We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NOT A REAL SEAFOOD RESTAURANT”

Mayflower Seafood Restaurant
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“NOT A REAL SEAFOOD RESTAURANT”
Reviewed July 5, 2012

There's no real seafood in Roanoke Rapids, NC, but Mayflower is definitely not the place for a seafood lover to go. The fish is fried to a crisp and curled up to nothing. Shrimp are frozen fried things you could buy at costco. French fries are great! Service was decent, except at the register when they ask your opinion but don't really want it :-) The big guy asked me how I liked my meal. He looked like a manager so I told him the truth. He asked me if I had mentioned it to my waitress. I said yes, then he went looking for her. He talked to her a minute and came back and said, "Sir, next time tell your waitress to fix it while you're at the table..." Now I'm mad. I think he thought I was trying to get that $6.95 lunch plate for free. He was wrong. I was on company money and buying for everyone. I was just trying to help the guy out by telling him the flounder was disappointing. I can afford his lunch.
Most of the locals will tell you to avoid this restaurant. If you are really in the mood for seafood, get salmon at one of the steakhouses. This is not a seafood town and they don't have enough business to import the good stuff. This was over a year

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DeesAcrossAmerica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    23
    17
    11
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“POOR MANAGEMENT”
Reviewed March 30, 2012

Words of advise: NEVER eat at this Mayflower!!! The baby shrimp, baby flounder, and fries are very greasy and taste like they've been cooked in old cooking oil, and the baked potatoe, tasteless... Then on top of that, the Management Staff is VERY unprofessional and will depute you of your complaint! I WARN you DO NOT even waste your time going to this place!!!

VERY DISPLEASED AND UNLESS THE MANAGEMENT CHANGE, I WILL NEVER GO BACK!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CTJGB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
234 reviews
166 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
“Fried fish, mostly.”
Reviewed February 3, 2012

A place like this could do so much better. First of all, most of the menu is breaded and fried fish. One or two baked options, but this isn't really a "seafood" restaurant. We were hoping for things like a good crab soup, maybe mussels or lobster. This isn't that sort of place. And they don't serve alcohol. No beer or wine. It's more of a fast-food style fried fish place. Our waitress was very friendly, about the only good thing about the place.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmer Springs, Va
Level Contributor
29 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Local Chain”
Reviewed February 1, 2012

Rather ordinary seafood with daily specials. Reasonable prices.

Helpful?
Thank Garnett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petersburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
182 reviews
134 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Big appetite, big plate”
Reviewed November 28, 2011

Mayflower is an excellent seafood resturaunt. The food tastes great and the portions are large. I usually share a plate with my mother. The food is fresh and the staff is extra friendly. They make you feel at home because they never forget a face if you come back.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank greenehalltam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mayflower Seafood Restaurant also viewed

 
Roanoke Rapids, NC
 

Been to Mayflower Seafood Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing