We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Glenwood Grill

Glenwood Grill
Reserve with OpenTable
Glenwood Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #22 of 1,440 Restaurants in Raleigh
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $40
Cuisines: American, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Oberlin Road
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013 via mobile

The food here is always very good and consistent. We have eaten here 10+ times and never had a bad meal. The menu changes somewhat frequently which allows
For return trips without having to have the same meal repeatedly. The prices are good for the quality of food.
My one complaint is that often the wait staff is rude. Some of the waitresses are fantastic but a few of the waiters are not polite. Chad, the bartender, is fantastic.
Overall, it is a quality restaurant with solid and consistent food.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ram0707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    141
    52
    16
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Classy Place but small quanties”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

Glenwood Grill has survived the test of time and still appears to be a neighborhood favorite. It is classy and the staff is excellent. The food tastes wonderful. The quantities are very small. The seafood and grits entree had two large scallops and three shrimps. One more of each might have been considered an entree. A great place to go for show and taste, but not to satisfy a normal appetite.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Roger P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
300 reviews
231 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Good food with a Snooty atmosphere”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

My wife and I went to dinner here this past Friday. Overall, the service was not great - took forever to get water, rarely saw our server, and took even longer to get and pay for a check. The server seemed annoyed to be waiting on us - maybe it's because we're in our 20's and the normal crowd there seems to be 60+? I don't know. The seating was VERY tight, as in we could hear the conversations from each of the tables sitting beside us - I'm not a huge fan of this.

We ordered the lobster mac, which was very good. I had the NY Strip plate, which was very solid but nothing too special. The potato salad that accompanied was very tasty and unique! My wife had the seafood grits and LOVED it! It was delicious.

Overall, for two of the more highly priced entrees, and app, and a glass of wine our bill was around $75. Not bad, but there are other places in Raleigh I would prefer with far less 'stuffiness'.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Justin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wake Forest, North Carolina
Level Contributor
29 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A second "good but not great"”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2013

I agree 100% with the review before mine. Food was tasty, but not extraordinary. Servers were attentive and timing was perfect (bringing refills, clearing table, attending to the bill). Atmosphere is OK but in this location you can't expect too much.

There are better places to spend $35 per person.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank RP5528
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
99 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“A little expensive”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

The food was good but not great. We have had two pleasant meals there although the cost seems a little more than the quality of the food would indicate.

Helpful?
1 Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Glenwood Grill also viewed

 
Raleigh, NC
 

Been to Glenwood Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing