We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, Location, Location!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Raleigh Downtown
Ranked #41 of 87 Hotels in Raleigh
Reviewed November 11, 2013

If you are in the area and looking for things to do downtown Raleigh, this is the place to stay. A $2.50 cab ride whereever you want to go downtown and even walking distance if it wasnt so cold out. They are currently doing renovations on the hotel but that didnt seem to bother us. We stayed 2 nights. On the first night we enjoyed a few drinks at the rooftop bar. They also have a restaurant on the rooftop floor. The bartender was very friendly. Some people may be bothered by the noise from being in the downtown area but it is expected. We heard trains and fire trucks throughout the night. The bed was very cozy and the room was clean. I also liked the fact it has a parking deck on the first 5 floors.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jparrish1108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shana B, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Raleigh Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2013

Good Day!

Thank you for selecting Clarion State Capital for your hotel accommodations! We are lucky to have such an ideal location in the downtown area. Our management, staff, and renovation team strive to make your visit as enjoyable and comfortable as possible, so we are elated to receive such wonderful feedback!

Your thoughts and comments are very much appreciated. We hope to see you again soon, jparrish1108!

All the Best,
Shana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (459)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

296 - 302 of 459 reviews

Reviewed November 6, 2013

Yes this hotel was doing some construction but the room was brand new, they were working on the lobby when i arrived. You cant beat the location of this hotel, you can walk to just about everywere you need to go. Staff was really courteous, the restaurant had great food and an awesome view at the top of the hotel. Will stay here again for sure!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rdpetty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shana B, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Raleigh Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2013

Good Day!

Thank you for staying with us at Clarion State Capital! The convenient location, spectacular city view, excellent staff, appetizing meals, and remodeled sleeping rooms are just a small selection of the amenities we proudly offer. We are pleased to serve you, rdpetty, and very happy to hear you enjoyed your visit!

We sincerely value the feedback and can’t wait for you to see our brand new lobby floors!

Yours in Hospitality,
Shana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is in a great walking location to downtown. Yes the hotel is under construction but you would never know after hours. Very comfortable, spacious and great views. I would definitely stay here again when I return to Raleigh.
Staff was awesome also.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Bari B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shana B, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Raleigh Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2013

Good Day,

Thank you for letting us meet your hospitality needs! Our devoted team aims for the highest standard in customer service. Refurbished rooms, stunning views, and a phenomenal setting are additional perks. We value comfort and satisfaction, and are delighted to hear the positive outcome of our meticulous efforts.

We appreciate your feedback, and look forward to seeing you again!

All the Best,
Shana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2013

The staff is very pleasant and helpful. I visited for a conference. However, their renovations drove me crazy. They begin work sawing and banging at 7:30 each morning (not my most favorite way to wake up). My room was newly renovated with mostly new furnishings. although the chair and ottoman in my room were from the prior decorations and were really dirty. There is no hair dryer so I had to go buy one. The bathrooms have new floors and shower/bath combinations, but the room is so small I had to stand in the tub in order to close the door to the toilet area. The toilet seat, although new, does not fit the toilet and slips. But I've stayed in worse.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alwaysmoving2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2013

OK, so as a former hospitality industry worker I fully understand mass renovation projects, however, every hotel in have worked for finished the renovations before allowing a guest in the room. The main part of the room had been finished but the vanity area had peeling and ripped wallpaper. The hotel itself seemed very out dated even with the new look. OK, enough with the bad...now the pros of this property. Upon arrival, the guest service agent was very friendly and cheerful. Check in was a breeze. The parking deck was a bit confusing tho. Great view of town and a great location within walking distance of everywhere I needed to be while visiting the state capital.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hunter-Lynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shana B, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Raleigh Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2013

Good day, Hunter-Lynn! Thank you so much for choosing Clarion State Capital for your lodging needs! We strive for excellence and take pride in our dedicated staff, spectacular city view, and convenient location. We are currently in the middle of a large renovation process, and are anxious for our guests to experience the updated rooms as soon as possible. We value your input and will use it for improving our facility and services.

The most exciting changes have yet to come, so we hope to accommodate you in the near future at our brand new hotel!

All the Very Best,
Shana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2013

We just came back from a Visit to Raleigh for The International Bluegrass Convention. We stayed at The Clarion for 4 days. While the hotel is under construction with renovations the room we stayed in had been completely updated. Beds very comfortable with updated decor and fixtures. It was a quick few blocks walk or rickshaw ride to Fayetteville Street where all the activities were. I ate Breakfast at the property only on the first day. You could order from the menu or they had a breakfast buffet. Below Average for Breakfast is a hard thing to rate but this I felt was the only negative The restaurant sits on the 16th floor with Beautiful views of Downtown Raleigh. From speaking with the staff they are working there way up with all new plans for restaurant/bar renovations. We will most definitely look forward to returning back to The Clarion next year for IBMA

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tntami2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shana B, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Raleigh Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2013

Good day!

Thank you so much for selecting our property for your hotel accommodations! We strive to provided 101% in all that we do here at Clarion State Capital. Your feedback is welcomed and appreciated by our entire staff as we prepare for upcoming changes and remodeling.

We look forward to serving you next year for IBMA 2014, this time on a grander scale.

Yours In Hospitality,

Shana Baxter
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Got off elevator and found boxes in the hallway, radio playing in room that they were working on. The TV remote did not work, could not turn on the TV without it. The air condition sounded like a truck outside running.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank i r S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Raleigh hotels
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Raleigh Downtown
0.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Raleigh - Brownstone - University
0.6 mi away
Residence Inn Raleigh Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Sheraton Raleigh Hotel
Sheraton Raleigh Hotel
#34 of 87 in Raleigh
124 reviews
0.6 mi away
Raleigh Marriott City Center
3.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Raleigh-North
Holiday Inn Raleigh-North
#25 of 87 in Raleigh
300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Raleigh Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Raleigh Downtown

Address: 320 Hillsborough St, Raleigh, NC 27603-1786 (Formerly Clarion Hotel State Capital)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Raleigh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 87 Hotels in Raleigh
Price Range: $111 - $197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Raleigh Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 203
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly rebranded to the Holiday Inn Raleigh Downtown, you will find all of the modern conveniences within our historic building located in the heart of Downtown Raleigh. Just blocks from NC's State Capital, Raleigh's Convention Center, the performing arts, fine dining and nightlife. Our hotel has completed its full renovation including guestrooms, restaurant and lounge, business center, fitness center, exterior entrance and all function space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotwire, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Raleigh Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Hotel Raleigh
Clarion State Capital
Clarion Raleigh
Raleigh Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing