We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Historic BBQ, good prices” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cooper's Barbecue & Catering

Cooper's Barbecue & Catering
Ranked #174 of 1,439 Restaurants in Raleigh
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
476 reviews
321 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
“Historic BBQ, good prices”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012

Coopers has been in downtown Raleigh since 1938 serving the same food. This place is famous for their pork BBQ but equally good and better for you is the Chopped Chicken barbeque which is really delicious. They actually offer some vegetables that are somewhat healthy. The decor is the same as it always has been but could stand some renovation. For example some of the counter stools have been replaced by wooden stools that aren't the same thing.

Couple hints for folks outside Raleigh. You have to pay to park in downtown there is no free parking. If you are staying at the two main downtown hotels, it is a very easy walk. Second, they only accept cash. However if you are visiting Raleigh and want to try some of North Carolina's finest BBQ this is the place to go. Prices are VERY LOW.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Don N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    48
    26
    9
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Conway
Level Contributor
24 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“If you are in Raleigh.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2012 via mobile

If you like vinegar based bbq this may be for you. Friendly, fast and cash only so count your change. This is not the place to drive to for dinner but, if you happen to be on Davie Street is worth a stop. Only metered parking along the block so you will need some change.

    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank adventurebikemike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
191 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 270 helpful votes
“Authentic BBQ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

Plain and simple....BBQ and fried chicken. Delicious and reasonably priced. Home cooking and nothing fancy but you will be glad to come on a family-cooked meal.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Theroadwarrior12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“BBQ gem in whole in wall”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

Lunch and early evening place for locals to visiting rock bands. The BBQ sandwich is probably the prize and or a tee shirt. Food is out in literally minutes. Bring case and pay at the counter. Closes at 6pm so order and take with if you can get there in time.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank AvidTRAVELOR78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, NC
Level Contributor
144 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Didn't live up to the reputation for me.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012

I have a neighbor from when I grew up in PA that makes a point to visit Cooper's whenever she comes south of the Mason-Dixon line, so I was excited to try it out. Having lived in the Triangle area for about 14 years, it seemed I was due. I have obviously been to a number of other BBQ places in the area since moving here and after visiting Cooper's, there are several others I would choose first.
The three of us in my party all ordered the BBQ Sandwich Basket with Sweet Tea. The Sweet Tea was as it should be, sickeningly sweet, so that was a good thing. The BBQ itself was tender, but just didn't have a ton of flavor. Honestly, I'd prefer to go to Smithfield's over Cooper's (don't get me wrong, I love Smithfield's, I just expected a legend to out-perform a large, fast-foodish chain).
The other turnoff, which I noticed on the way out was the 90 health rating. Just squeaking by with a barely A is honestly unacceptable. I didn't look at the Wake County website to see why they got such a low rating, but regardless, ANY restaurant with caring employees should be able to maintain a 95 or better.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Michael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cooper's Barbecue & Catering also viewed

 

Been to Cooper's Barbecue & Catering? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing