We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bland food and Stomach trouble for days”
Review of NOFO Cafe

NOFO Cafe
Ranked #84 of 1,451 Restaurants in Raleigh
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Oxford, North Carolina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Bland food and Stomach trouble for days”
Reviewed March 12, 2013

We were looking forward to a good dinner at NOFO cafe, as we have read great things about it and good reviews. My husband and I went for dinner last Friday night and were highly disappointed. To start, the atmosphere was great and all looked good, clean, nice ambiance. We were seated next to the door of the kitchen but didnt let that bother us. I was planning on the shrimp burger since I read it was actually made in house and was not just shrimp on a bun, but was an actual ground patty. So when I ordered it at 7:30 on Friday night, I did not expect for the to be "out" of a main menu dish, not a special. Instead, I adjusted quickly to order the scallop appetizer as my main course along with creamed cauliflower. The scallops were in fact cooked perfectly, and are my favorite seafood. A little small on the portion (three, and on the smaller side for scallops) but they were local from NC and that was appreciated. The creamed cauliflower was HORRIBLE. It was extremely bland, not tasting fresh or flavorful, and basically was cauliflower sitting in a bowl of cream that did not taste cooked. My husband has the shrimp and grits. We cook a lot and have made much better shrimp and grits. They had no sauce or rue and just didnt have much flavor either. In fact, it is the same Crooks Corner recipe that we use, but theirs just wasnt worth the $, and wasnt good. We got the sweet potato fries as an app and they did taste pretty darn good. The rolls were sweet and were a highlight sadly. The worst part was 5 minutes after we left, making a immediate pit stop at a gas station as we could not make it another 5 minutes to our destination before stopping. Horrible stomach pains and nausea continued after that. My body still was not recovered the next day. We have never experienced this before and eat out plenty. Will not be going back, but if you choose too, be careful what you eat (only thing we both ate was the fries) and go for the local scallops.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Liz Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    42
    14
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Retro all around”
Reviewed February 2, 2013 via mobile

Couldn't believe they could put a hip cafe in an old Piggly Wiggly but it totally works!

Loved it all - from the old timey candy selection in their store upstairs ( a def must see) to their wide selection of new south cuisine to the hipster decor all around.

Would've given all 5stars except I thought it was a slightly overpriced meal. But if you're paying for a unique dining experience it was so worth it!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank AmieWoods
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goldsboro, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Yummy!”
Reviewed January 29, 2013

We have been here for brunch several times. And, we LOVE it. Their french toast is delicious and the pork hash is to die for! Also, they have a nice selection of fresh and tasty salads that are served with a biscuit on the side. We love the shop upstairs and never leave empty handed. They have a great selection of unique gift items as well as some kitchen and food items. Also, a wonderful selection of retro-ish candy! The service is great and the atmosphere is casual and cool. Very fun place to dine. Highly recommend it!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Charla S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Formerly a Piggly Wiggly”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Love this eclectic restaurant/shop especially as a go-to place to meet the girls for a nice lunch. Food is always fresh and tasty. Great service and central location. Upstairs shop is a must. So many cute, quirky items. Fabulous gift ideas for all. Look forward to my next visit here!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank miamigirl125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
179 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Great local food and pairings”
Reviewed January 16, 2013 via mobile

Visited Nofo recently with a Groupon and was reminded just how great this place is. Hard to choose from many great dinner offerings. I had the special: pork tenderloin stuffed with goat cheese and spinach, over leek mashed potatoes, with Dijon braised Brussels sprouts! Yum! Good service and reasonable prices for the quality. Gift shop upstairs. You'd never know the space was once a Piggly Wiggly grocery store! Only negative: beer in bottles only; no drafts.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Nhampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed NOFO Cafe also viewed

 

Been to NOFO Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing