We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hole in the wall”

NC Seafood Restaurant
Ranked #78 of 1,493 Restaurants in Raleigh
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: American, Seafood
Good for: Families with children
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Reviewed September 14, 2012

Greasy spoon with BIG portions. Order the lunch size plate unless you're going to share. The most important thing is...don't lose your number. They WILL NOT give you your food without it. Super busy at noon.

Thank AdamHerod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kemp P, Owner at NC Seafood Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2017

Thank you for the review. We're glad you like our food. Please come back and visit us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (179)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

148 - 152 of 179 reviews

Reviewed September 6, 2012

Like the others have said there's nothing fancy about this place but the food is great! There is always plenty for any appetite and when the weather's nice eating outside on the picnic tables is a treat!

Thank FeatherTech
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Kemp P, Owner at NC Seafood Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2017

Thank you for the review. We're glad you like our food. Please come back and visit us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed September 6, 2012

If you are looking for a fine dining experience - this isn't your place... as this is a cinder-block, picnic table, order-at-the-front, "serve yourself" type of place. It's very "outlet" feeling...

But with those issues addressed - this is an excellent, unique little seafood restaurant. You get LOTS of choices, brought in daily, fried up right on the spot - all of them piping hot. And the prices are very, very reasonable.

Particularly on trips back from the NC coast (such as the Wilmington and Morehead City areas) - my family has, for years now, made Raleigh's Farmers Market (and especially the seafood restaurant) a "must stop" on the way home. We make this a treat - as we can afford to order all the seafood choices that we wanted while at the expensive coast fish houses - but couldn't afford! (That's not entirely true - but once you visit this place, you'll know what I mean).

We stopped in 9/5/12 ... and once again, our food was reasonably priced, and steaming ("burn your tongue") hot. My wife got a nice big flounder plate, I got a heaping combo plate with popcorn shrimp, scallops, and crab cakes. Both came with thick-cut fries, hushpuppies, & cole slaw. Add in a sweet tea --- Delicious! They really pile it on.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Ed M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kemp P, Owner at NC Seafood Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2017

Thank you for the review. We're glad you like our food. Please come back and visit us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2012

Your not going to get a fancy table or even a waiter. But if you want great fried NC seafood, this is the place. My wife and I get a large 2 way combo and it's more than we can eat together, even when we share with the kids.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Mac W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kemp P, Owner at NC Seafood Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2017

Thank you for the review. We're glad you like our food. Please come back and visit us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2012

This old Raleigh standard offers up mass quantities of good seafood. Come here hungry, because a platter consists of 2-3 pounds of fish, so-so potato wedges, decent cole slaw, and good hush pups. A large plate must have easily one pound of fish alone. I recently had the scallops and oysters, which were very good. Don't come here looking for comfortable surroundings, because the building is like a barn or warehouse, the tables can be dirty, the chairs are high school cafeteria, and the flies annoying. But if you like grungy hole-in-the-walls with good food and prices, add this to your list.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank NJPlainsman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kemp P, Owner at NC Seafood Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2017

Thank you for the kind words. We're glad you like our quality and quantity. We like to make sure our customers are happy! Please come back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed NC Seafood Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to NC Seafood Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing