We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“pizza and chopped salad--yum”

Bella Monica Italian Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Bella Monica Italian Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #84 of 1,455 Restaurants in Raleigh
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $21 - $30
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
NC
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“pizza and chopped salad--yum”
Reviewed March 9, 2013

the company where I work is not far from Bella Monica's, so I've eaten Bella Monica pizza before as takeout. For special occasions, my boss likes to treat us--and the pizza is amazing.

I "dined in" for the first time a few days ago. Because I'm on a fairly strict weight loss diet, I wanted to avoid the pizza and sausage/meatball offerings. Fortunately, the salad choices were amazing. I ordered a chopped salad--and it was the perfect blend of color and yum. I asked them to add grilled shrimp (for some low-fat protein) and it was delicious too. The service was unobtrusive yet present. We'll be back.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Eliza_nc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    172
    57
    32
    14
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cary, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Not good at all”
Reviewed March 2, 2013

Went there with high hopes due to the great reviews. Honestlyy folks go elsewhere. The service is not good and the food was flavoreless. If you are used to good Italian food ( The Hill in Saint Louis, Little Italy etc..) you wil be disappointed. Save your money go elsewhere

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank bagella123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Overrated”
Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

I go here about every six months and always have high hopes that the food will be as good as others say, but I am usually disappointed. The gnocchi with pesto and shrimp are pretty tasty. I always get carryout because the dinning room is crowded and noisy. There is no good place to wait to pick up carryout, so call ahead and give them plenty of time before arriving. I just wish the flavors were a little richer and bolder.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank margiek77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Overrated”
Reviewed February 9, 2013

"bbq pork slider with fontina cheez" equals boca patty dipped in jack daniels sauce...not impressed at all...server was graceful and on time in spite of the less than food...will never return, wine list was good...food was a joke

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank teagle1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not that amazing”
Reviewed January 30, 2013

First of all, every single dish I've ever received at Bella Monica has been saturated with oil. Just because you use a lot of olive oil in your dishes doesn't make them Italian, just unhealthy.

The server was friendly, but after asking twice for bread, she brought it with our meal more than 30 minutes after we had been seated. Several people had also received their food before we did even though they had been seated after us.

My friend got sick within hours after eating here and checked into the urgent care. It was either food poisoning or a norovirus. I certainly hope they don't have sick people preparing the food.

I would recommend the neighboring Brio Tuscan Grille, or Vivace, as better alternatives to Bella Monica.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Zerrah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bella Monica Italian Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Bella Monica Italian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing