We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hiking with great views”

Stone Mountain State Park
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This 15,000-acre North Carolina state park offers trout fishing, hiking, climbing and scenic waterfalls.
Columbia, South Carolina
Level Contributor
1,762 reviews
1,347 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 633 helpful votes
“Great hiking with great views”
Reviewed August 18, 2011

went camping with about 12 other familes. we used two of the group camping sites. They were great flat surfaces for uour tent with plenty of picnic tables and grills. Next to the site was a very modern bathroom/shower facility. the facility was cleaned daily. The kiking trail was fantastic. Great views from atop stone mt. a wonderful water fallwhich the kids enjoyed was on the trail as well. I loved the Hutchinson Homestead, which is from the 1800's. The trails are clearly marked- no worry about getting lost. There is a visitor center which has relics from the past(farm tools and moonshine set-up). An old church from 1897 is also on the grounds. It was neat to look at. Fishing is permitted on park with a permit. The view of the 600 ft granite dome is great. i believe there was 9 differnt hiking trails. I liked the place. had a great time. If you want to explore the great outdoors and see a little history as well= go to Stone Mountain NC and have fun

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
4 Thank jlantern3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    168
    47
    7
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Winston Salem, NC
Level Contributor
58 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great Day Trip”
Reviewed August 16, 2011

We went to Stone Mountain to celebrate Father's Day. While the weather was overcast the park was wonderful. We hiked down to the falls from the main lot where we had a picnic. We had our 2 year old and 9 year old with us. At the base of the falls we waded in the pool. The kids had a great time. I carried the 2 year part of the way due to safety and him being tired. Would suggest visiting the web site to plan your trip. While driving around the park we saw a deer cross the road. Highly suggest stopping at the General Store for ice cream.

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
3 Thank Jon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elkin, NC
Level Contributor
487 reviews
158 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 243 helpful votes
“I am so lucky to live only 20 minutes from Stone Mountain”
Reviewed May 21, 2011

I love the hiking trails, the abundant deer, the falls, the old cabins.

A hike up the mountain is not easy, but not too difficult. The falls will wear you out if you go to the base of the falls and walk up the stairs. The views are great, though. Lots of picture moments.

The deer are wall-to-wall and are not skidish. You should be able to get a lot of deer moments, sometimes as many as 20 together.

The best thing is it is free. Unlike VA and SC parks that charge to get in.

Visited April 2011
Helpful?
4 Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clayton, nc
1 review
“Stone Mountain NC”
Reviewed November 22, 2010

Nice place but they have to many rules and regulations. I work all week and slave for the man. Do not want to spend my weekend being told what to do. Fishing and hiking is ok but again to many rules.

Helpful?
Thank wallshakers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
usa
Level Contributor
69 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Awesome state park”
Reviewed May 31, 2010

My best friend and I went for a couple of days to the this park and were amazed by the views of the stone mountain and the blue ridge mountains.

Both of us being avid hikers loved the loop trail even though it was a little steep and the 85 F didn't really make it any easier but we carried plenty of water and snacks to give us the energy and ofcourse sunscreen :-)

There a lot of great view points like the wolf rock, cedar rock , ofcourse the summit of the stone mountain. Not too many people in your way which makes it an nice quiet hiking getaway !

Definitely recommend this for hikers and nature lovers.

Helpful?
3 Thank poogiewoogie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stone Mountain State Park also viewed

Roaring Gap, North Carolina Mountains
Roaring Gap, North Carolina Mountains
 
Jefferson, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Stone Mountain State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing