We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Christmas dinner terrible”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Raleigh Marriott Crabtree Valley
Ranked #14 of 86 Hotels in Raleigh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 25, 2012

My wife and I went to the restaurant for a buffet on Christmas Night 2012 around 5:30. When we made our reservation the person on the phone said it would be $35 per person. That sounded kind of high but I thought it must be really good for that price. I wish we had left once we got there and there was no one to seat us. The food didn't look particularly appetizing and It certainly wasn't either. The turkey tasted like something out of a can. The prime rib was way undercooked. All the vegetables we tried were very mediocre. We tried some fruit and it was awful. The cantelope was actually unedible. Seriously, we have had much better meals from cafeterias and the buffet should not have cost over $8.95 per person. This restaurant was very good about 10-12 years ago,but has certainly gone down the hill since. We will definitely never come back. Service not good either.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
Thank Lawrence L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (514)
There are newer reviews for Raleigh Marriott Crabtree Valley
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

398 - 404 of 514 reviews

Reviewed November 3, 2012

I was very unimpressed with this hotel - the carpet was extremely dirty, the room smelled like a wet dog and there was a huge industrial vacuum in my room that the staff did not remove for the 3 nights that I stayed there.

The bathroom showed age, with the tiles faded and the bathtub leaking. The bed was comfortable (grateful for that), but because the room smelled so bad, I couldn't get a good night's sleep. I will not stay at this hotel ever again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank iaccess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2012

What's not to like - as long as "the company" is picking up the tab?? (LOL).

Great hotel - really everything was perfect - except - we were supposed to be staying in the DOWNTOWN MARRIOTT - where the convention we were attending was being held - but "something" was screwed up "somewhere" - so we were "stuck" at this one. it was not that big of a deal though - about 12 minutes from downtown.

It does have a real nice pool and hot tub!!

And the beds were actually awesome - maybe the most comfortable bed I ever slept in.

If you had to get stuck somewhere - this is not that bad a place to get stuck. I would stay Downtown though next time - because - well - that is where everthing is happening at (assuming you are traveling for "pleasure". Oh - you know that "free breakfast" you are used to everywhere (?) - um - not here - free coffee ONLY!

Room Tip: All the same I would think.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Spent a couple nights here for a company event, and it's pretty clear that their main clientele is companies who use the exhibition rooms and also offer corporate rates. The hotel itself is showing its age a bit, as the rooms are a tad small and dark, the TV was a bit spotty (volume would cut out for no reason) and the bath is clean but unremarkable. It does have a nice indoor pool, nice exercise room, and a whirlpool, and ample parking although it can be a short walk. Personally, given the plethora of newer, well-priced hotels in the area I wouldn't pay to stay here. However if the company has you staying here, it's not a bad place.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mlin32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012

I have stayed at this property for the past 30 years. Over the years there have been several renovations. The beds are a 10 and the room size and location cannot be beat. Shoot down Glennwood Ave either direction and you're in 5 Points downtown or at the airport in minutes.

Walk across Glennwood Ave and you're at the mall. Within a 5 min walk is The Cheesecake Factory, Flemings Steakhouse, Brio and several other good spots for a bite. This is why when in Raleigh, I stay no where else.

For the Vegans of the world, there is a nice selection on the menu. Their veggie burgers are made in house, served on a whole wheat bun! what a killa burger!
Hummus and sweet potato fries are a good side. Marriott just gets it on the food service side for hotel chains.The chef actually came out and asked how everything was with my food and every food served that evening. That is classy and caring. Love it. He has been here for 4 years and was very complimentary of the menu that Marriott has created for him to work with.

Stay here, forget the rest.

Room Tip: any room is fine,, 6th floor is good , due to the concierge lounge
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PackMan50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

I stayed here for 2 nights and overall things were average for a hotel of this type - it could be much better if they had a consistent approach to a few things. The biggest issue was they advertise an "Airport shuttle service, on request, complimentary" and that is not true. We requested one for our 7:40 flights (leave 6:30) and they said it only starts at 7am but they could call us a cab for about $30. The complimentary morning coffee also did not start until 7am and reception would not allow a complimentary coffee from the kiosk carafe.

The directions given by the reception staff for the crabtree running trail were not accurate nor were they for a 'shortcut' to the airport. We had to do several U-turns to figure out the directions.

On saying that, Mark was extremely friendly and helpful, assisting with a door lock issue and a lost and found issue. The bar staff also were very friendly and opened a bottle of wine for us (for our room use) and supplied us glasses.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms often have a musty odor and you smell the fertilizers and such from the grounds
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GretaMatthews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2012

Spent two nights @ this hotel in August. It's showing its age. Hallways are a bit dark. Outside my room in the hall, a bucket was on the floor to catch water dripping from a leaky pipe in the ceiling.
Rooms are spacious but in need of remodeling. Tough to find because the sign is not visible from the road.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 51176RobertF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Raleigh hotels
2.3 mi away
Hyatt House Raleigh North Hills
0.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Raleigh / Crabtree Valley
0.2 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Raleigh - Crabtree
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Renaissance Raleigh North Hills Hotel
5.3 mi away
Raleigh Marriott City Center
4.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Raleigh - Brownstone - University
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Raleigh Marriott Crabtree Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Raleigh Marriott Crabtree Valley

Address: 4500 Marriott Drive, Raleigh, NC 27612-3365
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Raleigh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Business Hotel in Raleigh
Price Range: $157 - $315 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Raleigh Marriott Crabtree Valley 3.5*
Number of rooms: 375
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We're redefining the hotel stay here at the newly renovated Raleigh Marriott Crabtree Valley with fresh, innovative, warm and inviting design. Our contemporary hotel has been entirely reborn, including sleek new guest rooms, enticing public spaces, 20,000 square feet of meeting and event space, and a well-equipped fitness center. North Carolina cuisine and specialty cocktails can be had at the brand new BRAISE Contemporary Southern restaurant and bourbon bar. Guest rooms feature amenities such as smart TV's with Netflix and upgradeable Wi-Fi, along with subtle touches of North Carolina in the décor. Weddings shine in our ballrooms and our catering is nothing short of remarkable. Our unwavering commitment to exceptional service shines throughout each guest experience. Your stay will put you within easy reach of desirable shopping at Crabtree Valley Mall, downtown restaurants, PNC Arena and North Carolina State University. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Marriott, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Raleigh Marriott Crabtree Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Raleigh Marriott Crabtree Valley Hotel Raleigh
Marriott Raleigh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing