We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not your every week Mexican place -”

Dos Taquitos Mexican Restaurant
Ranked #197 of 1,444 Restaurants in Raleigh
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Shallotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
64 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Not your every week Mexican place -”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2012

because of a couple of reasons, chiefly ...
1. Food and drink is just too dang good, most other places will just leave you that much more disappointed.
2. A bit expensive for a family to eat at on a regular basis, especially if the adults enjoy beverages from the bar which are very good or an occasional dessert.

Been coming here since they opened 20+ years ago (ate here last week), and NEVER had anything to send back, complain about, etc. With all the change in Raleigh, Dos Taquitos has stayed on my list of places to visit when in town even though I don't live there anymore.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank OldSchoolDropout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    45
    13
    10
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Still digging this place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2012

This isn't your average mexican restaurant. Although it has been there for many years, the dishes that are served there are not your typical Mexican fare. This is a modern menu, still using all Mexican ingredients with flair to it. The house made sangria is very good. The interior decoration is awesome. I love the little huts that are built inside and around the tables. Very tropical. One slight Con: The food was extremely spicy. I like spicy food but my step dad couldn't handle it. I forgot what he got but it was a basic menu item. It was almost too spicy for me. However, its a must have raleigh experience. It gets crowded pretty early too.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Can S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
46 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Delicious food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2012

Great atmosphere and delicious food. Lovely drinks. A bit pricey though.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Peggie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Delicioso!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2012

Great food and interesting decor. The slaw is awesome. The steak gorditas are my favorite.

Helpful?
1 Thank Rozebud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Authentic Food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2012

Four of us went here a few weeks ago and everything was so delicious! We all tried a little bit of each other's meals so I was able to try a few things on my first visit. The empanadas and the stuff pablano peppers were great. The only thing is the lighting is very low and it takes a few minutes to adjust.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Rbca78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dos Taquitos Mexican Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Dos Taquitos Mexican Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing