We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Never again”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Wake Inn

Wake Inn
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Wake Inn
Ranked #68 of 84 Hotels in Raleigh
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Never again”
Reviewed June 26, 2013 via mobile

I've stayed here because of our need to be near the hospital. The first visit, was doable. But because of having to come back and knew it was nearby.. Came back again .... The receptionist, seemed bothered that she had to get up and do paper work, for us to get a room..then wanted to up the rate that was advertised......could not believe this room.. Mold in the bathroom, unfinished ceiling, and wall paper holes in the walls. Just to tired to go back and deal with receptionist. I just need a shower and a place to catch a few hours of much needed rest..

Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
4 Thank cruizerz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    2
    1
    1
    7
See reviews for
2
2
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Heredia, Heredia, Costa Rica
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2013

My wife and I stayed this past week at this hotel. Apparently management had changed in the last few months however we found this to be exactly what we wanted and needed. It is located by frequent buses so the remote area was actually a benefit. Near to shopping areas and a small grocery/restaurant strip mall for foods if you want to eat in. Room was cleaned every day including bedding. They missed on paper refills but anything I needed was only a call away. The staff made every effort to help us enjoy our visit.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Blanca Iris O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 12, 2013

The first time I stayed at this hotel, I stayed in a room upstairs. I was very impressed by the size and condition of that room! It was definitely a good room for the price. The only things I did not like about the first room was the shower was hard to figure out, it was a smoking room and there was a stain on one of the wash clothes. Everything else was clean and in good condition.

The second time I stayed at this hotel, I they gave me a room on the bottom. It was like I was at a completely different hotel! I was disgusted by the smell, but mainly by the look! It was a smaller room. EVERYTHING look warn down. There was hair in the sink, a half used shampoo bottle on the sink, stained and broken chairs. Even the lamp shade had stains. The most creepiest thing about the second room was the two doors leading to other rooms. One person next door opened there's and attempted to open my door! Wow! The second experience makes me just want to sleep in my car! It is cold outside and the heat does not work. It's been over an hour since I called the desk about it. Unbelievable.

Room Tip: Please, please people, BEFORE you accept a room, as long as you have time ask to see it first!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Torya B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2009

This was the worst hotel ive ever been too i would never pay this hotel another penny of my money. i complained to corp and do u think they reached out to get in contact with me, "NO" noone called text sent anything in the mail or even bothered to send a smoke signal when i complained. It was as though they didnt care about anything i had to say and i stayed for 3 days which i paid for and when i went to talk to the manager he acted as though i speaking a different language. the room was horrible it had a smell to it there was water that was leaking which my friends entire left side was wet once she got off of one of the beds the bathroom was dirty and when asked to be cleaned noone ever came to do so, the carpet WOW we not even going to begin to talk about the carpet be that was just a mess, the remote wasnt working, the towels were dirty and thats just half of it i could go on and on but i dont have enough room

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TweetyB31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kingsport, tennesssee
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2007

i arrived at howard johnson on august 4th. check in was at 2 we got to the hotel about 315. was given our room keys and had enough time to get into the room and sit down before a man who works for howard johnson bangs the door down almost to bring us towels(shouldnt the room had already been ready for a guest?) the lock on the door was almost rusted off, the carpet was sticky nasty, the curtain fell down when we tried to open it, the bathroom counter top was held up with 2x4's on either side of it, the tv remote had a piece of cardboard taped across the back to hold batteries inplace, the bathroom floor was gross, there were no fitted sheets on the bed whatsoever, i seriously doubt the smoke detector worked, water stains all over the ceiling, holes behind the lamps and doors, walls had about 4 different colors of paint on them, took me about 10 minutes to get the shower turned on (very outdated), the towels and washcloths were stained horribly, horrible lighting. my overall experience was that i was ready to sleep in the car and i wore my flipflops to bed in case i had to get up in the middle of the night.

  • Liked — that there was no apparent sign of bedbugs
  • Disliked — everything
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank bubba5936
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TN
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2007

This place was the hotel of nightmares. The only thing missing was the bugs...thankfully i never saw any signs of those. We arrived and had no trouble at check in. I am always afraid i will wind up spending my vacation in a dump so i always do my best to check out photos and call around. When we arrived in the room, to say the least we were stunned. The wallpaper was peeling, There were holes in the walls (some attampt had been made to patch a few, others were left). The furniture was crooked and battered. The headboards were lop-sided. The sink was braced to the wall, literally, with 2X4's on each side that had been cut to fit and then just mounted underneath. The shower had broken tiles and the knob were u adjust the water temp was literally torn away from the wall. I went to open the curtains and they literally came down on my head, I had to stand in the chair and replaced them (great photo! haha). The ceiling was stained and the back of the remote was held together with cardboard and tape. All-in-all this place looked great online. Its the kind of thing that should not happen with major hotel chains. You would expect them to uphold certain standards; I would strongly recommend you NEVER stay here and I am leary of staying at other howard johnson locations if this is what the standards look like. all I can say is run as fast as you can to the nearest holiday inn or you may spend your night like we did : contemplating sleeping in your car.

  • Liked — nothing!
  • Disliked — the entire thing was a bad hotel nightmare
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank zanl11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Raleigh hotels
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Raleigh NE - Medical Ctr Area
1.1 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#45 of 84 in Raleigh
78 reviews
1.7 mi away
Extended Stay America - Raleigh - Northeast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites
#58 of 84 in Raleigh
70 reviews
2.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Raleigh North-Downtown
3.2 mi away
Days Inn Raleigh Beltline
Days Inn Raleigh Beltline
#56 of 84 in Raleigh
540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wake Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wake Inn

Property: Wake Inn
Address: 3120 New Bern Ave, Raleigh, NC 27610-1217 (Formerly Howard Johnson Express Inn)
Location: United States > North Carolina > Raleigh
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #68 of 84 Hotels in Raleigh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Wake Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 73
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Travelocity, HotelQuickly and Expedia so you can book your Wake Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Raleigh Howard Johnson
Howard Johnson Raleigh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing