We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hands down our favorite restaurant in Raleigh area”

San Carlo Italian Bistro
Reserve with OpenTable
San Carlo Italian Bistro is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #241 of 1,444 Restaurants in Raleigh
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $21 - $30
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Wake Forest, North Carolina
Level Contributor
159 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“Hands down our favorite restaurant in Raleigh area”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

My wife and I just moved to Wake Forest from Massachusetts from August and we have been trying the local restaurants since our arrival. Hands down, our favorite restaurant in the area thus far in San Carlo. We've been there three times, including Valentine's Day and absolutely love the ambience, food, service, and management. We've tried different meals, we've done the price fixed menu, etc. and everything has been superb. I cannot recommend the restaurant enough.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lilroy0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    15
    8
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Louisburg, North Carolina
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Can be pricey (for dinner) but worth every penny”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013

Casa San Carlo is amazing! Chef Carlo is a magician when it comes to Italian food. yes, it can be pricey in the evenings, but you get great food and large portions. We were able to get multiple meals out of our entrees so it really isn't bad when you consider what you get. The lunch buffet is $8.95 and a very reasonable meal. You can spend close to that on fast food these days. The atmosphere has a quiet upscale feeling and is very romantic with the dim lighting and tabletop candles. The only thing better than the entrees is the dessert. You can't go wrong with the tiramisu. Makes a great date night with that special someone :)

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brandi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best Italian in Raleigh!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

Best Italian in Raleigh, have been here once a week for the past several weeks. Food is great, Carlo is great, love this place!!!!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Noel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
155 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Chef Carlo is a treat and his food is terrific!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2012

We have been going to San Carlo for a while. The food is always perfect . . . We have never, ever, ever had a bad meal here. The restaurant and menu have been revamped. The atmosphere is still as charming as ever. NOW the prices are more reasonable but the quality of the food and portion sizes have not changed a bit. Very authentic, very tasty, lots of variety. I hesitate to write a review because this restaurant is not as well-known as it should be but after Savoy, one of my favorites, had to close its doors because business was slow . . . I figure it is better to let others in on the secret than lose another great North Raleigh restaurant while places like Macaroni Grill (boo!) continue to thrive. You will love Chef Carlo!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tonya L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
32 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Decent food, but nothing special.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2012 via mobile

Lots of options on the menu, but meals were average. Pizza was the highlight - great choice. Wine menu was extensiv. Server was very friendly but food took longer than expected.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank beckysmith25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed San Carlo Italian Bistro also viewed

 

Been to San Carlo Italian Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing