We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very unique dining experience”
Review of The Melting Pot

The Melting Pot
Reserve with OpenTable
The Melting Pot is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #183 of 1,464 Restaurants in Raleigh
Cuisines: American, French, Swiss
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: I-440
Santa Rosa Beach, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Very unique dining experience”
Reviewed October 31, 2013

There is no question the Melting pot is great for a romantic, fun, unique dining experience. The food was exceptional and the service beyond great.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank LEILANE V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    24
    22
    14
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great food but not great service”
Reviewed October 11, 2013

We have been to a couple different Melting Pot restaurants and it is one of my favorite places to go. We went to the one in Raleigh last weekend for my son and husband's birthday. Unfortunately we were in a room with 2 large parties (I had asked ahead of time to sit somewhere quiet since we had our 90+ year old grandma with us). It was really loud and we couldn't even hear each other talk. The service was just ok. We waited a long time between courses and were almost late for our movie. We thought 2 hours would be plenty of time. The food was really good- I just love fondue! We did the 4 course meal with cheese, salad, meat and dessert. Save lots of room for the dessert- it is the best part!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Corrie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic!!!”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

This was the first time I had ever been to The Melting Pot and it was a wonderful experience. The waiter was very attentive and the food was out of this world!!! It is a very expensive restaurant but definitely worth it for a special occasion.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank LeighAnn64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanford, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
196 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“This will be my last visit”
Reviewed August 25, 2013

I have been to Melting Pots before, so knew how it works. We were going for my daughters 17 birthday. Reservation was at 8, arrived at 755 and told a 15-20 minute wait. Seated at 810. Waitress took drink order at 820, by 845, all we had were drinks and we had not ordered. I explained to the waitress we had a long drive home and she said they were busy. Shortly after the manager was walking around, it was 900, we were on course 1 and I explained it was a special night so we did not want to have to cut out dessert but we needed to move along. She said sorry they had several walk ins. Ok... My problem with this is they accepted the walk ins. So, they were making their money but, my experience was diminished. Melting Pot is a splurge for us. Towards the end of the meal, the manager came back over and said again that she is sorry that she staffed for the reservations and did not expect so many walk ins and handed my husband a card and said happy birthday. He smiled and handed to our daughter, it was a melting pot birthday card signed by her, what???? They disappointed me in customer service. The food was fine, as it usually is but for $180 for 4 people, you are paying for the experience also. I will not be back.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank IMHO2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Gooey Goodness”
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Went to the Melting Pot on a Thursday night for dinner with my family. The food was delicious -- we all had the four-course menu. First course is cheese fondue, second is salad, third is meat, and fourth is chocolate fondue. I had the pacific rim course -- beef, pork, and duck -- and it was delicious. Chocolate and cheese fondues were both amazing. It was a little expensive for all of us, but it was definitely worth every penny. Our server (a young lady with dyed red hair) was incredibly friendly. We will definitely come again!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank superblueridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Melting Pot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing