We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't say enough!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Robbinsville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Snowbird Mountain Lodge
Ranked #1 of 12 Robbinsville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 29, 2012

A beautiful setting, gorgeous views, fabulous food, comfortable rooms - the perfect place to explore the surrounding mountains, hiking, birding, fishing or just relaxing!

Room Tip: Don't worry about whether your room has a view or not - you will be sitting in a rocking chair o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank andives
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (678)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

607 - 613 of 678 reviews

Reviewed April 27, 2012

My husband and I have been to Snowbird Mountain Lodge many times to hike and see wildflowers in the spring. These hikes were led by Liz Domingue (www.justgetoutdoors.com).
The lodge is so warm and comforting. The food is incredible. You must try it.

Room Tip: Love the upstairs corner room in the lodge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carol T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2012

In February of 2012 I spent a four glorious nights @ Snowbird Mountain Lodge in the North Carolina mountains between the Smoky Mountain National Park, Joyce Killmer National Forest, Cherokee National Forest and Snowbird back country wilderness area. You may assume your are in one of most beautiful scenic areas in all of the Smoky Mountains - made all the more wonderful by an authentic Mountain Lodge - with several accommodations from private room in the lodge or private suites with private porches and hot tubs --- their web site gives a good description. Of the many superlatives - the food has to be unique for such an upscale rustic gem. They have a great chef -- french trained - and the breakfasts and dinners are simply as good as you will find anywhere. The lodge has many wine tastings and other wine and dinner pairings - along with local mountain music events - all may be found on their schedule of events for the year. Of note --- I was fortunate to book the weekend of wine and food tastings arranged by the chef and Steve Pigniatello, a world renowned expert in wines from France. He and the chef spent two weeks in Burgundy France selecting wines and menus from the homes of vintners to prepare for Snowbird Mountain Lodge --- a unique and wonderful event. A very cozy pub welcomes you in the evening - but nothing compares to the quality of breakfasts and dinners. If you love the outdoors, hiking, kayaking, scenic drives or just reading in front of the fire places or on the deck with views of mountainous glory - this is a great place to decompress, indulge in nature and great food and know you are in a special place. One interesting item of note - is a stretch of highway - coming from Tennessee into NC - on the way to the mountains, known as the "Tail of the Dragon" --- known the world over by bikers for a stretch of US Rt 129 - that has 311 hairpin turns in 13 miles. I've stayed at many country inns in the Western Carolina Mountains - this is so very special. Note --- there really isn't a "town" nearby - Bryson City is about 40 min drive - but no need to do anything but drive to your favorite spot to hike or enjoy - outdoor opportunities. There you have it - four days that were magical in the dead of winter - that gave me time to hike two sections of the Appalachian Trail in NC - and have gourmet meals every evening. Go !!!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeff F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2012

What another great weekend at Snowbird, so peaceful and relaxing. A great way to reenergize and forget about the world. Dinner was exceptional and was complimented by some great wine. Breakfast had so many good things to choose from and we enjoyed taking our packed lunch with us for a day of hiking. The lodge and landscaping were in full bloom of Spring flowers. The lodge provided some great entertainment after dinner Saturday night. We had a special treat to hear an amazing singer songwriter named Louise Mosrie who was accompanied by Anna Denison on banjo, mandolin, and guitar. We finished the weekend by hiking to Huckleberry Knob to see the Easter Sunrise. Truly a weekend to remember. Thanks to Robert, April, Butch, Kayla and the rest of the staff.

Room Tip: Upstairs Mountain View
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kevysnowb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2012

We recently spent several days at the Snowbird Mountain Lodge near Robbinsville, NC. It is a peaceful retreat extraordinaire. The sounds of nature surround you in this Mountain top Lodge that has luxury accommodations. Lodge rooms have views of the Mountain Valleys or surrounding Mountains.

The meals are gourmet,some of the best food we have experienced. The chefs use local foods with combinations that pleasantly surprise your taste buds. Breakfast has several choices which will leave you powered up for an exciting day of hiking, exploring, relaxing, or shopping. You select your lunch items at dinner the night before and it is packed in thermal backpacks awaiting you after breakfast for your day of adventure. We enjoyed our Picnic on the lake at Juneleska while in Waynesville, NC. The General Mast store is an outdoors person dream.

The Lodge also provides kayaking, paddle boarding, fishing, and many other activities on the lovely lake. The Lodge property has multiple areas for reading or just being a peace with yourself. My favorite is the large screened in pavilion with comfortable gliders, rockers, chaises, with gorgeous views of the Mountain and valleys. Can't wait for our next trip to such a peaceful place.

Room Tip: A room facing the Mountain Valley has best views....but they are all very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank luvtravel626
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2012

I have now lost count of the number of times my husband and I have enjoyed the peaceful ambience and beauty of Snowbird Mountain Lodge.

This visit, we stayed on the second floor of the lodge, in a cozy room with a glorious mountain view. We hiked into the wilderness each day, marveling at the solitude on the trails and the incredible beauty of our surroundings. The wildflowers were exquisite this trip. Robert, the owner, always has spot-on recommendations for hikes -- with rushing streams, secluded swimming holes, magnificent views or waterfalls. We take our Snowbird-packed lunch with us to enjoy on the trail.

After hiking, we like to read or play Scrabble on the deck and wait for the afternoon cookies to come out of the oven.

Dinner is always a four-course treat -- simply delicious and with an extensive wine list to complement the meal. No trout is fresher or better than that from the SML kitchen. And, this visit, the buerre blanc sauce was an extraordinary accompaniment.

Our weather this trip was perfect for hiking. In the summer, we like to canoe on the lake and jump in to cool off. Sometimes, I wish for a rainy day in order to sit by the fire in the great room and read and sip my tea and have time for a massage.

This beautiful lodge with its helpful staff is my first choice for a romantic holiday.

Room Tip: Website clearly shows the location of the rooms. Lodge rooms are a good value, and the great room i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LaTrivs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2012

My hubby & I stopped here for the night on a motorcycle trip through the Smokies last spring. We had passed by it several times and decided to finally journey up the hill to see what it was all about and boy were we happy we did! We were lucky enough to have stopped by on a night with a few vacancies which is rare and quickly snatced up an upper floor larger queen room with a great view of the mountaiside below. Our room was very comfortable and cute. The bathroom was a little on the small side but equally as cute! We ventured downstairs for a drink at the bar and were met by an extremely efficient and friendly bartender. We grabbed our drinks and headed out to the deck overlooking the Smokies--what a view! Relaxing to be able to sit in the big rocking chairs and sip some cocktails....oh so nice and then the best part--dinner! Included in their package price was a gourmet meal that stuffed us so full! After dinner a nice stroll and some romance in the screened in gazebo and a peaceful night's sleep. In the morning another gourmet meal and a lunch to go! Most people staying at the inn could get their lunch packed in a picnic basket or backpack to take along on a hike or for a secluded picnic in the woods. Since we were on a motorcycle and headed out, they obliged us by packing our delicious lunch in a paper sack and we were enjoying several hundred miles down the road still dreaming of our lovely stay!

Room Tip: Spens the extra dollars for the larger rooms that have a view of the mountainside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lori D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Robbinsville
7.5 mi away
Historic Tapoco Lodge Resort
Historic Tapoco Lodge Resort
#2 of 6 in Robbinsville
731 reviews
7.4 mi away
Fontana Village Resort
Fontana Village Resort
#1 of 1 in Fontana Dam
528 reviews
5.2 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#3 of 6 in Robbinsville
664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.9 mi away
Dancing Bear Lodge
Dancing Bear Lodge
#1 of 10 in Townsend
601 reviews
3 mi away
Buffalo Creek Bed and Breakfast
Buffalo Creek Bed and Breakfast
#6 of 12 in Robbinsville
34 reviews
19.3 mi away
Sunset Motel
Sunset Motel
#6 of 10 in Murphy
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Snowbird Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Snowbird Mountain Lodge

Address: 4633 Santeetlah Rd, Robbinsville, NC 28771-7824
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Robbinsville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Robbinsville
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Snowbird Mountain Lodge, a unique and timeless retreat with majestic views, pampering accommodations, warm hospitality, endless adventure and delectable cuisine, is tucked deep in the Nantahala National Forest. Created in 1941, Snowbird continues to be a mountain haven where guests remove themselves from everyday life and connect with one another amidst nature's abundance. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Snowbird Mountain Lodge b&b
Snowbird Mountain Hotel Robbinsville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing