We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rude Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Raleigh Marriott Crabtree Valley
Ranked #15 of 86 Hotels in Raleigh
Certificate of Excellence
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Rude Staff”
Reviewed January 2, 2013

Summary: staff was rude and unhelpful which made for a very unpleasant stay. Also, the floor we were staying on looked like a $29 roach motel.

On 12/18 I stay at this Marriott in order to catch a flight the next morning from RDU. Upon evening check at the front desk I requested that the shuttle take me to the airport for my 8am flight the next day. The associate responded "the shuttle doesn't start until 7am." I then asked what I should do and she stated that I should find another way to get to the airport. She did not give me any taxi information or other options on how to get to the airport; she also rolled her eyes at me when I started to walk away. Is 8 am really too early of a flight for a hotel that advertises free airport shuttles? Also, when I requested information on area restaurants I could eat at they were completely unhelpful. Stay somewhere else other than here.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cybolosis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

503 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    214
    183
    58
    25
    23
See reviews for
69
62
26
282
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2012

I called the week prior to Christmas to make a reservation for 4 adults and 3 children for the Marriott Christmas buffet. First of all, I was sent to an answer machine but I left my request and my phone number and asked for a confirmation of dinner for 7 at 6:00p.m. I never received a return call (which should have been my first clue) but I am a Marriott rewards member and usually enjoy good service. After several days I called again---this time I was told there was no space until 8 p.m. I indicated my displeasure at being previously ignored and hung up. Shortly I did receive a call from a restaurant manager who apologized and said she would work me in at 6. The price was $35 per adult and $17 per child. I assumed the buffet would be quite lavish at that price. When we arrived, the place was half empty and it remained that way the entire time we ate. (Where was the lack of space?) The buffet was average or less, and there was nothing for the kids. We had to order separately from the menu for them to have anything at all to eat. The atmosphere was deadly---no one smiled or welcomed us, there was nothing festive, no music, and most of the clientele looked as if they had come in from working in their yards. I am totally embarrassed that I selected this place for our special family Christmas dinner. The bill was over $200 and I have had tastier food at McDonald's. I found this very sad at a Marriott property.
I do want to say that the one positive of the evening was our waiter Marcus. He was a delight and did everything possible to make things for us all. His nice personality and attention were much appreciated.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Smith58z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trumbull, Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2012 via mobile

A typical mid-level business hotel with all the usual amenities. Rooms were clean and nicely appointed but slightly dated. Not palace for a luxurious vacation, but perfectly adequate for a couple of nights.

Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Sljayhawk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apex, North Carolina, United States
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 25, 2012

My wife and I went to the restaurant for a buffet on Christmas Night 2012 around 5:30. When we made our reservation the person on the phone said it would be $35 per person. That sounded kind of high but I thought it must be really good for that price. I wish we had left once we got there and there was no one to seat us. The food didn't look particularly appetizing and It certainly wasn't either. The turkey tasted like something out of a can. The prime rib was way undercooked. All the vegetables we tried were very mediocre. We tried some fruit and it was awful. The cantelope was actually unedible. Seriously, we have had much better meals from cafeterias and the buffet should not have cost over $8.95 per person. This restaurant was very good about 10-12 years ago,but has certainly gone down the hill since. We will definitely never come back. Service not good either.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Lawrence L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2012

I was very unimpressed with this hotel - the carpet was extremely dirty, the room smelled like a wet dog and there was a huge industrial vacuum in my room that the staff did not remove for the 3 nights that I stayed there.

The bathroom showed age, with the tiles faded and the bathtub leaking. The bed was comfortable (grateful for that), but because the room smelled so bad, I couldn't get a good night's sleep. I will not stay at this hotel ever again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank iaccess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muncie, Indiana
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2012

What's not to like - as long as "the company" is picking up the tab?? (LOL).

Great hotel - really everything was perfect - except - we were supposed to be staying in the DOWNTOWN MARRIOTT - where the convention we were attending was being held - but "something" was screwed up "somewhere" - so we were "stuck" at this one. it was not that big of a deal though - about 12 minutes from downtown.

It does have a real nice pool and hot tub!!

And the beds were actually awesome - maybe the most comfortable bed I ever slept in.

If you had to get stuck somewhere - this is not that bad a place to get stuck. I would stay Downtown though next time - because - well - that is where everthing is happening at (assuming you are traveling for "pleasure". Oh - you know that "free breakfast" you are used to everywhere (?) - um - not here - free coffee ONLY!

Room Tip: All the same I would think.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Spent a couple nights here for a company event, and it's pretty clear that their main clientele is companies who use the exhibition rooms and also offer corporate rates. The hotel itself is showing its age a bit, as the rooms are a tad small and dark, the TV was a bit spotty (volume would cut out for no reason) and the bath is clean but unremarkable. It does have a nice indoor pool, nice exercise room, and a whirlpool, and ample parking although it can be a short walk. Personally, given the plethora of newer, well-priced hotels in the area I wouldn't pay to stay here. However if the company has you staying here, it's not a bad place.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mlin32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Raleigh hotels
0.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Raleigh / Crabtree Valley
2.3 mi away
Hyatt House Raleigh North Hills
2.0 mi away
Renaissance Raleigh North Hills Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Raleigh - Crabtree
5.3 mi away
Raleigh Marriott City Center
0.5 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Raleigh Crabtree Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Raleigh Marriott Crabtree Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Raleigh Marriott Crabtree Valley

Property: Raleigh Marriott Crabtree Valley
Address: 4500 Marriott Drive, Raleigh, NC 27612-3365
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Raleigh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Business Hotel in Raleigh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Raleigh Marriott Crabtree Valley 3.5*
Number of rooms: 375
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We're redefining the hotel stay here at the newly renovated Raleigh Marriott Crabtree Valley with fresh, innovative, warm and inviting design. Our contemporary hotel has been entirely reborn, including sleek new guest rooms, enticing public spaces, 20,000 square feet of meeting and event space, and a well-equipped fitness center. North Carolina cuisine and specialty cocktails can be had at the brand new BRAISE Contemporary Southern restaurant and bourbon bar. Guest rooms feature amenities such as smart TV's with Netflix and upgradeable Wi-Fi, along with subtle touches of North Carolina in the décor. Weddings shine in our ballrooms and our catering is nothing short of remarkable. Our unwavering commitment to exceptional service shines throughout each guest experience. Your stay will put you within easy reach of desirable shopping at Crabtree Valley Mall, downtown restaurants, PNC Arena and North Carolina State University. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Raleigh Marriott Crabtree Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Raleigh Marriott Crabtree Valley Hotel Raleigh
Marriott Raleigh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing