We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”

42nd St Oyster Bar & Seafood Grill
Reserve with OpenTable
42nd St Oyster Bar & Seafood Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #10 of 1,446 Restaurants in Raleigh
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $33
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups, Kids, Special occasions, Families with children, Business meetings, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: West Street
Transit: RLine stop one block away
Fayetteville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
342 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed October 9, 2013 via mobile

Enjoyed a family b-day gathering here on a Sunday evening. Food is very good. Service above average. Prices are fair. Had the Norfolk style shrimp and scallops---yummy. First visit, but will not be the last.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Grady A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

756 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    389
    237
    91
    22
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Myers Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
59 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Very Good Service but...”
Reviewed October 8, 2013

The place is interesting. Nicely decorated and I particularly appreciated the sound deadening. It could be a very loud place but they really went to lengths to control it including carpeting the underside of the tables!!! The greetings were friendly and the wait staff were great. Lively and interested. Unfortunately, the food did not stand up. I suppose you would be happy if you just like fried or oysters but we were expecting more. My son and his had the Cajun Fried Mac & Cheese app while I had the crab dip. The Mac & cheese sounded great and I love mac & cheese, especially braised. Too bad. No cheese and it was burnt too crispy with the cajun flavor supplied as a sauce in a ramekin on the side. uuuggghhh. The crab dip was hot and good but served with cold slices of pita bread. Should have been chips. The pita was thick and dry. For entree they had seafood fettuccine Alfredo which my son said was "fine". I had the blackened salmon. Blackened, not BBQ Burnt. The salmon was dry and the charcoal crust went deep into the salmon. Baked potato was perfect. Having said all of that I am not an oyster fan but they looked great and there seemed to be a lot of them going. I think there are two oyster bars and they were busy. I like this restaurant for its service and atmosphere. Wish we had chosen better dishes. Again, the staff are terrific.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank joe y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Very good seafood”
Reviewed September 29, 2013

We ate here on Sept 2, and although ti wasn't our first choice (most other restaurants were closed for the holiday), we were not disappointed. The hush puppies are always delicious, served warm, with butter. We shared several dishes, crab cakes, which were delicious (and that's high praise for Marylander's), blackened bacon wrapped scallops, which were to-die-for scrumptious, and buffalo shrimp which were spicy, and a nice variant on a theme.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank treefrog62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
68 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A Gem in Downtown Raleigh”
Reviewed September 22, 2013

My wife and I dined here September 21 with daughter & son-in-law, who live only a block away. This place has been open over 80 years, but is still packed every night. We had oysters on the half shell (our first of the year) and they were delicious. Dinner was also very good. Everyone had something different, but the fried shrimp entrée was the best of the four entrees (my wife's choice). I had Cajun Shrimp, which were good, but her fried shrimp were simply outstanding. If you like steamed oysters, you can sit at the bar and they will shuck them for you. If in Raleigh, NC, go to their website and make your reservation. You won't regret it.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank allstuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, North Carolina
Level Contributor
39 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Wonderful restaurant for celebrating a birthday”
Reviewed September 14, 2013

I've been here several times and have always had a great dinner. This time, we had delicious oysters on the half shell followed by perfectly prepared grouper (birthday girl) and scallops (me). They have a good selection of bottled and draft beers and my server gave some great recommendations (including an off-menu choice - very cool!). I like the license plates from all the political heavyweights on the wall, and the tables along the kitchen area where the oysters are shucked. There is always a lot of activity and everyone seems to be having as much fun as we did. There are a couple of other places in Raleigh that are good for a special occasion but this is my favorite.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Joe H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 42nd St Oyster Bar & Seafood Grill also viewed

 

Been to 42nd St Oyster Bar & Seafood Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing