We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BED BUGS! Do not stay here!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Days Inn Raleigh Glenwood-Crabtree
Ranked #67 of 86 Hotels in Raleigh
Richmond, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“BED BUGS! Do not stay here!!”
Reviewed May 5, 2010

Bed bugs when I woke up at 3 a.m. the 2nd night I stayed there crawling on bed next to me and on the walls. I had planned to stay 2 more nights...needless to say I checked out the next morning and booked a much better value online.

the desk chair was broken and I tipped over in it using the laptop which could have resulted in permanet injury.

When I checked out of this dumpy hotel that hasn't been renovated in over 30 yrs - it appears - I presented them with a dead bed bug at the front desk. They didn't offer to accomodate me in the least with a refund or adjustment. Do not stay here!!

They charge more if you walk in that much nicer and newer hotels if you book online. This hotel is a disgrace!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wmmricva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Days Inn Raleigh Glenwood-Crabtree, responded to this review, March 23, 2011
We are so sorry to hear that you found Bed Bugs in your Room. As you know lately bed Bugs are becoming a major concern in Travel industry and they are all over. We do regular pest control and have service contract with national pest control company to do routine pest control. Mostly Bed Bugs travel through guest like you from places to places and brings them from one hotel to another. Once if we do find any Bed Bugs in our Room then we immediately put the room out of order, through away the mattress and do proper treatment with pest control company and keep room out of order fo at least 6 months, ongoing inspect the room and once no evidance found then place new mattress and bring the room back to order. I am not sure that why you think that we haven't done any renovation in 30 years as any hotel would not last 30 years without a renovation. Anyway, we have done full renovation recently with all new furniture, new carpet, new paint, fixtures and much more. We are Five Sunburst Chairman's Award property since we became Days Inn for over last 3 year's, which we have earned and does not come just like that. Again, please accept our apology.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    35
    48
    50
    77
See reviews for
71
41
48
72
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2008

1. Spiders were in my bed. MULTIPLE BLACK SPIDERS.
2. There was a hole in the couch of the room.
3. The tub did NOT drain after I showered. <-- HEALTH CONCERN
4. There were mosquitoes everywhere (okay, this is understandable, as it was in August)
5. Half of the lamps in my room did NOT work.
6. To get on the internet, YOU WILL NEED AN ETHERNET CABLE.
THERE IS NO "WIRELESS" INTERNET.

and worst of all...

5. The staff and manager were UNWILLING to help when I wanted to change rooms.

Waste of time and money. AVOID AT ALL COSTS.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank chioma786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Days_Inn-Raleigh, Guest Relations Manager at Days Inn Raleigh Glenwood-Crabtree, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Dear Guest, we are so sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your stay. We are trying our level best to keep improving our property and do ongoing upgrades. We have recently changed vanity light fixtures as well changed new energy savings spiral bulbs. We have also installed new 37" flat screen HD TVs in all room as wel working on to have Wi-Fi along with our current hard wired high-speed internet. We appreciate your feedback and comments and hope that you will return soon to give us another opportunity to serve you in near future. Thank You.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed April 1, 2006

I had to stay in Raleigh on business and looked for an inexpensive hotel. I found this place online and it wasn't what I expected. The website stated they had wireless internet, microwaves, and refrigerators in the rooms. Mine had none of that. Turns out they do have high speed internet, but you have to plug in to it and I didn't bring a wire. The room seemed to have been recently updated with a marble countertop in the bathroom area. Also seemed like new paint. But the carpet was just nasty. I do smoke and got a smoking room. However, there was zero ventilation and after 2 cigarettes, the place was filled with smoke that wouldn't go anywhere. The one thing that really turned me off was the used condom lying outside my room in the plant bed. I had to step over it when I checked in. It was still there when I left. I didn't really have a bad time or anything, its just that the place wasn't nearly as nice as the website made it seem. I wouldn't want to stay more than 1 night, but for the price (like $48), it was worth it.

  • Stayed February 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Days_Inn-Raleigh, Manager at Days Inn Raleigh Glenwood-Crabtree, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Dear Guest, We appreciate your comments and feedback. As our Web Site stated, we have hard Wired High Speed Internet in our Rooms and Lobby/Breakfast Area has Wi-Fi as well. For Although we are working towards providing Wi-Fi, Government Employees are required to use hard wired and secure internet connections and it's more faster then wi-fi. We do haev Microwave, Refrigerator, Coffee maker, hair dryer, iron in all of our rooms. As you stated, we are reasonable and best accomodation motel for budget minded guest like you. We are certainly not a five star Hotel, where you pay for Internet, breakfast and even parking sometimes. We are centrally located and reasonablly priced motel with clean and comfortable rooms along with all the amenitied. I hope you will give us another opportunity to better serve you in near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed July 20, 2005

I stayed at this hotel about 3 years ago, a very pleasent stay, continental breakfest was good, rooms very clean, hotel staff was quite helpfull, hotel was located near large shopping centre and bus stop for city bus going to downtown Raleigh. I would recomend this hotel. rates were reasonalbe.

  • Stayed April 2003, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Days_Inn-Raleigh, General Manager at Days Inn Raleigh Glenwood-Crabtree, responded to this review, May 26, 2013
Dear Guest, we greatly appreciate your comment about the service at our Days Inn and about the location as well comments for our Continental Breakfast. Guest like you gives us motivation and an opportunity to work harder to provide best customer service and please each of the guest at our location. I am glad to hear that you mentioned about the Local City Bus station across the street at Wal-Mart parking lot and that our Rates are Reasonable as well. We look forward to serve you in near future and many more guest like you. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed May 13, 2005

If you are looking to get a good nights sleep, eat your "free" breakfast in the morning or even get some clean towels, I suggest you sleep elsewhere. From there LOUD housekeeping staff walking around at 7am screaming to each other from room to room as they are working, to their staff eating all of the free breakfast items before breakfast hours even begin, to just plain old not having any milk for an entire week to go with their cereal. You can beg and plead with the staff to try and get some clean towels, but no matter what you try, they tell you they will bring them to you (even if you try to pick them up yourself), however you will never see them. The only time we saw clean towels was when we went across the street to walmart and bought some. The rooms are clean, the staff is very nice...loud, but nice...and they always give you a smile...even when they have no intention of doing what you've asked.

Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Days_Inn-Raleigh, Front Office Manager at Days Inn Raleigh Glenwood-Crabtree, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Dear Guest, we appreciate your comments and feedback. We are sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your stay, please accept our apology. We have improved our breakfast with new Days Inn standards now and we always put required amount of towels in each room depending on room type. We are glad to hear that you were pleased and happy with our staff, who are nice and helping. Thank You.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed May 31, 2003

The front desk was very friendly, and gave me a discount on the jacuzzi suite since it was me and my wifes 22nd wedding anniversary. They even brought breakfast to my room, which was great. I highly recommend staying at this hotel if you are in the raleigh area.

Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Days_Inn-Raleigh, Owner at Days Inn Raleigh Glenwood-Crabtree, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
I would like to take this opportunity to Thank You for the Excellent review and feedback for our property. I would also like to Congratulate you on your upcoming 32nd Anniversary. I hope you would give us an opportunity to serve you on your 32nd Anniversary. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Raleigh hotels
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Crabtree Valley
1.2 mi away
Extended Stay America - Raleigh - Crabtree Valley
0.7 mi away
Super 8 Raleigh
Super 8 Raleigh
#59 of 86 in Raleigh
195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Days Inn Raleigh Beltline
Days Inn Raleigh Beltline
#61 of 86 in Raleigh
575 reviews
2.4 mi away
Candlewood Suites Raleigh - Crabtree
6.9 mi away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites
#55 of 86 in Raleigh
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Raleigh Glenwood-Crabtree? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Raleigh Glenwood-Crabtree

Property: Days Inn Raleigh Glenwood-Crabtree
Address: 6619 Glenwood Ave, Raleigh, NC 27612-7129
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Raleigh
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #67 of 86 Hotels in Raleigh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn Raleigh Glenwood-Crabtree 2*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
CURRENTLY UNDERGOING RENOVATIONS. 37" Flat Screen HD TV with over 70 Cable Channel including few HBO Channels. Free Wi-Fi as well hard wired high speed Internet. All Rooms come with Microwave, Refrigerator, Coffee Maker, Hair Dryer, Iron, Alarm clock. Free Continental Breakfast included with daily rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Days Inn Raleigh Glenwood-Crabtree reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn-Raleigh-Glenwood Crabtree Hotel Raleigh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing