We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great for Business Stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton North Raleigh/Midtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hilton North Raleigh/Midtown
Ranked #13 of 83 Hotels in Raleigh
Certificate of Excellence
Los Alamitos
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great for Business Stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2013

Nice accomodations = Free Parking a plus.,

Sky Bar Chicken Ceasar Salad the best! Very Loud - All Sports are on the multiple Televisions located in the bar and restaurant area.

Internet worked great the first time.

Executive Lounge was very nice.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tweetvoice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MidtownRaleigh, Manager at Hilton North Raleigh/Midtown, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Thank you for taking time out of your busy day to write a review. Hope to see you again, Happy New Year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

782 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    385
    231
    100
    39
    27
See reviews for
123
109
51
418
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
usa
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

My husband and I came here for the New Years Eve party and celebrate our anniversary. The rooms were very nice and so was the staff. Additionally the pool and gym were very clean and the pool area didn't reek of chlorine. I would definately stay here again.
There is a sports bar and Starbucks on site and the restaurant next door was very good.
The party was hosted by the Hilton but organized by an outside group. The party was fantastic and other than confusion when we tried to pick up our tickets we had no problems.

Room Tip: I did save money by reserving my room for the 30th separately. Had I purchased rooms for the 30th a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Granueil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MidtownRaleigh, Manager at Hilton North Raleigh/Midtown, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Thanks you so much for your comments, so glad you could make it to the party. Have a Happy New Year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morganton, North Carolina
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

I attented a nursing conference here in December. The room was fabulously comfortable and quiet. The conference room was great as well. There were several other conferences being held while there and no noise or distractions were noted from them. Convenience to restaurants and mall was easy despite downtown location.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lkbaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MidtownRaleigh, Manager at Hilton North Raleigh/Midtown, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
We appreciate your comments and hope to see you again soon. Happy New Year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaufort, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012

I am a front desk customer service representative for a Hilton property and there is no way I would EVER treat a guest the way the members of this front desk staff did. They don't smile. They don't make eye contact. They are short and rude. I asked a front desk associate a question concerning amenities and her answer was "We don't do that here". Twenty minutes later I asked a housekeeper the same exact question and got three different options one which ultimately fulfilled my needs. If the party I was attending wasn't located in the building then I wouldn't be staying here.

Room Tip: None of the rooms have microwaves or refrigerators but according to the very nice housekeeper they d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shawnta F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MidtownRaleigh, Manager at Hilton North Raleigh/Midtown, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
We want to thank you for choosing Hilton and sincerely apologize for the service you recevied during your stay with us. Everyone at the Hilton North Raleigh wishes you a happy new year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Breaux Bridge, Louisiana
Level Contributor
98 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2012

The Hilton North Raleigh/Midtown is a low-rise suburban hotel that will never be confused with one of the great hotels that made the Hilton reputation, but most things about it are fine. The lobby is pleasant and our room was comfortable. The hotel's only full-service restaurant is a sports bar, but this did not matter to us because we were not very hungry. Our plan was just to have drinks and appetizers in the executive lounge before retiring for the evening.

In general, the hotel staff also seemed nice. For instance, we encountered several housekeeping and maintenance employees in the halls and they always greeted us cheerfully. And the reception desk employee who checked us out in the morning also seemed quite friendly. Unfortunately, however, just after checking in we had a series of dealings with one reception desk employee who was so unpleasant and unprofessional that this is the main thing we will remember about our stay at this hotel:

-- The reception desk employee who checked us in was a bit stiff. She was not discourteous, but nothing in her tone or manner made us feel welcome. She did tell us, however, that our room was on the executive level and that we would have access to the lounge: "you can have appetizers there from 5:30 until 8 p.m. and a cash bar untill 10."

-- So we were surprised when we got to our floor a couple of minutes later to see a sign saying that the lounge would be closed that evening (and every evening from December 14 until January 2). My wife called the front desk to ask about this and was told that the lounge would indeed be open: "Give them a few minutes, it's not 5:30 yet."

-- But the lounge stayed locked and dark, so I went down to the lobby to make another inquiry. This time I spoke to a different employee, who told me the lounge was indeed closed for the evening. This employee had been sitting right next to her colleague who had checked us in a few minutes earlier, and she appeared to have been listening attentively during the detailed presentation about lounge access and hours. Anyway, now she said that because the lounge was closed, they were instead giving executive level guests coupons for use in the sports bar.

-- She then gave me a coupon, which I saw was for exactly one appetizer and one non-alcoholic drink. I asked if I could have another coupon for my wife, but the employee responded that the hotel's policy was one coupon per room. Although the idea that two people should share one appetizer and one Coke struck me as a bit goofy -- it would have been less embarrassing for all concerned if they had offered no compensation at all -- I was not inclined to pursue the matter any further. But when I got back to our room and showed the coupon to my wife she was sure there must have been a misunderstanding, so when we passed through the lobby on our way to the sports bar she raised the issue again with the front desk.

-- The employee who had given me the coupon clearly wasn't happy to see us again. She replied rather sternly that it's only one coupon per room, because "these appetizers are quite large." So my wife asked if we could at least have one non-alcoholic drink apiece, but the answer was still no. Then, in what turned out to be a disastrously unsuccessful effort to smooth things over, I said I was sorry we had raised the issue repeatedly, explaining that we had done so only because this policy made so little sense that we had just been trying to make sure it was really a hotel policy and not just a mistake.

-- The employee's voice then lost whatever thin veneer of civility it had previously had. "It really is our policy, but because you feel so PASSIONATELY about it, I'll give you another coupon. After all, you're a DIAMOND member, and we wouldn't want you to feel we weren't taking CARE of you." She practically spat the words at me, and she said "Diamond member" as though it was some particularly contemptible form of reptile. (I had not mentioned my Hilton Honors Diamond status at any stage of the conversation.)

This series of encounters left us feeling that the hotel employees we dealt with -- as well as whoever made the policies that were the subject of our discussion -- cared a lot more about their own convenience than about customer service. Why on earth should the hotel lounge be closed every evening (and many mornings) for a 20 day period? Most of us don't get 20-day Christmas/New Year vacations, and this seems particularly odd for an enterprise whose whole reason for being should be the comfort and convenience of its customers. And if they were going to close the lounge, they should have done whatever was necessary to make sure the reception employee who checked us in understood the situation and did not assure us -- repeatedly, emphatically, and with lots of specific details -- that the lounge would indeed be open. As for the coupon lady, she doesn't belong in a customer-contact position. (I concede that we were somewhat argumentative, but we were never loud, vulgar, or otherwise discourteous, and we didn't deserve her hostility and sarcasm. And even if we had deserved it, an important part of being a customer-service employee is remaining calm and courteous even when the customers are not.)

Our waiter in the sports bar was attentive and polite, as were all the other hotel employees we encountered during our brief stay. But we did have one other odd experience: the next morning, when the lounge finally did open, we went there for the self-service buffet breakfast. During the whole time we were there the hotel employee who was attending the lounge sat on a couch watching a series of television shows. The television was set at an uncomfortably high volume, but what was even more uncomfortable was the employee's ongoing commentary, which consisted mainly of guffawing at the top of her lungs every few seconds. In fairness to this employee, she did ask us shortly before we left whether we needed anything else, and she seemed quite friendly. But this is yet another way in which the hotel should train its employees in professionalism.)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AssimilatedCajun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MidtownRaleigh, Manager at Hilton North Raleigh/Midtown, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
We want to sincerely apologzize for the issues you encountered during your stay with us as this is very unusual for our staff members. We want to thank you for taking the time to write this survey as we will use this to better train our staff. We hope you have a happy new year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2012

Pros:

- Clean rooms
- Decent gym
- Bahama Breeze next door

Cons:
- Terrible service
- Long ride to airport

Got stuck at the airport for over an hour due to incompetent service. First, supposedly because of a power outage it took a half hour for the hotel to even answer the phone, apparently they don't have a backup generator. When they did answer the phone, it took over a half hour for the shuttle to arrive at the airport, even though when I called back I was told 5 minutes, then 15 minutes. I was in the process of booking another hotel when it finally arrived. I then found out why it took so long to arrive: the hotel is approximately 25-30 minutes away from the airport! Why they have an airport shuttle is beyond me, as I certainly would not have booked it if I realized the shuttle ride was that long.

The shuttle driver was very friendly and apologetic. He also arranged a taxi for the next day to go back to the airport ($50 cab ride by the way). The front desk supervisor was clueless and offered me a soda for all the trouble. Luckily, there is a Bahama Breeze restaurant next door that has good food.

I went to the concierge lounge to get a snack before bed. The concierge very rudely told me they didn't have any snacks and appeared annoyed that I had even bothered her with a question.

On the plus side, the room was clean and modern, the gym was of appropriate size for the hotel. Overall, the hotel property itself is not bad, but the service (with the exception of the shuttle driver) is absolutely terrible. That combined with the fact that it's such a long distance from the airport will definitely prevent me from ever staying here again.

Room Tip: Don't pick this hotel if you're looking for an airport hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mustangcop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MidtownRaleigh, Manager at Hilton North Raleigh/Midtown, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Thank you for your review and sincerely apologize for the issues you encountered. We hope you have a wonderful new year and hope you continue to use the Hilton family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2012

The rooms were good, so was the bedding. The property was well maintained and very clean. The staff was very good. The restaurant a bit less so. The indoor pool was too cold for an excited 5 year old to jump in. The HVAC fan can not be turned off which I found to be distracting in the night.

Next trip, I would look at this property again as well as the Hyatt Place down the street and Hampton.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ehhhhh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MidtownRaleigh, Manager at Hilton North Raleigh/Midtown, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Thank you for writing a review, we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Raleigh hotels
3.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Raleigh / Crabtree Valley
0.1 mi away
Hyatt Place North Raleigh-Midtown
1.1 mi away
Hyatt House Raleigh North Hills
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Courtyard Raleigh North/Triangle Town Center
3.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Raleigh Downtown
10.2 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Raleigh - Durham Airport/Brier Creek
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton North Raleigh/Midtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton North Raleigh/Midtown

Property: Hilton North Raleigh/Midtown
Address: 3415 Wake Forest Rd, Raleigh, NC 27609-7330
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Raleigh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Raleigh
#14 Business Hotel in Raleigh
#18 Romantic Hotel in Raleigh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton North Raleigh/Midtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 333
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Business-oriented Suburban Hotel situated 4 miles from Amtrak station; 5 miles from State Capitol; 15 miles from airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Hilton North Raleigh/Midtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton North Raleigh Hotel Raleigh
Hilton Hotel Raleigh
Hilton Raleigh
Raleigh Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing