We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Personal Observation” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Raleigh Midtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hampton Inn Raleigh Midtown
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1001 Wake Towne Drive, Raleigh, NC 27609 (Formerly Hampton Inn Raleigh - North)   |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
STOP CLICKING AROUND
Ranked #36 of 83 Hotels in Raleigh
Goldsboro
1 review
“Personal Observation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

Avoid the first few rooms on the first floor, to have a more positive sleep experience. This hotel is in a beautiful location and is very close to Duke Raliegh Hospital. The hotel staff were very helpful.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Earnest C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton M, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Raleigh Midtown, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review the Hampton Inn Raleigh Midtown on TripAdvisor.

Thank you for noting our great location, and yes we are the closest Hampton Inn to Duke Raleigh hospital. We offer a great “Medical” rate to those that need to go to DRH.

We hope the next time you come to Raleigh; you will stay with us, because we “love having you here!”

Sincerely,

Suzanne Villani
Director of Sales
Hampton Inn Raleigh Midtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

419 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    155
    105
    91
    43
    25
See reviews for
124
79
27
164
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
90 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

Roach Motel!

After a 9 hour drive, I checked in at this hotel. When I walked in, two men behind the counter continued their personal conversation with friends for no less than 5 minutes, while I struggled to carry my luggage in, propping the door with a leg and dragging the luggage behind me, and then waiting as patiently as I could at the desk. Finally, I asked for assistance, and they made it clear how upset they were that I was interrupting their conversation. The man who "helped" me said virtually nothing to me, then pushed the key across the counter. I had to ask what time breakfast begin, and how to get to my room. He grunted answers. No one offered to assist with my luggage.

I settled into the room, waiting for an old friend to arrive, who had also driven 9 hours. Shortly after she checked in, we saw HUGE roaches crawling along the wall of the room! We promptly called the front desk and advised them of the problem. The response: literally, silence. Finally, I said, "send someone to assist with the luggage. We are checking out"... a man knocked on our door and when we opened it, he was walking away, having left a luggage cart.

We stopped at the front desk and checked out. NOT ONCE did the front desk clerk apologize, offer to change our rooms, or otherwise provide ANY customer assistance. He refused to give us a receipt for the room to prove we were not charged. I demanded a receipt.

The next day, when I saw charges on my card, I called Hilton International to seek a credit (which I did receive). I was transferred to the customer service division. NOT ONCE did they apologize for the roach motel, or the horrible service we received.

I will never stay at another Hilton property again.

Room Tip: Do not stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JandJ468
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton M, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Raleigh Midtown, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
We sincerely apologize for the very unfortunate experience you had during your stay at our hotel.

We appreciate that you brought the service and bug issues to our attention promptly. We've addressed your concerns with our staff and our pest control company.

If we can help in any way, please let us know.

Kind regards,

Suzanne Villani
Director of Sales
Hampton Inn Raleigh Midtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
122 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

The check in staff were very nice and enthusiastic as she told us about internet connection and breakfast in the morning. It is down a street, off of a main road so it is easy to miss. The room was clean. The breakfast was good, offering the same type of items as do other Hamptons. This is our second stay at this Hampton. It is where we stay when going to the state fair. It is very centrally located for the city. When we met any staff in the hall, they were always friendly, speaking and smiling to thd guests.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 28412traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton M, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Raleigh Midtown, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Thank you so much for your review.

We do refer to this hotel as “Raleigh’s hidden treasure”

We are located right in the heart of Raleigh with convenient access to several things to see and do in the area.

I am so glad you enjoyed our complimentary breakfast, that is a Hampton standard and it is a great value.

We hope to see you, next year, during the NC State Fair.

Sincerely,

Suzanne Villani
Director of Sales
Hampton Inn Raleigh Midtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

Much to be desired here! Staff okay, location good, food terrible, vending machines empty, HVAC awful, rooms did not smell very nice. I checked out early to find another Hampton. Location os very good.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Whitney W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton M, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Raleigh Midtown, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us at our hotel.

We really appreciate your feedback and are very sorry for the condition of your guest room.

We will take your comments under consideration as we work to improve our guest experience.

Again, we apologize for all of the inconveniences and we hope you will come visit us in the future.

Sincerely,

Suzanne Villani
Director of Sales
Hampton Inn Raleigh Midtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

Hampton Inn does it right. Good value for money. Only negative for this location is that it is not visible from the street, so very easy to miss turn. Make sure you have directions. Very quiet area and easy access to interstate. Good selection of restaurants close by.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank George S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Alabama
Level Contributor
693 reviews
478 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 270 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

The check in staff were very friendly and accommodating. You could tell the lobby area had been recently renovated and it was very welcoming. The room could use a redo as it has the feel of an older Hampton Inn. Our room was spacious but it needs reconfigured and modernized - hopefully there is a plan to remodel the rooms soon. The TV was positioned badly as you could not see the TV unless you sat on one end of the sofa. Only one person could watch from this position and that person still didn’t have a view of the full screen. They need to swap the location of the wardrobe with the dresser that holds the TV to solve this problem. The bed seemed a little soft to me but not a big issue. The bathroom was a little on the small side but I still found plenty of space for my toiletries. There is a manager’s reception every Monday - Wednesday with a hot appetizer, a salty snack and beer, wine and soft drinks. They serve you so don’t expect to substitute this reception for dinner but it is a nice touch. They also had plenty of bottled water available - all you needed to do was ask. Breakfast was typical Hampton. They didn’t have my favorites the days I was there but the second day was much better than the first. They had the normal robust coffee available which I always appreciate.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AGoingGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton M, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Raleigh Midtown, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on Tripadvisor.com.

We did just finish renovating all of the common areas (lobby, front desk, fitness facility, hallway carpet and vinyl & the breakfast area). We are very pleased with the final product.

I can tell you that we will renovate our rooms, but we are not sure the start date of this project.

We call ourselves. "Raleigh Midtown's hidden treasure." We are off the beaten path, but are easily accessible to several shopping centers, area restaurants and area activities.

Please come & stay with us, again, the next time you visit Raleigh.

Sincerely,

Suzanne Villani
Director of Sales and Marketing
Hampton Inn Raleigh Midtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

I have been very pleased both times I have stayed at The Hampton while visiting my family in Raleigh. I received a very thoughtful handwritten note from someone on the staff and enjoyed 3 exceptional complimentary breakfasts. Upon my recommendation after my first visit, other members of our family have stayed at The Hampton. I feel sure we will return for more visits.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Sue J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton M, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Raleigh Midtown, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Sue J,
Thank you so much for the great review on TripAdvisor. We really do appreciate the positive feedback and the time you took to post your review.

We try to make our guests feel as if this is their “home away from home.” So we try to do things that are “out of the ordinary” as our way of saying, thank you for staying with us.

We recently upgraded our breakfast to include an egg and a meat product, each morning. We are so glad you enjoyed the selection.

Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you the next time you come to Raleigh.

Sincerely,

Suzanne Villani
Director of Sales
Hampton Inn Raleigh Midtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Raleigh hotels
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Raleigh Midtown
Courtyard Raleigh Midtown
#25 of 83 in Raleigh
4.5 of 5 stars 183 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Raleigh Downtown
3.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Raleigh - Brownstone - University
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hilton North Raleigh/Midtown
0.4 mi away
Hyatt Place North Raleigh-Midtown
1.6 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Raleigh North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Raleigh Midtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Raleigh Midtown

Property: Hampton Inn Raleigh Midtown
Address: 1001 Wake Towne Drive, Raleigh, NC 27609 (Formerly Hampton Inn Raleigh - North)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Raleigh
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Romantic Hotel in Raleigh
#32 Business Hotel in Raleigh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Raleigh Midtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Hampton Inn Raleigh-Midtown. Where there is always a lot to do!! Stay at the Hampton Inn® hotel in Raleigh-Midtown, and you'll be in a town with a diverse lineup of activities. Love history? You'll find museums, historic homes, neighborhoods and historic districts dating back to Sir Walter Raleigh's time. Art fan? Check out the NC Museum of Natural Sciences or any one of our 20 museums. Do you prefer to watch sports? Professional and college teams such as NC State University keep balls of all sorts aloft here in North Carolina. There is always a sporting event or a great performance at the PNC Arena. It's all just a few minutes from our hotel in Raleigh. When you're ready for the perfect North Carolina afternoon; head to one of the state's gorgeous golf courses. We're known for our beautiful fairways and lush greens. Or if wine is more your thing, venture to the Piedmont Region, where you'll find some of the state's best-known vineyards. And, of course, Durham, Chapel Hill and the Research Triangle Park are nearby, too. So come check into the Hampton Inn hotel in Raleigh-Midtown, a city with a royal past and dynamic future. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hilton Hotels, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz and Odigeo so you can book your Hampton Inn Raleigh Midtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Raleigh - North Hotel Raleigh
Raleigh Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing