We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“/We were given individual attention”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Raleigh
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Oakwood Inn Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 4 Raleigh B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“/We were given individual attention”
Reviewed February 22, 2010

The Oakwood Inn B&B was tastefully decorated and furnished. The hosts were friendly and gave us individual attention. The breakfast was prepared and presented well. This is our second stay with quality equal to the first time.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chuck S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    22
    7
    0
    2
See reviews for
7
48
8
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Boston
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 4, 2010

I discovered this little gem of a B&B after getting some business in the Raleigh area, and as is my usual custom, began looking for alternates to staying at the large hotel chains. In a quiet neighborhood setting, this inn has everything you need for business stays - everything works, old lamps/locks/latches turn on or open with a satisfying "click", and the up to date technology (TV, A/C) is blended nicely with all the old-inn antiques and quirckiness that us inn enthusiasts appreciate. The innkeepers are super friendly, and get to know you just enough to make your stay comfortable, but you feel like you have all the privacy of any hotel. Make sure you schedule your morning so as to leave enough time to enjoy the breakfast., it is fantastic and different every time Although I eat anything put in front of me, they always will ask about my breakfast preferences, allergies, etc. If you stay more than a couple nights, you must check out the DVD/VHS collection of classic movies old and new. All of the rooms are nice and unique, I've tried nearly all of them and you should too when you visit.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NorthShoreFish777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
1 review
Reviewed January 2, 2010

On my granddaughter, Abby's eleventh birthday, we traveled to Raleigh to the theater and the lovely Oakwood Inn Bed and Breakfast. We were welcomed with everything we needed for a memorable stay in an authentic historic home. Even the breakfast was special, and who wouldn't love having freshly baked cookies available every time you come home?

  • Stayed December 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grammy06Georgia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tulsa, ok
2 reviews
Reviewed December 30, 2009

fine B&B. comfortable bed and great breakfast. gary the innkeeper very personable. we enjoy staying at B&B's as you meet more people and your hosts can give you insights about the area you are visiting.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fredde1q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N.C.
1 review
Reviewed December 30, 2009

My wife and I spent one night at the Oakwood B & B for our anniversary. I am EXTREMELY glad I chose this Inn. The innkeepers ( Gary and Doris) were professional, polite, and very hospitable. We stayed in the Polk Room, which was very cozy and romantic. Highly recommend it! The breakfast was also creative and delicious. We will definitely be staying at the Oakwood B & B in Raleigh again in our future travels.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marzolfs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2009

Obviously, the title gives it away, but the Oakwood really was nice. The hosts/owners were delightful and helpful. The accomodations were on par with the best B&B's we've stayed in, and the breakfast was excellent as well. The location meant that we could easily walk around the historic area of Raleigh, but it was also an easy to drive to and away from as well. In all liklihood, the next time we are heading down I-95, we'll take the half hour detour to spend a night at the Oakwood.

Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Wally011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, NC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 5, 2009

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. Everything was so welcoming from the working fireplace to the lovely swing on the private porch. The neighborhood is very friendly and accessible to a bus route for all of downtown Raleigh. Don't think you could ask for more:)

Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank sgaltel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Raleigh hotels
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Raleigh Downtown
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Raleigh Downtown
0.9 mi away
Raleigh Marriott City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Sheraton Raleigh Hotel
Sheraton Raleigh Hotel
#42 of 85 in Raleigh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
1.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Raleigh - Brownstone - University
1.7 mi away
Aloft Raleigh
Aloft Raleigh
#28 of 85 in Raleigh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oakwood Inn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oakwood Inn Bed and Breakfast

Property: Oakwood Inn Bed and Breakfast
Address: 411 N. Bloodworth St., Raleigh, NC 27604-1223
Location: United States > North Carolina > Raleigh
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Raleigh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing