook....you're spending so much money to stay there that you almost feel obligated to stay on property to get your money's worth. If you've got the inclination to just unwind, this is a great place for that.

The accommodations are excellent - four room types to choose from; two in the main lodge and two cottages. Some of the rooms are original to the lodge, others are fairly new. Our room was clean; came with a fridge, and a comfortable bed.

The rates at Snowbird include three meals for two people. The food is excellent, especially the dinners. You get a choice of four or five entrees, one soup, one or two appetizers, and about five desserts. The menu changes frequently. The portions are ample but not huge. Don't plan on losing weight while you're hear....the food is much too good to be on a diet! Breakfast choices are a bit more slim than dinner, but certainly acceptable. The third meal is a packed lunch of your choosing - about five to chose from - but they don't seem to vary much by the day.

One cost factor to figure into your trip is that there is a service fee (tip or gratuity) on EVERYTHING....including your lodging. You'd expect to pay that for the meal portion, but it really adds up when applied to your room as well. Combined with a relatively high lodging tax, you can figure on paying 25% more than their rack rates. Despite the "high-end" nature of the place, it isn't at all pretentious...the staff and other guests were quite friendly.

I would certainly stay here again if I could afford it - a great place for a special occasion or a significant splurge. Maybe again in three or four years.

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2012

I would not have known of this place without reading the reviews on tripadvisor. We had planned a trip to the Joyce Kilmer Forest and had no idea where to stay. I looked at the hotel web site and was impressed with the natural setting. We were a party of four and no one in our group was disappointed in any aspect of our three night stay. The main lodge is rustic and comfortable with lots of charm. The other smaller buildings newer and more modern with larger rooms and more privacy. The food was delicious and the employees were gracious. We look forward to going back there again all the way from California. Finding our way there was a little difficult as it is far from town, but worth a little frustration!

Room Tip: In the main lodge the largest rooms are on the 2nd floor at the end of the hall
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pattiplans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Robbinsville
7.5 mi away
Historic Tapoco Lodge Resort
Historic Tapoco Lodge Resort
#2 of 6 in Robbinsville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 634 reviews
7.4 mi away
Fontana Village Resort
Fontana Village Resort
#1 of 1 in Fontana Dam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 475 reviews
24.4 mi away
Tremont Lodge and Resort
Tremont Lodge and Resort
#8 of 10 in Townsend
4.0 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.2 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#1 of 1 in Andrews
3.5 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
16.7 mi away
Harrah's Cherokee Valley River Casino & Hotel
19.0 mi away
Nantahala Village
Nantahala Village
#4 of 21 in Bryson City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Snowbird Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Snowbird Mountain Lodge

Property: Snowbird Mountain Lodge
Address: 4633 Santeetlah Rd, Robbinsville, NC 28771-7824
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Robbinsville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Robbinsville
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Snowbird Mountain Lodge, a unique and timeless retreat with majestic views, pampering accommodations, warm hospitality, endless adventure and delectable cuisine, is tucked deep in the Nantahala National Forest. Created in 1941, Snowbird continues to be a mountain haven where guests remove themselves from everyday life and connect with one another amidst nature's abundance. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Snowbird Mountain Lodge b&b
Snowbird Mountain Hotel Robbinsville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing