We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Party for your mouth!!!”
Review of Bloomsbury Bistro

Bloomsbury Bistro
Ranked #62 of 1,450 Restaurants in Raleigh
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $40
Cuisines: American, French, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
“Party for your mouth!!!”
Reviewed March 5, 2014

This is our fav restaurant in the Raleigh/Durham area! No matter what you order it is a party for your mouth!! The service is always outstanding. It is on the expensive side but it is so unique, we think it is worth it. I would highly recommend this restaurant!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cali13girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    94
    27
    7
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
144 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Expen$ive for Experience”
Reviewed February 18, 2014 via mobile

Food was good; not great. Appetizer Japanese crab cake was delicious. So we were disappointed that the Salmon was overcooked and Swordfish lacked flavor. Dessert (chocolate) was tasty. Expected more for the price. Service was good. David was our server and ensured we never waited for anything.

Helpful?
Thank Go4theGreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, NC
Level Contributor
130 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Pretty Good”
Reviewed February 1, 2014

We went during Triangle Restaurant Week (although Bloomsbury was not participating). All in all, it was good, not top notch, but good. While I am not planning to go back any time soon, it is a place that I would say is worth a try if you have not been there.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank PSUDuke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apex, North Carolina
Level Contributor
328 reviews
245 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“HIGH PRICES FOR A AVERAGE MEAL”
Reviewed December 30, 2013

This restaurant boosts high reviews from many sources. However, this is our second dinner there and for the price one can only consider it average. Endless Raleigh restaurants top this establishment for great food and dining. First of all, the wine prices are high for the selections.
The entree selection is extremely limited which on both occasions created difficulty in choice.. Prices again are very high except for one vegetarian selection, $24.95 up. The night we were at the establishment, the daily fish was served with a curry sauce. My wife had a Black Angus item that featured a so-so sauce with a brussel sprout slaw that had a bad taste of old brussel sprouts.
My dish of pork had a sauce using fatty bacon - bad news. The entree unless specified comes with no potato.
The appetizers all 8.95 and above included the only salad choice (Caesar).
The only pluses I can give this restaurant is for the homemade bread and butter and good service.
Will not return and cannot recommend at this level of dining.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Burtdol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
209 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Creative and well executed menu”
Reviewed October 19, 2013 via mobile

First visit with a grandson living nearby. Good beer list, wines as well. Small be diverse menu. We each ordered a different main course, each very good and obviously, well prepared. Great service. Try it!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Buppa1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bloomsbury Bistro also viewed

 

Been to Bloomsbury Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing