We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Elephant at Pangbourne
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Pangbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 14, 2013

lovley hotel .it was very clean comfatable and staff were very friendly the bar area had a .great atmosphere. very nice rooms ad great treats awaiting you in your room.breakfast was lovley with local cheeses and meats aswell as the usual fry ups. bought a deal from buy a gift for 2 nights cost £80 great value/

Room Tip: back rooms overlook the lovley garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tracyfaiers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter S, Operations Manager at The Elephant at Pangbourne, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2013

Thanks for such a happy review, I was really pleased to read you enjoyed your stay so much, especially the quirky little extras in your room, and hope you come back and stay with us again soon – make sure you check our website for details of special offers too.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (375)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

263 - 269 of 375 reviews

Reviewed April 30, 2013

To be honest we didn't expect too much from this place - I often think the description "quirky" means dusty - but actually it was a great find - and very clean! The room was nicely furnished, we had Ocean Liners, not over the top theming at all but nice to know each room was slightly different. The bed and pillows were the absolute best and ever so perfect for our ultra relaxed intentions, the bath filled in seconds and the shower was powerful.
When we arrived the heating was on fullblast but this was corrected very quickly - apparently a timer had been left on. Nevertheless the bathroom remained a little warm for my taste.
We ate in the restaurant the first night and I have to agree with other reviewers the food didn't quite hit the spot though it is a lovely room and service was excellent. Breakfast however was delicious so perhaps it is what you order?
On the food front we also ate, totally by luck, at the Cross Keys pub across the road from the hotel the first night of them doing food - we had a delicious spatchcock chicken with 2 sides between two of us alongside a lovely pudding each all for under £30. The pub was heaving with people and they only just managed to squeeze us in, so I suggest you book if you are planning on going here anytime soon.
The picture on Tripadvisor does not do the Elephant Hotel nor it's location justice. Although on a roundabout it is in the quietish village of Pangbourne and there are lovely walks and pubs by the river a short distance away. We were able to park in the hotel car park throughout our stay which was an added bonus.
We did book this hotel after being given "an experience" as a gift so I am not sure how much it cost but all in all I would certainly recommend it as a relaxing place to spend a day or two.

Room Tip: We had a room in the annexe which was peaceful though overlooking a beer garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amanda032
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter S, Operations Manager at The Elephant at Pangbourne, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2013

Thanks for leaving us your feedback. Really pleased to hear you enjoyed your room so much and that we surpassed your expectations; I'm sorry your evening meal didn't quite hit the spot for you though, I'll certainly look into why that could have been with the kitchen as we have an AA rosette at The Elephant that we're really proud of. We'll also see about adding some new photos to this site over the summer too so we can really show off! We all look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2013

We spent a weekend at this hotel recently and having stayed her before knew what a lovely hotel it was and were really looking forward to it. As expected our room was lovely, staff very helpful and friendly and the breakfast very good. However we booked dinner in the restaurant and both ordered the rib-eye steak at £21 each ! My husbands steak was o.k. but mine was really bad. What meat there was on it was good but at least 2 thirds of it was fat and grizzle. I know a rib-eye has a certain amount of fat running through it but this was ridiculous, I did complain to the waitress who was very understanding and said herself that the steak was bad, however nothing was done about it. When we left the hotel we completed their 'feedback' form saying how we had enjoyed our stay but complaining about the food, fully expecting to receive some sort of acknowledgement from them, however we have heard nothing ! I really feel very disappointed about this, for a hotel that charges these sort of prices I should have thought their reputation would have issued an apology at the very least.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cazjenner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter S, Operations Manager at The Elephant at Pangbourne, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2013

Thank you for your feedback, and I'm sorry you weren't contacted after filling in a comment card - I will ensure that does not happen again. We have also recently changed our cut of meat with our butcher and I hope to see you back at The Elephant in the near future to try the new style steaks soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2013

Beds to die for, best ones I have slept in.
Rooms clean and tidy, if a bit small. We changed on first night from room 11 to room 5 as 11 was very noise as it was above the kitchen or bar and it sounded like one of the bar staff was practising for the 2016 Rio Olympics barrel throwing competition. I mentioned it to staff on our way out for the evening and they said they would look into it but he was still in training on our return at 10.30! I phoned reception to complain and they moved us into a smaller room at the front, bed still to die for! Room was smaller and it is against the wall so one has to get into it from the bottom.
Breakfast was excellent on both days but the service on Sunday was poor, with empty juice jugs, no offer of tea and coffee, no cups, milk jug etc, but they got they eventually. The food was very good.
Bar was excellent and a god choice of beers and good atmosphere.
Restaurant - we ate Saturday evening and the food was excellent. The Spanish waitress could not have been more accommodating (it was her birthday bless her!). We were too full to have puddings!
All staff were friendly.
We had a very relaxed stay apart from the room change which they sorted which is all you can ask.
Car parking is a slight annoyance but only cost £6.40 for Friday last hour and all day Saturday. I did my parking by phone so I did not have to go to the car at 8am.
Would we go back........ yes but would not have room 11 again unless the barrel throwing practice is stopped!

Room Tip: Avoid Room 11.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jonathan170367
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter S, Operations Manager at The Elephant at Pangbourne, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2013

I'm really pleased you enjoyed your stay overall, particularly the food and our 'to die for beds' - many thanks for reviewing us. I will be looking into your comments about the bar to make sure we are being more gentle with our beer barrels moving forward, thank you for raising it. I look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future and hope you can squeeze in a pudding next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Just returned from a 2 night stay at the Elephant. What a great little hotel. Good breakfasts and good location. Would certainly return. Our room was the Great Gatsby room, quite small, but we were only there for 2 nights, with quite a large bathroom. We enjoyed the selection of different teas and the complimentary bottles of the local tipple. Great location in the middle of Pangbourne. We didn't eat in the restaurant, as we chose the Swan pub just down the road which was really good also. We had a voucher from Buyagift which gave us a good deal on this 2 night stay.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CURLYSANDY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter S, Operations Manager at The Elephant at Pangbourne, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2013

Great to hear such a positive review, many thanks. The team and I are delighted you enjoyed your stay and all the little extras in your bedroom – we hope you decide to visit us again and perhaps we could tempt you to try our AA rosette restaurant on your next visit !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013

I have just returned from a weekend stay at The Elephant at Pangbourne. Really enjoyed our stay at the hotel. We stayed in the Oriental room, small room but very comfortable and clean. Some items supplied by hotel which were a nice little touch, toiletries, Iron with Iron board, Teas, coffees and water. Also a small complimentary bottle of Elderberry spirit.

The Hotel in General was great. Excellent service by very friendly and helpful staff. The only drawbacks over the weekend were

1.No spaces in the small Hotel car park so had to use the village car parking next door which cost extra. Also had to get up early in the morning to pay for the meter.

2. Good atmosphere in the hotel bar which appeared to be ruined by two local men bringing their Staffordshire bull Terriers in with them and arrogantly letting them walk around the bar where other people were sitting. Bar cleared out pretty quickly. Not challenged by the staff..

Other than that I would recommend this hotel and would stay there again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ronan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter S, Operations Manager at The Elephant at Pangbourne, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback about your recent stay and I'm really pleased to hear you enjoyed the little quirky extras and atmosphere we take pride in at The Elephant. While we do have a limited number of free parking spaces at the hotel, we are fortunate to have a very large public car park right next door – and it’s free from 6pm to 8am every day, as well as Sundays and Bank Holidays. They do have a telephone text or call payment option advertised in the car park which could maybe help with the lie-in next time although I'm sorry for the inconvenience you experienced that morning. In addition, while we love to welcome guests with their dogs, we are strict about keeping pets under control on the premises and I sincerely apologise for the fact it was missed on this occasion. I hope we can welcome you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2013

The perfect anniversary dinner.

We called to reserve and luckily a table was available - only about 8-10 tables in the whole restaurant so you get a very personal service.

Reception staff in hotel were friendly and professional, showing us to equally fantastic restaurant hostess, who was Spanish. She was attentive without being intrusive, and couldn't do enough for us.

Beautiful venue lit with candles, a small menu done well, and generous portions which is unusual for 'a la carte'. We couldn't manage a dessert!

Parking is tricky but we used a local Council car park which was free after 6pm, so it was no trouble. Beautiful bread, 2 starters, a soft drink, 2 beers and 2 mains was in the region of £60, so great value for an AA rosette award experience. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank AbiW_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter S, Operations Manager at The Elephant at Pangbourne, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2013

We are delighted that we were able to make your anniversary dinner a special evening. Thank you for your lovely review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pangbourne
3.6 mi away
The Swan at Streatley
The Swan at Streatley
#1 of 1 in Streatley on Thames
636 reviews
0.1 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#3 of 4 in Pangbourne
90 reviews
0.2 mi away
Weir View House
Weir View House
#2 of 4 in Pangbourne
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
The Forbury Roseate
The Forbury Roseate
#2 of 31 in Reading
564 reviews
7.6 mi away
The Great House At Sonning
The Great House At Sonning
#1 of 2 in Sonning on Thames
586 reviews
5.3 mi away
Malmaison Reading
Malmaison Reading
#4 of 31 in Reading
1,052 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Elephant at Pangbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Elephant at Pangbourne

Address: 3 Church Road, Pangbourne RG8 7AR, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Pangbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Pangbourne
Price Range: $100 - $187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Elephant at Pangbourne 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Elephant offers its guests an experience of quirky luxury and a warm welcome, whether staying overnight, dining in the restaurant, or having a relaxed drink in the bar. All 22 bedrooms are individual and furnished with handcrafted furniture, rich ornamental rugs and opulent fabrics. The bar, known as Babar, has a bistro feel, serving simple but excellent British produce, while the restaurant offers beautifully cooked unpretentious food in elegant surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your The Elephant at Pangbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Elephant At Pangbourne Hotel Pangbourne
The Elephant Hotel Pangbourne
The Elephant Pangbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing