We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Elephant at Pangbourne
Nearby Hotels
The George Hotel(Pangbourne)
$88
$74
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
$63
$58
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Swan at Streatley(Streatley on Thames)
$129
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$81
$77
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Abbey House Hotel(Reading)(Great Value!)
$66
$64
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelodge M4 Eastbound Reading(Burghfield)(Great Value!)
$69
Travelodge
View Deal
  • Free Parking
$76
$69
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelodge Reading M4 Westbound(Burghfield)(Great Value!)
$46
Travelodge
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
Weir View House(Pangbourne)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (388)
Filter reviews
388 results
Traveler rating
166
129
56
20
17
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
166
129
56
20
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsquality linenpublic car parkcharming hotelwalking the thames pathpay and displayfriends weddingindian themecomfortable bedbar menuchurch clockbar areastayed for one nightsunday lunchfull englishbreakfast was excellentbusy roadevening meal
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
298 - 303 of 388 reviews
Reviewed November 24, 2012

We had a buy a gift voucher and although these are excellant bargains we have learnt not ot expect too much in return for what is a very reasonable price. The Elephant at Pangbourne was a real surprise, friendly staff, warm welcome excellant accomodation. Not just drink making facilities in our room but a cafetierre and ground coffee, this was the yardstick by which the whole establishment functioned always one better than you thought it may be. Well done the Elephant

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank longleaze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter S, Manager at The Elephant at Pangbourne, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2013

I am glad you were pleasantly surprised by your stay with us. We pride ourselves on the 'quirky luxury' touches within the hotel and it is great to see they were so well received. Hopefully we will see you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2012

we only stayed a night but wow what a night... the rooms are all different and have a theme.The bed was very comy and the shower was a 10/10 best shower we have had in a hotel, large fluffy towels also. We had dinner in the restaurant and it was amazing....a good choice of wines as well, so nice we had 2 bottles! Breakfast was plentiful and very well cooked and presented.The staff are happy and can not do enough for you.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pokerpolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter S, Manager at The Elephant at Pangbourne, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2013

Thank you for leaving such positive feedback. It’s always great to have such great reviews and we all much look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2012

Travel a lot and i'm normally critical of hotels getting simple things wrong, not normally one to post gushing reviews. However, great quirky laid back atmosphere, cannot fault the rooms, food or service. This is how running a hotel should be done. Bravo

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank geordylee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter S, General Manager at The Elephant at Pangbourne, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2012

Thank you for your great review. We're delighted you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

The hotel was a mixture of pleasant and not so pleasant. The management have lost track of the market place, this hotel is never worth £109.00 / night for two people.
Anyway the rooms are as it says on the door "eccentric" They are comfortable, not luxurious in anyway, the bed is superb and the bathroom very good modern and clean.
We went down to eat in the restuarant. Only two in there at 8.00pm should have rung some bells. However the starter was very good, the main course came out minus the sauce and no vegetables. After 5 minutes we managed to get the waitress's attention. She ran off and came back with some seriously microwaved veg. ( not good). Then we waited and waited and waited and then gave up. Obviously the waitress had more important work on and we never did get a sweet or coffee!!
Breakfast was the same waitress and the same scenario all over again. No serving spoons for the fruit and the breakfast took 25 minutes to arrive, swimming in baked bean sauce. ughhh!
The front of house lady was extremely pleasant and although we did complain the damage was done then.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank deneuk12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter S, General Manager at The Elephant at Pangbourne, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2012

We're sorry that we got some elements of your stay so badly wrong, although we are glad to note that you liked your room and found our staff to be pleasant. We've learnt from these mistakes and hope that you will be able to return to The Elephant soon to experience these changes for yourself

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2012

We met up with some friends for a drink and a meal and were pleased to find The Elephant still serving food until quite late on a Saturday evening. We sat in the bar which was quiet but filled up as the evening progressed. Good local beers and a very friendly and chatty barmaid! We ordered our food at the bar and didn't have to wait long for it. The boys had steaks which came with either chunky chips; fries or mash. The meat was fine and it was a good-sized steak as well - from a local butcher. The girls had ham;eggs and chips with the thick pieces of ham again locally sourced. Some wine and coffee and although not the cheapest meal we have had we were happy enough with the quality and quantity. The barmaid even advised us when our last train home was, so a very pleasant evening out.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cavershamroyals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter S, General Manager at The Elephant at Pangbourne, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2012

Thank you for leaving us some valuable feedback, I am pleased that you decided to eat with us late on the Saturday and hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards
Peter Stevens

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews