We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New, hot restaurant - and all that implies”
Review of Stanbury

Stanbury
Ranked #59 of 1,446 Restaurants in Raleigh
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“New, hot restaurant - and all that implies”
Reviewed March 5, 2014

Food here is great. Innovative and beautifully prepared. We've visited twice and enjoyed it. However, with the crowd in the restaurant, they really don't need to have a piped in radio station blaring as well, making conversation a challenge. Also, on our second visit my confirmed reservation for seating on the patio was not honored. I was told the empty table was being held for a 5:00 reservation. When I pointed out that it was now 6:30 and the table was still empty, I was assured the 5:00 folks would be there "shortly." We were shown a table in the back.... We'll probably give this place another try because the food is that great but there are drawbacks.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank traveller49463
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    24
    10
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Apex, North Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Unique Flavors Flawlessly Executed”
Reviewed February 21, 2014

Located in a beaten-down neighborhood, the restaurant was chic and refined but tiny. The food is very original and inventive. The crispy pig head was great with a sous-vide egg but lentils needed more acidity. The ribeye steak was cooked perfect medium rare and the sauce was superb. Possibly best restaurant foodwise??

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank eyegourmand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
47 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Amazing atmosphere and food!”
Reviewed February 16, 2014 via mobile

So relaxed and down-to-earth place with a great staff!! The food is simple and innovative and out of this world! Great quality with attention to detail...we will be back for sure!

Helpful?
Thank anderssonmail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlborough, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
238 reviews
158 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Great Food”
Reviewed February 10, 2014

We had dinner here for the first time Saturday night. The food is excellent! We decided to focus on the small plates, and can definitely recommend the beet salad, the crispy pig head (a fried pulled pork patty topped with a egg cooked sous-vide) and the lamb chop. The banana cake for dessert was also very tasty. Nice (and eclectic) wines by the glass. It's very casual and loud, but the food is the focus, and it's amazing.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank glftrvl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“DELICIOUS”
Reviewed January 26, 2014

We ate here for the first time to celebrate a birthday. It was the best ribeye I have ever had, we raved about it so much so the second time we visited, everyone at the table got the ribeye. I recommend making reservations, getting their early, getting a cocktail at the bar, and just enjoy the atmosphere, while you wait for your table.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Meatball20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stanbury also viewed

 

Been to Stanbury? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing