We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful location and service”
Review of Weir View House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Weir View House
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Pangbourne
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Wonderful location and service”
Reviewed February 18, 2014

We just stayed here for a week and were delighted with our room, location and great service. Ask for the large front rooms overlooking the river and you will have lots of room and a little sitting area where you can watch the pub and river across the road. The train station is a few steps away.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 896DonT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    16
    8
    3
    0
See reviews for
15
42
7
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Wales
Level Contributor
109 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2014 via mobile

Good sized room which was clean and well furnished with a king sized bed and nice bathroom.
Continental breakfast was a nice change to the usual hotel buffet breakfasts I usually regret eating.
The owners were very welcoming and emailed directions to me promptly. Location is right next to the train station but room was not at all noisy.
Will certainly stay again soon.

Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank jez13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2014

Right from arrival to departure, we were made extremely welcome by very friendly hosts and the room was clean, central and with a lovely view. The breakfasts were great. Cannot fault our stay, would highly recommend.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 0987Rachel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dottikon, Switzerland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2013 via mobile

Best Accommodation in town! I always stay at Weir view house if I'm travelling over to England. The stuff are very friendly and helpfull. The rooms are very big and clean. There is nothing negativ to say about.
I look forward to my next bussines trip to Pangbourne and the weir view.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Weber O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2013

My daughter and I stayed for two nights in April 2013. Fiona and Eileen have a terrific establishment: perfect accommodations, lovely vibe, friendly, extremely helpful. We needed to walk to Sulham to revisit old family history and, without asking, Fiona gave us detailed instructions and a map to help us sort our way. This is also the best place to stay in order to visit Oxford: it is a quick trip by train, then back to the peace and quiet of Pangbourne and the Weir View. Home away from home!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joseph W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2013

A lovely B&B that thinks it is a hotel. The rooms are fabulous, large, and well equipped. The bed was very firm and comfortable. Bathroom shiny, clean and with a very good shower.
Breakfast is continental only but that suits me, and everything is good quality.
Staff are friendly and helpful.
Two minutes walk from the train. Nice view of the river from the rooms.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hungry_lurcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2013 via mobile

We have been staying at the Weir View Hotel each year for the last 8 years each time we visit the UK from Australia. Everything about this little hotel is perfect from the friendly welcome to the setting by the Thames and the comfortable rooms. It's proximity close to Pangbourne train station makes it a perfect spring board for day trips to London or Oxford.

Stayed July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dominic S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pangbourne
0.2 mi away
The Elephant at Pangbourne
The Elephant at Pangbourne
#1 of 4 in Pangbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
3.5 mi away
The Swan at Streatley
The Swan at Streatley
#1 of 1 in Streatley on Thames
3.5 of 5 bubbles 598 reviews
0.2 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#3 of 4 in Pangbourne
3.0 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Beech House Hotel
Beech House Hotel
#10 of 31 in Reading
4.5 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
3.6 mi away
Best Western Reading Calcot Hotel
7.5 mi away
The White Hart Hotel
The White Hart Hotel
#1 of 1 in Nettlebed
4.0 of 5 bubbles 588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Weir View House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Weir View House

Property: Weir View House
Address: 9 Shooters Hill, Pangbourne RG8 7DZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Pangbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Pangbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Weir View House 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Weir View House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Weir View Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing