We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great French Food and Service”

Saint Jacques French Cuisine
Reserve with OpenTable
Saint Jacques French Cuisine is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #16 of 1,455 Restaurants in Raleigh
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $29 - $45
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Spring Forest
Description: Saint Jacques French Cuisine is a traditional French restaurant located in North Raleigh. We serve authentic food with a respect for century old recipes, recreated for the taste of today. French Native Serge Falcoz-Vigne is the Chef with 30+ years of experience in the hospitality business in both France and in North Carolina. Also as a General Manager of the restaurant, he can provide to the guest a total experience from the kitchen to the floor with renowned French food and service.
North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great French Food and Service”
Reviewed January 31, 2014

Lil and Lori Lacassagne provide the best of France -- and it's located in North Raleigh.

We had really fine food and wine (French of course) with great service.

If a trip to Paris or the south of France is not feasible, just go to this jewel in North Raleigh.

If you are ready to go to France, Lil and Lori have several trip each year--all centered around great restaurants. Yes, we are members of the fan club!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank logisticsman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    265
    35
    13
    9
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“ABSOLUTELY Number One! ”
Reviewed January 25, 2014 via mobile

We visited for our first time on a Friday evening. Immediately we were treated like we were special guests, not just regular patrons. The service here is impeccable; warm, friendly, always available, but not in the least overbearing.
We started with the mussels and they were reminiscent of some I ate in Paris. Light garlic wine/ cream sauce, and perfectly cooked. I chose the duck medallions and my husband had the scallops. Both were expertly prepared, beautifully presented and absolutely yummy. They serve a taste of sorbet between courses, which was a nice bonus. We will definitely return here and highly recommend it for a wonderful, pampered evening of fine dining.

Helpful?
Thank bonniegal57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Wonderful food and service”
Reviewed January 12, 2014

Four of us had lunch at Saint Jacques last week on the coldest day in many years. Unfortunately the dining room, which had been closed the two previous days, was still cold enough that we had to wear our jackets. Part of this may be due to the fact that the front of the restaurant is all windows. If it is very cold, you might want to request a table in the rear. I am sure this is not a usual problem and the place probably warmed up by dinner.
Service is impeccable. I do wonder why they continue to set tables with white napkins in the winter since they immediately replace them if you are wearing a dark skirt or dark slacks. The waiter was readily available and quietly replenished water glasses and hot water for tea but was never intrusive. We visited for quite a while with lunch but were never made to feel we were being rushed.
Each of us ate something different---onion soup, quiche Lorraine, omelet, chicken catalan, and each of us was delighted with the choice. I had a difficult time deciding what to have because there were so many tantalizing offerings on the lunch menu. You do not need a reservation at lunch but you absolutely do at dinner. Lunch prices seem reasonable given the quality of the food and service. I, for one, can't wait to return.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Smith58z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Wonderfully delicious food and service for lunch”
Reviewed January 11, 2014

Wow! The food and service at lunch was perfect. The crepe was so thin, practically non-existent, but it held up perfectly to encase delicate chunks of chicken and flavorful mushrooms in a light sauce. Nothing heavy about this dish--just heavenly tastes! And I'm not usually a crepe fan. The creme brulee for dessert was creamy and lightly sweetened with a crispy top. Decaf coffee was excellent; the server kept my cup filled with hot coffee throughout the meal. The atmosphere with white table clothes is formal but not stuffy--not what you'd expect in a strip mall.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank LadyEarl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous”
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Spent New Year's Eve here. The restaurant was full, but not overbooked, and the sound was subdued enough that you could hear your table mates talk. The dinner was four courses, prix fixe. The food was wonderful. I had salmon stuffed with seafood mousse as my main course and loved it. My friend had the chicken which she loved as well. Portions were reasonable and service was very good. One of my favorite New Year's Eves ever! A great restaurant for special occasions, but, beware, it is pricey.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cdh46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Saint Jacques French Cuisine also viewed

 

Been to Saint Jacques French Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing