We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Valentines day”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Elephant at Pangbourne
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Pangbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Leicester, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic Valentines day”
Reviewed February 26, 2013

The hotel was amazing, we arrived late, they took care or everything including our parking. as there was no space the receptionist took our keys and dealt with the parking. around 15 mins from reading but lovely location. not much to do but train station is 5 mins away, so you can travel into central. room was amazing and extremely clean. room service was fantastic, church bells went on for about an hour in the evening, slightly annoying but the good side to the hotel just weighed it out! cannot WAIT to go back there!!

Room Tip: Maharaja of jaipur! the rooms are individual none of the pictures of the website do it any justice w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheena R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter S, Operations Manager at The Elephant at Pangbourne, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave us such superb comments. We are thrilled that we made valentines a special night for you both.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

357 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    154
    119
    50
    18
    16
See reviews for
64
158
12
56
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
reading
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2013

My wife and I ate in the bar one Friday evening and thoroughly enjoyed it. There is a good choice of local beers, the food was good (I had the burger my wife chose from the 'specials' board), the staff friendly and the atmosphere welcoming. My only criticism would be that there was only one bar staff and therefore servcie was a little slow. Nevertheless we will return.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gashead1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter S, Operations Manager at The Elephant at Pangbourne, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
I am pleased that on the whole your stay was enjoyable. I have taken on board your comment regarding staffing levels and will address this accordingly. We hope to see you back at The Elephant in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston upon Hull
Level 6 Contributor
56 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2013

We have just returned from a nights stay and dinner at The Elephant, superb. Our room was excellent, super comfy bed with beautiful linen and plug sockets by the mirror, hooray!
All the staff we met were friendly, efficient and happy.
We ate dinner in the restaurant, the menu was interesting, a good mix of traditional and contemporary. I had the venison, it was cooked perfectly as was the pork my husband and son chose. Three of us had two bottles of wine, pre-dinner drinks, 3 courses each, tea and liqueur coffees for £130.00, this is outstanding value for the quality and service we received.
We now have a son living in Pangbourne and a good excuse to become regular visitors to this little gem, looking forward to our next visit!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Missfoodlove2305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter S, Operations Manager at The Elephant at Pangbourne, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
It was good to read your wonderful comments. We are delighted that you had a lovely time and we hope to see you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2013

My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed our one-night stay at the Elephant. We wanted somewhere in the country but close to London and close to a station. Pangbourne fits the bill as the countryside is beautiful but only 45 mins from Paddington. The Elephant is 3 minutes walk from the station.

I was a little wary of the hotel as 'boutique hotels' often seem to be just b&bs with some Farrow and Ball French Grey paint daubed over the woodchip wallpaper, but this wasn't the case. The staff were welcoming and friendly, particularly the Spanish waitress who served us our dinner. The decor/theme is Anglo-Indian, lots of teak, rattan, persian rugs etc, and a nice open fire in the lobby. The room (the 'Rangoon' room) was very cosy.

The public bar had a nice village pub feel with good ales on tap, and a heated outdoor smoking area was available. The dinner was very good quality though surprisingly for an Anglo-Indian hotel there didn't seem to be any curry on the menu as far as I could tell. Breakfast was also very good with a wide choice. I would definitely stay again and have already recommended the hotel to friends.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Austinallegro1London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter S, Operations Manager at The Elephant at Pangbourne, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Thank you for leaving us such a lovely review. I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and will pass your positive comments on to the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2012 via mobile

The room was lovely and unique. However the only staff that wee friendly were the reception staff.
At breakfast you need to order toast as your breakfast dosent come with it.
Overall the hotel us nice but lacks atmosphere.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maxine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter S, Manager at The Elephant at Pangbourne, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review and I am glad to see that you enjoyed the majority of your stay. I sincerely apologise that you found only our reception staff friendly - please rest assured that we pride ourselves on customer service and I will look into this to ensure this does not happen again. I do hope that you will stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
192 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2012

Over sea salted fish and chips... took a while to realise...dissapointing hamburger/ambience...babar (geddit...as in THE ELEPHANT).Only dog friendly room turned out to be a disability access room in their car park! an extension.Door literally opens on to car park...with luxury/quirky look in room reminiscent of an overseas hotel room. Lots of Asian furniture and a sliding door to a slightly clinical bathroom with the most uninspiring bath I could have chosen for a 'luxury' room!! Bah Bah (humbug) elephant with no tusks. Singapore Sling the room was called.Room did have another access through an outer extension door but not without going outside and then that route. poor security as thin door with ill fitting inner chain to car park via other car access route. Hotel bang in centre roundabout location at Pangbourne. Read "Some work to do" 14th Oct 2012 as this guy had it right then! Some scuffs,oil stains on door matting to c.p. collage peeling off paint drips there also.Don't bang your head on bath globe lights.Bathroom mean and uninviting. Bed fine..warm room...not impressed by the ambience nor service nor food...they don't know how to cook black pudding,nor poach an egg without runny whites and toast a problem. Not good at all...just like a curates egg.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eggtimer186225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter S, Manager at The Elephant at Pangbourne, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Thank you for your review.
I would like to apologise that you did not enjoy your stay with us. I will look into the issues you have raised in order to improve our service and I hope you will visit us again to see the improvements we have made
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Modbury, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed December 24, 2012

3 couples stayed here on the 22nd/23rd Dec, staff excellent, room lovely, duvet was piping hot, the central heating was on which made the whole hotel warm..good breakfast in the morning.... a great stay value for money.

Room Tip: The rooms in the annex are a lot less noisy.... could be a better choice in summer
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Abdul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter S, General Manager at The Elephant at Pangbourne, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Thank you for such a wonderful review. I will share your lovely comments with all of the team who will be thrilled.
We very much look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pangbourne
0.1 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#3 of 4 in Pangbourne
87 reviews
5.5 mi away
The Forbury Roseate
The Forbury Roseate
#2 of 31 in Reading
534 reviews
5.3 mi away
Malmaison Reading
Malmaison Reading
#4 of 31 in Reading
1,008 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Best Western Reading Calcot Hotel
4.9 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Reading
5.2 mi away
Royal Oak
Royal Oak
#1 of 1 in Yattendon
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Elephant at Pangbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Elephant at Pangbourne

Property: The Elephant at Pangbourne
Address: 3 Church Road, Pangbourne RG8 7AR, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Pangbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Pangbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Elephant at Pangbourne 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Elephant offers its guests an experience of quirky luxury and a warm welcome, whether staying overnight, dining in the restaurant, or having a relaxed drink in the bar. All 22 bedrooms are individual and furnished with handcrafted furniture, rich ornamental rugs and opulent fabrics. The bar, known as Babar, has a bistro feel, serving simple but excellent British produce, while the restaurant offers beautifully cooked unpretentious food in elegant surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Elephant at Pangbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Elephant At Pangbourne Hotel Pangbourne
The Elephant Hotel Pangbourne
The Elephant Pangbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing