We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An experience of great professional knowledgable experience with fantastic flavours of traditional Italian delicacies.”

San Carlo Italian Bistro
Ranked #227 of 1,450 Restaurants in Raleigh
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $21 - $30
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Cary, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“An experience of great professional knowledgable experience with fantastic flavours of traditional Italian delicacies.”
Reviewed May 17, 2014

As a seasoned traveller and avid food aficionado I gave Casa San Carlo a go. Mother's Day was a perfect time. The busy day was anticipated with a full dining room and live music. We were promptly greeted by Gaetano the waiter who presented us with a number of specials with detailed descriptions. The dishes he explained came to life and he paired a few wines that complimented the dinners. His knowledge of food preparation and wines was surprising. Front the buffalo Mozzarella to the beautifully presentation of the Tiramisu the experience was flawless. Thank you to the staff and our waiter, Gaetano.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Explodinglov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    15
    8
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
152 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“EXCELLENT!!!”
Reviewed April 24, 2014

My wife and I dined here on a Wednesday night. We walked in, and there were plenty of tables, so we were seated immediately. We both ordered the scallops and shrimp in cream sauce special. It was the BEST!!! It was also a LOT of food, so we ended up taking about half of it home for another meal. Service was great. Never had to ask for anything. We will make another trip here for sure!!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank REBELJOHN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Italian Food”
Reviewed January 27, 2014

Based on recommendations in TripAdvisor, we dined at San Carlo's over the weekend. The food was excellent. We did not make a reservation, but were able to sit at the bar to drink and eat our dinner. The service was excellent. The food portions were very large. On weekends, I recommend making a reservation either by calling or online.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kate W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
100 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Nice Italian restauran”
Reviewed January 8, 2014 via mobile

This is a nice place where go have good Italian food. The place is pretty small and a little noisy. The major problem is that the tables are really closed to the entrance door and if it is cold outside you will get the freezing air during your meal.

Helpful?
Thank vittoria5768
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Youngsville, North Carolina
1 review
“Best Italian in the area”
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Several of my family members have enjoyed the brunch as we prefer to eat our large meal at lunch time. We were all very impressed with the quality of the several dishes offered. The garlic knots are wonderful. The owner has always come around to ask if everything is alright which is very nice. I want to go back soon and order from the menu. And maybe an order of garlic knots?

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Apple802014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed San Carlo Italian Bistro also viewed

 

Been to San Carlo Italian Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing