We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great local alternative to chain dining!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Carolina Bbq and Chicken

Carolina Bbq and Chicken
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
South Orange, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A great local alternative to chain dining!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2014 via mobile

After a quick research in internet to find a simple and nice alternative to commercial restaurants, we saw a sign on the road. Easy on and easy off of 95 route, we found this nice place. Good food and great service before to get back on the road!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank PCBS19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    30
    12
    9
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
PA & FLA
Level Contributor
221 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Perhaps the best of it's kind that I have had!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2014

If you like Carolina style BBQ and other specialties of "Southern style" you will flip over this place!!! About a mile off of I-95 at I believe the Roanoke Rapids exit. It does not matter, there are signs on I-95...

Surprisingly inexpensive for the massive variety of foods offered on the many buffet tables..I tried to sample most items, especially the southern style foods. There were just TOO MANY! and everything that I ate was really good and surprisingly fresh, as they continually refresh the items, which move quite fast as on both of my visits there were a substantial amount of other diners, indulging in the selections.

The place looks like a former Denny's or the likes, The place was reasonably clean & well kept. Most of the diners were locals, and they know what's good!

The price was incredible for the quality AND quantity of selections! The staff were pleasant and helpful. Needless to say I/we shall be returning. Eat here, and come hungry. You will like it!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank _RichieT_Pa_Fla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excellent Homesytle Southern Buffet”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2014

For around $10.00-$13.00 per person (depending on if you visit during the week or on the weekend), you and enjoy a buffet with some DELICIOUS food!! Carolina BBQ has all kinds of meat, sides, desserts, and plenty of it! If your teeth are in good shape, try some southern cracklins out of the barrel. The food is always fresh because of the many customers that frequent the place. It is located next door to the Baymont Inn and you can walk there from the parking lot.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Traveller979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“One of the best I have ever had.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2014

Hate to say it but this restaurant puts other mainstream BBQ places to shame. Its open buffet style is an amazing variety of southern BBQ cuisine which captures most if not all the various flavors....you have collard greens, BBQ ribs, Chicken, white, dirty rice, just to sample a few of over 35 different food in the buffet. THE BBQ RIBS in my judgement are the very BEST I have ever tasted. The place was clean and it was an all you can eat bonanza that just makes you appreciate what southern BBQ cooking is all about. I wish I could transport this place to my state. Its incredible. I highly recommend this stop. Its right after the Virginia line as you go south and your in North Carolina. If you are going up north, this is your last stop before you leave such amazing cooking behind. A MUST for any traveler and "Beth" the hostess will treat you like gold!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank vettedtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
64 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Good buffet with Carolina que”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2014 via mobile

Stopped by as it has buffet that would be quick. Was between lunch and dinner time. Well stocked vuffet despite my being between peak periods. Chopped pork carolina style was good with variety of sauces you can choose for your pork. Really good. Fried chicken legs i had were kind of overcooked and collard greens had been shredded to almost like mashed potatoes but tasted ok. But everything else was good. Especially for the cost of 7.99 only for bufffet plus drink.

Helpful?
Thank bigromo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carolina Bbq and Chicken also viewed

 
Roanoke Rapids, NC
 

Been to Carolina Bbq and Chicken? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing