We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not fancy but not bad at all”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Raleigh Downtown
Ranked #38 of 86 Hotels in Raleigh
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not fancy but not bad at all”
Reviewed June 3, 2013 via mobile

Went to Raliegh with my son so he could attend a concert...the room was fine. Nothing extraordinary but not bad. The room was adequate- cable, coffee maker, the usual hotel room. The location was nice, near enough to the Lincoln theater my son could walk. It was also a block away from my new favorite bar- The Flying Saucer Club. If you like beer at all you absolutely must check it out....
There is free parking and the staff is very nice. The cleanliness was fine...it's not a new hotel but I wouldn't say its at all run down. I would go there again. The price for a night was a $100 with tax...much cheaper than the nearby fancy hotels. Overall I was very pleased with everything.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeteSev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna A, General Manager at Holiday Inn Raleigh Downtown, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear PeteSev,

We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and the great location we have! Lots of restaurants and attractions located within a short walk. Happy you enjoyed the staff, and all took good care of you. We all look forward to seeing you back on your next visit to Raleigh. Thank you for your feedback.

Regards,

Clarion Raleigh Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

443 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    169
    98
    44
    46
See reviews for
79
105
29
155
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2013 via mobile

As the line goes, location , location , location. The hotel is ideally located in the heart of the city, thanks to this we were able to walk around, reach Moore square in time for a street fair and a music performance by the Wailers ,, all the sites , good restaurants are in close proximity . Only one downside to the hotel, they need slightly larger bathrooms , one can barely stand , let alone turn around in them.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank prateekchawla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna A, General Manager at Holiday Inn Raleigh Downtown, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Dear prateekchawla,

Thank you for your great feedback! You are right about location, and we are fortunate to have the best location in downtown Raleigh. Great to have all the restaurants, museums, shops and the state capital within walking distance. We hope to see you back in the near future!

Regards,

Donna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockingham, North Carolina, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed May 13, 2013

We were in Raleigh for my son's graduation from NC State on Mother's Day weekend. We had 2 rooms on the 15th floor. We enjoyed breakfast at the Top of the Tower. Their breakfast bar is well priced and very nice.The cook makes your eggs or omelets to order. He was very nice. Hotel is within walking distance to the capital and museums.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna A, General Manager at Holiday Inn Raleigh Downtown, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Dear Karen M,

I am so happy to hear you really enjoyed your stay with us last week! Glad you enjoyed the restaurant and our great location. We are fortunate to have an incredible view of Raleigh. Wonderful to be close to so many restaurants, museums and the capital. Hope to see you back with us again!

Regards,

Donna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, NC
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
Reviewed May 13, 2013

Stayed last week for three nights at Clarion - during my stay I needed to make space because of weather in my car for a guests to join me for dinner. I asked the front desk staff if they had room for my cube cooler that I had in my back seat -from a function I attended at Women's Prison that morning. The gentleman was very helpful and took my name, but as things happen I forgot all about it during the hustle and bustle of my stay. Monday morning I called to inquire about my cooler and was informed they threw it away - because it had trash in it (all boxes and cellophane from items we gave to ladies in prison - nothing smelly) - then if that was not bad enough - she hung up on me!

If that is the type of service management provides - I am not surprised that the hotel is falling apart at the seams. The bartender is hopeless, the rooms are old, ugly, smelly, and gross...and now I find the staff is headed up by idiots! They throw my cooler away before a person has time to get back to their office for trash being neatly placed inside, but rent rooms at that delapadated excuse for a hotel.

I am in the tourism business - so take it from me - unless you can't afford anything else - don't stay here! If I had not been on schlorship I would never thought to stay there, but I promise I will not make that mistake ever again.

Room Tip: stay somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Theresa-Onslow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitecourt, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for 10 days while attending a training session. I loved the wrap around parking that let you come and go without going through the lobby - the elevator lets out at three different parking levels. The restaurant on top doesn't revolve, but the food was great and the service was fast and friendly. The folks on the front desk were also friendly and helpful. I would definitely recommend staying here if you have business in Raleigh.

Room Tip: Get a room overlooking downtown if you like to see the night lights.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linz-2k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna A, General Manager at Holiday Inn Raleigh Downtown, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Dear Linz-2k,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay with us! I am glad you found the hotel comfortable, and enjoyed our great location. It is a great walking city, with so many restaurants and museums within walking distance. Please come back and visit us again soon!

Thanks!

Donna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, South Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 25, 2013

Should have written sooner but better late than never. Anyway, we made a weekend trip to Raleigh in December for Christmas shopping and just to enjoy the city where I grew up. Stayed on the 11th floor and thoroughly enjoyed the view of the downtown skyline. I actually watched this building going up as a teenager and have been there many times over the years when friends were in town or just to go to the top for food or drink, including one time during a snowstorm and more than once during a thunderstorm. Parking was very convenient, the room was clean, and the hotel is close to everything I wanted to visit - Cameron Village, 42nd St. Oyster Bar, Glenwood South, Christ Episcopal Church, and Hillsborough St. to the Beltline. The staff was friendly, including the gentleman who made us omelettes to order for breakfast. Also a very attentive lady who kept our coffee cups filled. Thanks so much!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hawko159
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna A, General Manager at Holiday Inn Raleigh Downtown, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Dear Hawko 159,

I am so happy you enjoyed your stay with us during Christmas!! We are so lucky to have the best view of Raleigh from our guest rooms and restaurant on the top floor. Glad you enjoyed being able to easily get to all that Raleigh has to offer in and around downtown. We hope to see you back with us again in the near future!

Thanks!

Donna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brevard, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2013

Stayed on the 15th floor. Wireless was good, TV had most cable channels, and bed was comfortable, although the king size bed had only 3 somewhat small pillows. The room was clean and parking is attached to the hotel for easy access. The hotel is conveniently located for visiting the NC Museum of Natural and Sciences, and the Sate Capitol. The reason this review gets 4 out of 5, rather than 5 out of 5 is the restaurant service. I arrived in the restaurant at 6:45 am for breakfast, and there was only one other table with two people who had already ordered. I ordered 2 eggs, sausage and toast. I waited 30 minutes for this order to show up - actually I was walking out when they came with m order. I would've better off leaving the hotel for breakfast.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna A, General Manager at Holiday Inn Raleigh Downtown, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Dear Mike C.,

I appreciate your feedback regarding your stay with us! I am so glad you loved the convenience of the hotel, being near so much in downtown Raleigh. It is great to be able to walk so many places. I have addressed the slow service you received in the restaurant and apologize for that. I hope you come back to visit us to show that has improved. Thanks again for the feedback!

Regards,

Donna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Raleigh hotels
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Raleigh Downtown
0.5 mi away
Sheraton Raleigh Hotel
Sheraton Raleigh Hotel
#34 of 86 in Raleigh
92 reviews
0.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Raleigh - Brownstone - University
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Raleigh Marriott City Center
0.6 mi away
Residence Inn Raleigh Downtown
1.2 mi away
Aloft Raleigh
Aloft Raleigh
#22 of 86 in Raleigh
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Raleigh Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Raleigh Downtown

Property: Holiday Inn Raleigh Downtown
Address: 320 Hillsborough St, Raleigh, NC 27603-1786 (Formerly Clarion Hotel State Capital)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Raleigh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 86 Hotels in Raleigh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Raleigh Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 203
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly rebranded to the Holiday Inn Raleigh Downtown, you will find all of the modern conveniences within our historic building located in the heart of Downtown Raleigh. Just blocks from NC's State Capital, Raleigh's Convention Center, the performing arts, fine dining and nightlife. Our hotel has completed its full renovation including guestrooms, restaurant and lounge, business center, fitness center, exterior entrance and all function space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, IHG, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Raleigh Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Hotel Raleigh
Clarion State Capital
Clarion Raleigh
Raleigh Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing