We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cute Concept”
Review of Char-Grill

Char-Grill
Ranked #86 of 1,455 Restaurants in Raleigh
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Cute Concept”
Reviewed September 23, 2012

I like the originality of this place is why I give it a 4, the food is probably average like a 3 but it's fun.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Chattacat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    37
    6
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great Burgers”
Reviewed September 22, 2012

Burgers are great - fixed just the way you want them. Service is fast. Beats other fast food burgers hands down.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jess M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garner, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Char-Grill a Raleigh Institution”
Reviewed September 15, 2012

If you have spent any time at NCSU you probably had a Char-Grill burger. There is no one in Raleigh that does burgers better. The turn the water pink hot dogs are great as well. Their fried apple pies are fabulous as well.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank parrib1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
“Best drive-in”
Reviewed August 19, 2012

Every time I visit the area, I go here for burgers and fries. Many other burger places have opened up in Raleigh, but this is still the very best. All the food is excellent. I always order their chili cheesburgers and fries. The local experience is great. For newcomers, there could be some confusion. You write your own order on a ticket and put it down a shute. If you don't know to do this, you could be waiting a long time! No worries -- if you go to the pick-up window, they'll take your order there. Make sure you know your number because they call out the orders by number when they're ready. Don't bother ordering the milk shake. It tastes like ice milk. Besides that, everything is great. I even like their brownies!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Samson R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas NV
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great burgers”
Reviewed August 9, 2012

The flavor of the burgers is great. I personally get mine with bacon on
top If there is a drawback it is that there is no interior dining. You can use the outside tables or eat in your car.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank LasVegasfemale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Char-Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing