We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great bbq, great service”
Review of Ole Time Barbecue

Ole Time Barbecue
Ranked #103 of 1,446 Restaurants in Raleigh
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Lexington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great bbq, great service”
Reviewed June 21, 2014

I went for the first and only time when I was in town for a wedding. My husband and I went with a friend for lunch. The waitress told us what's what- coleslaw on the sandwich- who knew? The hushpuppies were delicious! If hushpuppies anywhere else actually tasted like that, I'd be a fan. The coleslaw on the sandwich was just right- not wet like lots of coleslaws are. The meat was served dry- you put your own sauce on. Awesome place, great prices- A++.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    33
    17
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
48 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Authentic BBQ”
Reviewed May 27, 2014

This is a little "Hole in the Wall" kind of place. I am not saying that in a bad way. Very small place, probably 2 dozen seats. The girl behind the counter looked to be having a bad day but she was very pleasant. The food was excellent. The Hush Puppy's were amazing. I had the Pulled Pork and it was good. If you are around this area you have to stop.
Bring Cash or Visa/MasterCard. They don't take AMEX

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Gichiguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Really homey diner, great food!”
Reviewed May 3, 2014 via mobile

We went here on a weekend night, 5 adults & 4 kids. It's a small diner, but they rearranged to find us room. Super waitress and cook - made us feel very comfortable. Free hush puppy appetizers were wonderful! We had various meats and sides, and nobody was disappointed by quality or quantity (kids included). We'll be sure to return next time we're in town.

Helpful?
Thank michael e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lillington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
69 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“great bbq”
Reviewed January 30, 2014

This place isn't much to look at, but the bbq and the sides are delicious. Great bbq. Sides are as good as grandma made them. Hushpuppies are fabulous.
Sit close to the cash register if you can and listen to the banter between the owner/manager and others. He's hilarious.
Can be very busy on weekdays @ lunch. We will return often.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Emilie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
1 review
“Great barbecue place!”
Reviewed December 5, 2013

I went twice in a week and had the barbecue tray with cole slaw. It was delicious!
The waitress was very nice and welcomed us with warm hushpuppies as soon as we sat down.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Julie_raleigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ole Time Barbecue also viewed

 

Been to Ole Time Barbecue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing