We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Terrific food, fun restaurant, personalized service” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dos Taquitos Mexican Restaurant

Dos Taquitos Mexican Restaurant
Ranked #189 of 1,439 Restaurants in Raleigh
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Terrific food, fun restaurant, personalized service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

We were in the area from out of town. The manager gave us personalized service, was very friendly, and the service was great. The food was terrific, as were the margaritas... The patio was perfect... even in a rainstorm.

We'll be back

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LSE587
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    45
    12
    10
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
United States
Level Contributor
441 reviews
362 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 237 helpful votes
“3 of 4 stars (good, casual dining).”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

(see explanation of ratings below)

Funky, cluttered, dark interior. Patio may be a better choice to sit (depending on the weather).

Great Margarita. Salty lamb biria. Chili relleno was too bitter.

They changed our favorite soup! Different owners? Different chef?

Same friendly wait staff.

Usually, this place is very busy. Be prepared for a wait at peak times.

About my ratings:

Only high-priced dining establishments can garner five stars. Until TripAdvisor realizes that a fast food joint cannot possibly be ranked equally with a $100 per person place, I need to draw the line somewhere. If we were only talking about the quality and presentation of the food, it would be a different story. But, as we know, TripAdvisor's rankings take into account the entire dining experience.

Therefore, I divide restaurants into three categories (and I wish TripAdvisor would do the same):

1) fast food and "fast-casual", low-priced (no table service).

2) casual, mid-priced dining (table service, average entrée price: $10-$20).

3) fine, high-priced dining (linen napkins, no plastic cups, no TV's in dining room, average entrée priced at more than $20, can vary depending on the city).

High-priced dining can earn a max of five stars. Mid-priced dining can earn a max of four stars. Fast food can earn a max of three stars.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank HomoQuiScitOmnia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntersville
Level Contributor
303 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
“Overpriced and a Disappointment”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

First the margaritas were overpriced and tasted like a cheap mix you make at home. The food was overcooked and cold when you get it. The refried beans were watery and the rice the cheap stuff you make at home. I spent $70 on food I would normally spend half that on. This is about the worst excuse for a Mexican restaurant I have ever been too. Save yourself money and time and go to On the Border. As bad as that place is at least you don't get ripped off when you get lousy food.
On top of it all parking was hard, location lousy and service a challenge.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Latta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
82 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Good menu”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

I met some friends here for a birthday dinner and had the Lamb Birria. It was excellent except that the spices were mixed with the tortilla in mind. Since I don't eat wheat, the spices stood alone. This made them a bit strong. I ordered no rice, add veggies and got a nice mix of grilled zucchini, mushroom, yellow squash. I also added a side of guacamole and it was definitely worth the two extra dollars because the fat in it helped balance the spices. DH had beef asada with veggies and he declared it a win. We'd eat here again but would not sit under the speaker...ears still ringing. Also, it was a bit too dark inside so we ate on the porch which was a bit too warm.

I thought the wait staff was a bit slow but friendly and cordial (which makes up for a lot).

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 2Whitakers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fun place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013

If you are looking for a decorative fun dining with good food and service with local entertainers making your night enjoyable than this is for you . Raleigh boasts happy people wanting you to have a great time . I enjoyed the company and my meal which was the chicken Fagrilittas . Have enjoyed our dining experience that the Southerners boast their cuisine....Well done and wish we had more time to sample more ..expect to wait a little as this is a popular venue,worth your wait if your haven't made a booking .

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank OutnAboutwithMe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dos Taquitos Mexican Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Dos Taquitos Mexican Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing