We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Seafood at Reasonable Prices!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Captain Stanley's

Captain Stanley's
Ranked #161 of 1,440 Restaurants in Raleigh
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Mount Holly, North Carolina
Level Contributor
601 reviews
341 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
“Great Seafood at Reasonable Prices!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

Friends of ours introduced us to this place by ordering the Captain's platter for four. We received a heaping pile of fried oysters, shrimp, and scallops on top of flounder. The four of us gorged ourselves on the delicious seafood and ended up taking some home. You can get lots of other seafood and fish prepared in different ways. The menu is full of great choices and the restaurant is full of people enjoying them. The food is worth any wait time. We were there early on Saturday evening and the line was just out the door! Great soups, salads, and sides! We will be back!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Piseu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    16
    7
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Garner, North Carolina
Level Contributor
146 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“I always like going there”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2012

I enjoy going there. The food is good and the price is reasonable. It is always packed on Friday nights. The service is different everytime I go. Most times the wait people are nice. But once the ladies were fighting over who's table we were in. No one wanted to wait on us. finally the manager got our order.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Laurie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apex, North Carolina
Level Contributor
57 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Lavern and Paula are BACK!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2012

Lavern Stanley comes from the Calabash area of Brunswick County, NC and that is where he learned seafood. They had been in Raleigh for many years, but partnered with some others and moved back to Brunswick County several years ago leaving the partners to run the restaurant. We continued to go there for a while, but it was not the same quality and seemed to continue to decline. Lavern and Paula were good friends of ours and of Wake Christian Academy. We often lamented that they had left, like a family member had left. Lo and Behold, they have come back and taken the 401 South restaurant back over. The food, and atmosphere has returned. Now there is a really good seafood restaurant back in the area. You might find a more upscale building, but you won't find a better seafood meal at a better price with better people.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank aadm1110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Enjoyed the food and service would recommend”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2012

Very good seafood prices are good just a good ol resturant nothing fancy but worth it

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank ray t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Seafood @ a reasonable price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2012

I can remember eating here with my parents. My father was a devoted customer. This is delicious seafood at a very reasonable price.

Helpful?
Thank Deborah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Captain Stanley's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing