We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautiful retreat”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Raleigh
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Oakwood Inn Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 4 Raleigh B&B and Inns
Charlotte NC
Level Contributor
134 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“A beautiful retreat”
Reviewed May 15, 2014

We stayed in the Polk Room for a few evenings while on business in Raleigh. It is, as is the entire house, decorated with antique furniture and accessories. What a beautiful claw footed tub too! This room had a private porch overlooking the landscaping in the front of the Inn. We also sat in the back among the pretty flowers, birds, and huge trees. The neighborhood is charming and historic. We walked to the legislative building and am awesome Austrian restaurant. Doris furnished the Inn beautifully and it was lovely to get to know her (and her adorable little grandson). We loved the breakfasts, fresh fruit, home grown mint and the fancy egg entrée. We highly recommend this bed and breakfast and the neighborhood. Take the time to walk around the neighborhood with the map describing the homes.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 82Natalie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OakwoodRaleigh, Owner at Oakwood Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, June 29, 2014
Thank you so much. I really appreciate your kind words and Charlie loved that he got a review mention.

Doris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    22
    7
    0
    2
See reviews for
7
48
8
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed May 4, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Oakwood Inn this past week and had what I'd honestly say was the best BnB stay we've ever experienced! Doris & Gary are truly charming hosts, their breakfasts are nothing short of spectacular (and we are picky!) and the Inn is so tastefully decorated one feels as if you're living in royalty. Chatting with Doris and Gary was fun and engaging and evenings on their beautiful porch quickly became a splendid focal point of our stay. This is the go-to place for Raleigh, no doubt about that, we'll be back! Mike M, May '14.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank mgmoran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OakwoodRaleigh, Owner at Oakwood Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, June 29, 2014
I am so humbled. You have truly made my day. Thank you for staying at the Oakwood Inn and for your kind words.

Doris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Level Contributor
50 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2014

My husband and I, along with friends, have stayed at this B&B at least four times over the past several years. The inn keepers, Doris and Gary, are both very friendly and accomodating. The house is beautiful and inviting and the historic neighborhood is really fabulous with mature trees, birds and great homes and streets to walk down. They are within walking distance of downtown as well as several restaurants and great beer bars nearby. The house itself is well maintained and comfortable - both inside and out. There is ample parking in the back of the house as well as street parking (on weekends).

We stayed in the Lane room during our most recent visit. The bed was very comfortable and the room was clean and inviting. The only complaint I have was that the shower situation was a bit uncomfortable. There is a clawfoot tub in the room (which I can appreciate for its addition to the ambiance) with a shower curtain fully surrounding the tub. It was a bit tight in there and could cause some issues for people who might be claustrophobic.

Breakfasts were delicious and complete with coffee, tea, juice and fresh fruit. As other reviewers mentioned, there are fresh baked cookies every day and a small room with a fridge, water, etc. for guests. It was very nice to sit out on the porch with a cup of coffee after breakfast and plan the day.

Overall, I would definitely recommend the Oakwood Inn and will be staying here again in the future I'm sure.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thumper1223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 26, 2014

Had a wonderful experience here. Price was very reasonable. We loved the house and felt very much at home. Met great people at breakfast which was delicious and very unique. The location couldbt have been more perfect. Will definitely visit again!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MCPENNINGTON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 20, 2014

We stayed 2 nights in the Pell room and loved it. It had a little private balcony, fireplace and charming character. Breakfast was delicious and the hospitality was wonderful. We were running late for our check-in yet we were met at the door with a nice warm welcome. The bed was comfortable and the bedding was luxurious.

Room Tip: My only caveats to a couple deciding on a room at this inn has to do with the tub and TV. This parti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ColleenNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
Reviewed January 12, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here last night. It was a beautiful charming place. We needed to be in downtown Raleigh for a Winter Ball and this w as a charming relaxing place to stay. The house is in the National Historic Registry. The host's Alvin and Angela welcomed us warmly and graciously. They were so kind to get us settled and oriented. The rooms were comfortably appointed in time pieces that really make you appreciate history. The decor and grounds were really kept up nicely even in the dead of winter. Angela made a wonderful breakfast that started our morning on a high note. They along with their son gave us a warm feeling that sometimes is lost in the hospitality industry. Thanks again for everything and if we get a chance to need to stay in Raleigh again we will come back. No more big box hotel for us. The Oakwood area surrounding the house is so wonderful and if you appreciate architecture this is where you want to stay.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank ruthibyers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OakwoodRaleigh, Owner at Oakwood Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
I am so happy that you are happy! Angela and Alvin are a great asset at the Oakwood Inn. I appreciate your business and hope you get a chance to come and visit again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2014

My wife and I booked a quick getaway to celebrate our wedding anniversary in Raleigh, a city we hadn't yet visited since moving to NC 3 years ago. We always stay in B&B's but the selection in Raleigh was lacking. When we arrived (8 pm on a Friday evening), the inn keepers seemed perturbed even though we had called ahead and warned them we were running late due to traffic. There were issues with their credit card system, so they would only accept cash or check! We settled into our room (The Polk Room) which was very nice and had antique bathroom fixtures, comfy king bed and a little front porch. Breakfast was delicious the next morning and we enjoyed the company of the other guests (family from Europe visiting their son at NC State). However, the hospitality from the inn keepers was lacking - almost as if they were just going through the motions. For the money, I'd probably just spend my money at a nice hotel in downtown Raleigh!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TaylorAllison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OakwoodRaleigh, Owner at Oakwood Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
There was an Interim Innkeeper at the Inn when you stayed in August. I apologize that you feel the hospitality was lacking and would like to assure that is not the way we run our business. In regard to the credit card problem, we had explained in our confirmation that there was an issue and it really took close to three weeks to resolve. Thank you for staying at the Oakwood Inn and I sincerely hope you give us another chance in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Raleigh hotels
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Raleigh Downtown
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Raleigh Downtown
0.9 mi away
Raleigh Marriott City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Sheraton Raleigh Hotel
Sheraton Raleigh Hotel
#41 of 86 in Raleigh
67 reviews
1.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Raleigh - Brownstone - University
1.7 mi away
Aloft Raleigh
Aloft Raleigh
#25 of 86 in Raleigh
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oakwood Inn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oakwood Inn Bed and Breakfast

Property: Oakwood Inn Bed and Breakfast
Address: 411 N. Bloodworth St., Raleigh, NC 27604-1223
Location: United States > North Carolina > Raleigh
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Raleigh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing