We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Consistently quality food”

Manchester's Bar and Grill
Ranked #281 of 1,444 Restaurants in Raleigh
Cuisines: American, Bar, Italian, Pizza, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
27 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Consistently quality food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

In the past I reviewed Manchester's and noted that the quality was inconsistent. In the last several months things have changed for the better. This place has the best hamburger in the area. We have ordered many different dishes recently and each time the food has been exactly as ordered with great flavors and taste.
A must visit for a casual meal with friends or family.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lastjuror
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    18
    8
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
52 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A neighborhood surprise”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Attended a private party at Manchesters for first time although I know it's been there a long time. What a surprise to find very tasty, thin crust pizza! Great wine and beer selection, too! Nice staff, great service. Will definetly return. Noticed several families enjoying Manchesters.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Patty B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing Food and Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2012

We have started going here frequently are so happy with the fantastic, and consistent, food and service we receive. Everyone is so friendly and welcoming right from the get go. The pizza is the best I have tasted anywhere around. My boyfriend has gotten the chicken parm and mad dog burger and loved them as well! This is a perfect spot for a family dinner or date night.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank C J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
70 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Inconsistent with flashes of excellence.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2012

We have eaten here dozens of times and yet at least half of the time we have had to send the food back to the kitchen. At times they have the best hamburger and other cooked meats in the area; if only the could consistently cook the meat to the standard requested by the customer. The non-meat meals have been of consistent high quality,

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DanTColeman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Place for Casual Dining”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2011

If you're looking for casual dining with consistently good food in NW Raleigh, this is a great choice. It's nothing fancy but has consistently good food at a reasonable price.

I had originally gone to Manchester's in 1998. At that time, it was about the only place on that end of town. I had stopped going there soon after because I didn't like the smokey bar area, the aroma of which was impossible to avoid anywhere in the dining room. Times have changed! Today there are many choices as NW Raleigh has grown and NC now has a no smoking law. No more smokey bar/dining room. I was extremely pleased when I came back for another try about 6 months ago. We liked it so much we have now started going about once every two weeks (usually week nights). The food is great -- we tend to stay more on the casual side with sandwiches or burgers (which are great!) but more substantial menu items are on the menu as well. Most nights the service is very good. The atmosphere is friendly and neighborhood casual. There are regulars about any night of the week in the bar but everyone seems welcoming. Not really a sports bar but if you're so inclined you can catch a football or Hockey game from either the bar or the dining room.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Itinerant_Tarheel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Manchester's Bar and Grill also viewed

 

Been to Manchester's Bar and Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing