We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A go-to for quality mexican food”

Toreros Mexican Restaurant
Ranked #199 of 1,450 Restaurants in Raleigh
Price range: $21 - $30
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
2 reviews
“A go-to for quality mexican food”
Reviewed November 4, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Possibly one of my favorite mexican restaurants. I love their selection, and the quality of food. Their fajitas are out of this world! They also have wonderful lunch specials during the week, which make it convenient and budget friendly with coworkers.

We will definitely be visiting this restaurant for many years to come.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ashley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    17
    8
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Carolina
Level Contributor
78 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“More is not MORE”
Reviewed October 21, 2013

The basic recipe here is to overspice the food, give it in very large portions, and charge more. But throwing in more spice, to cover up that you don't really know how to bring out the best flavors in the food, and heap it on, does not make for a great deal or great tastes. Mind you, for a sweet tasting salsa, this is one of the best and the chips are good. But for the main entrees, higher than average prices, and big plates, end the end, do not really bring a good taste together to make it very satisfying. It's worth a try. But much better alternatives are out there. Salvadoran food is one option if you want something different.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Vegetarian222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great food & service”
Reviewed October 18, 2013

Torero's always has great food and service. They were pretty busy this time but still brought our order pretty quickly and were attentive. Great place to go with family (kid friendly), friends, etc.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Flutekk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
45 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Nothing special”
Reviewed August 10, 2013

In a city with plenty of good Mexican food there is no good reason to hit this one. Too much menu and too few treats.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank mike g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, NC
Level Contributor
41 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Ole! Relaxed family dining”
Reviewed May 17, 2013

Bringing very young children with you when you dine is always interesting, even challenging. So when my son and daughter-in-law and their two daughters ages 1 and 3 visited me recently, I selected kid-friendly restaurants. I knew that I was in the right kind of place when the waiter grabbed a fistful of crayons and coloring sheets and showed us to our table!

Now to the food. Honestly I have never seen so much food on a plate. My son and I had the pork carnitas. The portions were enough for 3 hearty eaters. The pork was tender and seasoned just right. Forkfuls of the tender meat and toppings filled the tortillas making for the tastiest of Mexican finger food. My daughter-in-law enjoyed a plate with a chicken enchilada and a chimichanga which she pronounced as very tasty. The girls enjoyed a Mexican pizza in between bites of my son's carnitas.

One of the diners at a table across from us was celebrating a birthday. After feliz cumpleanos in Spanish the waiter gently pressed a small cake into the birthday boy's face. That's a Mexican customer, of course, and was accompanied by much laughter and congratulations.

Thank you, Toreros. We enjoyed our food in your relaxed surroundings.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank FRCOCHM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Toreros Mexican Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Toreros Mexican Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing