We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect tranquility”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Watsons Farm

Watsons Farm from paddocks in front of the house
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Watsons Farm from paddocks in front of the house
Watsons Farm Garden with french doors into sittingroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
23 reviews
Watsons Farm from paddocks in front of the house
Watsons Farm
Garden with french doors into sittingroom
Garden with french doors into sittingroom
View of kitchen garden from dining area
Kitchen/dining area
Double bedroom
Twin bedroom
View of paddocks from double bedroom
Rear Garden
Sitting room french doors looking onto garden
Pathway to rear of let
sittingroom
sitting room
Sitting Room
Walks at the back of the farm
Walks at the back of thefarm
Walks at the back of the farm
Walberswick Beach Looking Towards Dunwich
Walberswick
Walberswick Estuary
Southwold Beach
Southwold Beach & Pier
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Fressingfield, Suffolk, East Anglia, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 23 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
1busylizz...
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Perfect tranquility”
Reviewed December 19, 2014 for a stay in December 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We enjoyed a delightful week in December at Watson's Farm. Peaceful and quiet in a very rural location. Excellently equipped cottage - just about everything we had brought with us was already provided right down to a pestle and mortar! We felt more like house guests than customers. Every little touch that Mary, our gracious hostess, had provided was quite charming. Delightful crockery, good quality cooking equipment, a lovely electric blanket on the bed, nice pure cotton sheets and even a sprig of forsythia and the last of the season's roses to greet us along with tea and biscuits, we were made to feel so welcome. And the cottage was immaculately clean and tidy which was pleasing.

Cosy log fire to come home to after a day's exploring, with good supply of logs provided supplemented the central heating which was on throughout the day and evening (and I suspect that Mary put it on even earlier than normal for us when she realised we were shockingly early risers - typical of her thoughtfulness!) The beds and bedding were extremely comfortable (and we are horribly fussy in that respect!) as were the sofa and chairs in the lovely sitting room. Our dogs were in dog heaven tearing round the fields adjoining the house where we were able to walk them, and thoroughly enjoyed their visit too!

The surrounding area is very rural, but only a couple of miles from the nearest village with pubs and an excellent shop. This was our first (but not our last) visit to Suffolk and we enjoyed visiting the seaside, local towns and villages, lovely pubs with local beers and good food and so much more besides. We met so many nice, friendly people wherever we went, and were made to feel very welcome everywhere. Watson's Farm is off the beaten track, so benefits from being extremely peaceful, but is within half an hour's drive of an endless range of interesting places to visit.

Wifi worked well, especially in the kitchen diner area. Telephone reception perfect for Vodafone, but a bit hit and miss for O2 - in case you need to be contactable - but Watson's Farm is the ideal place to escape from the outside world if you can and enjoy the peace and tranquility of the beautiful Suffolk countryside. Thank you again Mary - we hope to be back next year!

Date of stay: December 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peaceful location and immaculately kept cottage
Liked least: Nothing!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Reviewed March 18, 2014 for a stay in February 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Date of stay: February 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Barbara N
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“didnt want to leave”
Reviewed February 10, 2014 for a stay in January 2014
2
people found this review helpful

I could understand what other guests meant when they said they did not want to leave!! It was so, just want i was looking for, and it met my needs perfectly. Such a lovely place to stay and i enjoyed the treat of all- day central heating, and topped it up with log fires in the evening, with a generous supply of wood that was a mega treat as i didnt have to saw it up myself for a change! Did a little walking but was quite happy that the weather was not too great so i could justify staying in! which is what i really wanted to do. I loved the quiet, had been a bit worried that being on a farm there would be the dreaded COCKERALS but no, it was silent bliss...I loved the quirkyness of the house. The kitchen is really well equipped, the bathrrom cosy and warm and the sitting room idylic..Hoping to go back!!

Date of stay: January 2014
Traveling group: Solo Traveler
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Reviewed February 10, 2014 for a stay in February 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Date of stay: February 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Fireplace
Liked least: Leaving
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Reviewed June 9, 2012 for a stay in May 2012
1
person found this review helpful

Date of stay: May 2012
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peacefulness of the location & the comfort of the property
Liked least: The stairs but they were not a major problem, you have to remember the cottage is hundreds of years old.
Traveling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Kelbth
Fareham
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Wish I could live at Watson Farm”
Reviewed March 14, 2012 for a stay in September 2011
1
person found this review helpful

My husband our two small dogs and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Watson Farm. The cottage is very old and is full of character. Upstairs the floors are quite uneven, the stairs are steep but we loved all the quirkiness of it all. The owner, Mary was very kind and nothing was to much trouble. It was wonderful being with a dog friendly land lady and a real dog friendly area. My husband loved chopping the wood for the fire, I loved the log fire. The garden is private and peaceful. We had many varied days out in the local area. We hope to be able to return back to Watson's Farm one day.

Date of stay: September 2011
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness
Liked best: The farm, cottage and garden
Liked least: No comment
Traveling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gray, France
Reviewed January 24, 2012 for a stay in October 2011

Date of stay: October 2011
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peace and quiet.
Liked least: The sofa!
Traveling group: Family with Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing