We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Southern Charm for Breakfast”

Big Ed's City Market Restaurant
Ranked #3 of 1,455 Restaurants in Raleigh
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $30
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch
Columbus, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
244 reviews
212 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Southern Charm for Breakfast”
Reviewed November 24, 2012

First thing that must be said is the staff is absolutely the friendliest,nicest people that may be found on this planet. They take care of you to a level I have never experienced. Coffee kept full, need more biscuits, how about some more of this or that. great southern style breakfast- Grits are wonderful with their red eye gravy. Country ham and every breakfast item you could Imagine. They give you plenty and it is delicious. Great decor old items from the area displayed. when in Raleigh do not miss a trip to Big Ed's

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tippyobrien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

499 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    291
    163
    33
    5
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Love Big Ed's”
Reviewed November 21, 2012 via mobile

We always have breakfast here when we visit Raleigh. It's the best southern restaurant around and one of our favorites. It's also a great value as well, just remember to bring cash (credit cards not accepted). I recommend the pancake, but just one unless you're extremely hungry!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mkjava
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Cheap - filling awesome breakfast”
Reviewed November 17, 2012

Visited here while at a conference. Wait staff didn't have assigned sections so the only problem we had was they maybe asked us too many times if we wanted more water or more coffee. BIG Country breakfast for half the price of the hotel. Country diner feel. Biscuits are awesome!!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank trvel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
172 reviews
155 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Big Ed's continues to be one of my favorite breakfast spots!”
Reviewed October 31, 2012

Excellent breakfast! Country Ham, Hand pattied country sausage. Eggs cooked perfectly! Ample portions of grits and very good biscuits! When I have ordered sliced tomatoes to accompany breakfast they have been nice and ripe!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Robert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Pancakes are amazing!”
Reviewed October 27, 2012 via mobile

They start you off with biscuits that are pretty dang good and the staff is country-nice. If you are man enough, get a pancake but don't plan on being able to eat much else- it's amazing but enormous!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pgaclay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Big Ed's City Market Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Big Ed's City Market Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing