We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tasty and attractive prices”
Review of Captain Stanley's

Captain Stanley's
Ranked #163 of 1,450 Restaurants in Raleigh
Cuisines: Seafood
Restaurant details
Bismarck, North Dakota
Level Contributor
547 reviews
374 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“Tasty and attractive prices”
Reviewed December 1, 2013

Tried this restaurant for the first time. We knew we probably had found a good place by how full the parking lot was. Had a short wait for a table. Lots of choices. We tried various items. Enjoyed everything we had, some broiled and some fried. Everything was hot, service was quick. The inside could use an update but won't stop us from going back.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Glenn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    16
    7
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, NC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Seafood, Great Price”
Reviewed October 22, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Captain Stanley's has been in Raleigh for many years, but is now under newer management. And the food is once again delicious. We had typical fried seafood (fish, scallops, and oysters). It was fresh, hot, and cooked just right. We can find good seafood elsewhere, but we have to pay a lot more. Enjoy!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Carolyn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dothan, Alabama
Level Contributor
414 reviews
300 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Seafood North Carolina Style”
Reviewed October 4, 2013

If you need to take care of your seafood craving, then is the place to be. This restaurant has a large selection of seafood at reasonable prices. Warning, this is a local favorite that stays busy! The parking lot was full and there was a small line of dedicated patrons waiting to get inside. Everyone at this establish was so friendly; I highly recommend this restaurant!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Big_Globe_Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antigua, Guatemala
Level Contributor
82 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“We prefer getting takeout over eating here”
Reviewed May 20, 2013

The dining room is way overdue for a renovation. Uncomfortable seats and cheesy decor. BUT - the food is consistently great. Another seafood restaurant less than 2 miles away didn't last and went out of business, in spite of having a beautiful interior and more pleasant dining surroundings, I'm sure because their seafood wasn't nearly as good.

We get Captain Stanley's as takeout and bring it home to eat, and enjoy it very much. They have some of the best crab legs around, and their fried oysters, scallops and jumbo shrimp are perfect.

One last thing: They don't have a website (really?? Hello, it's 2013!), which is really annoying for ordering takeout.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DebCinkus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Holly, North Carolina
Level Contributor
621 reviews
354 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
“Great Seafood at Reasonable Prices!”
Reviewed April 7, 2013

Friends of ours introduced us to this place by ordering the Captain's platter for four. We received a heaping pile of fried oysters, shrimp, and scallops on top of flounder. The four of us gorged ourselves on the delicious seafood and ended up taking some home. You can get lots of other seafood and fish prepared in different ways. The menu is full of great choices and the restaurant is full of people enjoying them. The food is worth any wait time. We were there early on Saturday evening and the line was just out the door! Great soups, salads, and sides! We will be back!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Piseu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Captain Stanley's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing