We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One night in Raleigh....”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Raleigh
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Oakwood Inn Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 4 Raleigh B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 6, 2011

We had an early Saturday morning meeting in Raleigh and decided to stay in a B & B. We found Oakwood on the Bed and Breakfast website, liked the info and pictures and booked effortlessly on the Oakwood website. Doris accomodated our friends with setting up a restaurant for dinner and even had a printed 'invitation' for our dinner reservation when we arrived. She gave us simple directions to the restaurant. Our room was very nice and the bathroom was spotless. Breakfast was served promptly and was a gourmet experience. We would be back again. Mr. Mrs. C, Concord, NC

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Loretta C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (90)
There are newer reviews for Oakwood Inn Bed and Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

41 - 47 of 90 reviews

Reviewed August 2, 2011

We stay in B&Bs often. Rather than stay at a resort where our friends were getting married, we selected the Oakwood Inn. We had a room on the first floor that included a bathroom, windows on 3 sides, and a wonderful porch with a swing for early morning coffee and reading. Loved the porch, loved the historical atmosphere of the Inn, the inn keepers were friendly without being intrusive. Breakfasts were delicious. I would return to the Inn if I ever get back to Raleigh. It is also close enough to downtown that you can walk. The inn keepers were very helpful with directing us to good BBQ and other dining options.

Room Tip: Personally I would again ask for the first floor room so that you get the porch that is private to t...
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joseph F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2011

The Inn is in walking distance to downtown Raleigh - many shops, restaurants and museums. It is a lovely home in a historic neighborhood full of other restored homes and well-cared for gardens. My guestroom was spacious, comfortable, nicely furnished with antiques. There was a new TV which you don't often get in B&Bs and wireless which was great. Nice touches - great bath towels & soaps. Binder in room full of good area info - pretty up-to-date. Breakfast was delicious. The hosts are busy people so they don't overwhelm you - and while they aren't always available they are accessible by telephone numbers provided. Great front porch for reading and napping!

Room Tip: Pell and Lane rooms are in the back of the house.
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MuseumMom57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2011

We were a bit doubtful driving through miles of declining neighborhoods on our way to the Inn, but pleasantly surprised once we arrived. The Inn, one of the oldest in Raleigh, is in the historic Oakwood district and run by a very nice couple. We were the only guests but had a warm welcome and a nice room with a comfortable king bed. The hostess, Dora, recommended the 18 Seaboard restaurant and we were not disappointed in the Southern/New American style of the chef, who greeted everyone upon entering--try the cracklin' pork shank and cheddar grits. Breakfast was one of the best we have ever had at a B&B--fresh fruit, shirred eggs and toast.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dla911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2010

It would be hard to find anything even slightly negative to say about our stay. Everything was exactly perfect. The inn is in Oakwood, a beautiful, charming, and friendly historic neighborhood that is a 5-minute walk from downtown Raleigh. Many of the houses in Oakwood are on the National Register of Historic Places -- and in fact the inn is one of those. Furnishing and decor are opulent. Our room was large, with plenty of room for a king bed, two reading chairs, and a cozy gas stove. The bathroom was amazing, featuring a two-person walk-in shower with glass door. Breakfasts were ample and delicious, and the community-style seating encouraged conversation (which is after all one of the reasons why people stay at B&Bs instead of hotels). Every imaginable touch was provided; my favorite was the little alcove containing a spring water bubbler (hot, room-temp, and cold), glasses, corkscrews, and a fridge full of soda. The innkeeper is very organized and conscientious, as well as welcoming and friendly. What's not to love?

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ZuDenSternen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2010

Visited Raleigh for 5 days in October 2010. Chose Oakwood Inn instead of downtown hotels. Saved money doing so while enjoying our stay in a beautiful "historic" neighborhood that is very close to the scant attractions and restaurants that downtown has to offer.

The house itself is very cozy and well-kept. The Polk Room downstairs was comfortable with a bed that is almost ridiculously high above the floor, ample closet and drawer space, a large desk and a private porch. The bathroom was large with good water pressure and hot water. The green couch at the edge of the bed has seen better days -- you can feel the springs busting through it. But everything else was comfortable. It had high ceilings. No a/c so beware of hot seasons. Ironing board, iron and floor fan supplied. TV is old-style 4:3 ratio. WiFi worked well. (The Linden Room across the hall has a more modern, stunning bathroom and more light, but the room is smaller.)

Breakfast represented much effort but was not personally appealing to us. Cookies thoughtfully baked and restocked daily in the drawing room although they were sugar-laden. Innkeeper Gary was very friendly and loquacious. Plenty of parking in the rear. A pleasant stay and great alternative to hotels.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mylesfire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2010

Gary is very helpful and provides great service, Doris not so much. Poor on returning phone calls. The bathroom was very modern and nice. The date night is worth the money. Breakfast and cookies were very good. Fridge could be stocked better, more variety, milk ran out & was never replaced, bottled water for excursions would be nice. I was there a few days and saw 3 - 4 cockroaches (how many did we not see), hopefully they are getting it under control. Overall the place could be a little cleaner.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank boxerzoie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OakwoodRaleigh, Owner at Oakwood Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2010

As Innkeepers it is always hard to hear a complaint but we try to think of it as a gift because it helps us better serve our guests. We could have certainly dealt with these issues if the guest had expressed their concerns while staying with us rather than choosing this approach.

We were especially concerned about the implied cockroach issue.   Our approach to insect control is proactive and we pay for monthly service and we contacted our company after reading this review and received this explanation:

The activity of the Pennsylvania wood roach has increased mainly due to the hot and dry weather conditions that we have been experiencing.  This is a flying insect that harbors in the outdoors, rarely nests inside buildings, and is attracted to light. These are not the small german roaches that infest the interior of properties that so many people are familiar with.  In fact at times ground beetles are incorrectly identified by individuals as roaches as well.

It is our goal to provide our guests with a little extra but it is impossible to please everyone. We stock the fridge with juice and a variety of soda and provide home baked cookies as well as purchased snacks with no extra charge. Guests have asked for more of something or things we haven’t provided and we have taken care of them. 

The Oakwood Inn strives to be environmentally responsible. Plastic bottles are not good for the environment. We do provide bulk Spring Water and guests can fill their personal water containers to take with them.

If someone has a complaint or concern, we are always open to listen and try to correct the problem.  The point is that we need to be asked or told and then we can take steps to correct the situation while the guests are still here.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Raleigh hotels
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Raleigh Downtown
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Raleigh Downtown
0.9 mi away
Raleigh Marriott City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Sheraton Raleigh Hotel
Sheraton Raleigh Hotel
#32 of 86 in Raleigh
103 reviews
1.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Raleigh - Brownstone - University
1.0 mi away
Residence Inn Raleigh Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oakwood Inn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oakwood Inn Bed and Breakfast

Address: 411 N. Bloodworth St., Raleigh, NC 27604-1223
Location: United States > North Carolina > Raleigh
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Raleigh
Price Range: $125 - $165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing