We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food, Convenient location”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Sam & Wally's Eatery & Deli
Ranked #1,035 of 1,455 Restaurants in Raleigh
Cuisines: Delicatessen
Restaurant details
Calabash, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great Food, Convenient location”
Reviewed August 17, 2013

This deli and sandwich shop is across from the convention center and was my place to go for 3 days that I was in Raleigh. I enjoyed the food quality and quantity. The baked cookies by the register were great also.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank John V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    1
    1
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
532 reviews
365 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
“Good lunch place for sandwiches or pizza”
Reviewed August 8, 2013

Sam and Wally's has been in downtown Raleigh since 1994. Good selection of of sandwiches and they also serve pizza by the slice. In addition they have a hot bar where they offer one daily special. Everything is made to order. Above average deli, sandwiches are served with chips. Also have a limited number of soups and salads that made daily. Prices are reasonable and atmosphere is average. .

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Don N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
292 reviews
209 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Average food, it didn't impress”
Reviewed February 1, 2013

Sam & Wally's is a bit of an institution, having been next to the Sheraton for so very long while other similar restaurants and eateries kick the bucket. It was one of those institutions that I avoided for a long while, but finally got around to visiting.

I ended up ordering a tuna melt with some chips. Sandwiches are made to order, so I did some waiting for mine, so no big deal. Ultimately, the sandwich was overpriced, as I found the tuna melt to be remarkably average. I may revisit to try a different sandwich, see if it changes my opinion, but it failed to wow me the first time, so it may be a while before I revisit, considering the amount of places to eat in downtown Raleigh.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Aspiring_Critic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
154 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Very Nice Place”
Reviewed September 6, 2012

There is nothing outstanding or to write home about with this sandwich shop, but the food is very good, very fresh, good menu selection, very clean tables, good prices, and nice people. Huge selection of healthy breads. The lady behind the counter bent over backwards to accommodate me.

Televisions can be annoying, but these are quiet enough to hear if you are under them, but you can't really see or hear them in most parts of the restaurant. Since my meal was alone, On a pretty day, it is great to eat outside. It was nice to veg out on the news. You can't go wrong eating here.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DonnaSC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sam & Wally's Eatery & Deli also viewed

 
 

Been to Sam & Wally's Eatery & Deli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing