We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Raleigh Downtown
Ranked #9 of 85 Hotels in Raleigh
Certificate of Excellence
Murrells Inlet, South Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Friendly Staff”
Reviewed June 5, 2014 via mobile

Just spent the night at this hotel and it was the best staff, friendly, informative and the room was very clean. Check for Katie when you check in. She's a keeper! Lots of variety for breakfast.

Claire Stearns
Murrells Inlet, SC

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Claire S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonRaleighDwntwn, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Raleigh Downtown, responded to this review, July 26, 2014
Dear Claire S,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience with others! I am so happy to read that you had such a pleasant experience with us! Our staff dedicates every second to ensuring our guests are well taken care of and have everything they need. Katie, in particular, is one of our long time employees and continues to amaze us with her service.

Hospitably,
Maddy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

684 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    430
    159
    63
    18
    14
See reviews for
168
179
32
218
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 29, 2014

if you choose to stay at this hotel, and plan to sleep, make sure to demand a room facing the ugly buildings and concrete out back or the railroad on the side. Either choice would be far superior to facing the street. Trust me.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Scott M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonRaleighDwntwn, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Raleigh Downtown, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Dear Scott M,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience! I greatly apologize that you did not have the best experience possible. I completely understand your disappointment in the noise disturbances that you experienced. We are currently working very diligently with the city and surrounding venues to restrict the noise level within the city to the best of our ability. We are also working with our company on ideas for the hotel that can restrict the noise level. We always want to ensure that our guests have the best experience possible, I apologize that you did not have this experience. If you ever come back into the area, please do not hesitate to contact us directly, inform us of your precious experience, and we will make sure that you are placed and a nice quiet location with the best view possible.

Thank you again for sharing your experience and for being our guest!

Sincerely,
Maddy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilson, NC
Level Contributor
44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2014

We stay at this hotel often in order to go out on the town and not have to drive home. It is clean, well staffed and very convenient to the night life of Raleigh. The breakfast bar in the morning is lovely and the rooms are spacious.

Room Tip: Get a room toward the back of the hotel for more privacy and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MissyR72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonRaleighDwntwn, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Raleigh Downtown, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Dear MissyR72,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review about our hotel! I am so happy to read that you enjoyed our hotel and location. We are very convenient to a lot of local restaurants and entertainment venues to where you can park your car a leave it if you would like. We hope that we will get to see you again for another night out in downtown Raleigh!

Thank you again for sharing your experience with others!

Hospitably,
Maddy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia, United States
1 review
Reviewed May 23, 2014

do your best to book online. the staff at the front desk was clueless and clearly not trained on customer service; i wouldn't quite call it rude, they just literally have no idea what protocol to follow when greeting guests, like start by actually acknowledging my presence. also a bit annoying to check-in before you can park. i found street parking and then had to come in and walk back to it and then park again. room was very nice and cleaning staff was friendly and helpful. small but nice pool and gym

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Juanita S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonRaleighDwntwn, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Raleigh Downtown, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Dear Juanita S,

Thank you very much for your review! I greatly apologize that you did not have a pleasant experience with our front desk staff. Your comments about the staff and how they seemed is definitely not a usual occurrence for us. We always strive to provide the best service for our guests and make sure they feel at home while staying with us, and I greatly apologize that you did not have this experience. I have already completed research as to who made your reservation and checked in you and have already taken the appropriate action to ensure this does not happen again to yourself or another guest at our hotel.

Other than booking and check in, I am very happy to know that you did enjoy the other features our hotel has to offer. I do hope that you will give our hotel a second chance to regain your confidence in us during your next visit to Raleigh.

Thank you again for sharing your experience with us and others.

Sincerely,
Maddy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Okemos, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2014

Three college girlfriends and I stayed here for a long weekend in May for a 20 something year reunion. We had two adjoining rooms, each with a queen size bed. The rooms were very nice, with comfortable beds and a small sitting area. Each had a desk also, which would have been helpful had we been there on business. My only complaint regarding the rooms was that the bathroom light switch is outside the bathroom, so you have to light up the whole sleeping area to go into the bathroom. Not very good for two people sharing a room when one is already asleep.

The location was very good. Many bars and restaurants are within easy walking distance, including Oakz, which is right across the street (and let us come in for a drink out of the pouring rain, even though they had just closed). Oakz was actually a stop on the food tasting tour we went on during our stay, so it was fun see our "neighbors" on the tour.

We were all particularly impressed with the great front desk staff each evening. Josh Johnson was particularly wonderful - he gave us recommendations on where to eat, and made sure that we had exactly what we needed for our girls' weekend.

Breakfast was good, and relatively comprehensive for an included item. It would have been nice to have a bar in the hotel, but with so many nearby, it wasn't a big problem.

I would stay here again, and would recommend the hotel to someone else.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonRaleighDwntwn, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Raleigh Downtown, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Dear Amy C,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review! I am so happy to read that you enjoyed your girls weekend and reunion. Our location is definitely great for weekends like girls weekends since we are located near so many different restaurant and entertainment venues. The Oakz restaurant across the street has great food and excellent staff and ownership! We are always suggesting them to our guests. Josh is one of long time staff members and is always going above and beyond for our guests! He is extremely passionate about what he does and it shows. He still amazes me and our staff by the lengths he will go for our guests.

Thank you again for sharing your experience with others. Hopefully we will have the pleasure in hosting your next girls weekend in Raleigh!

Hospitably,
Maddy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynchburg, United States
1 review
Reviewed May 21, 2014

Great, clean hotel. Easy to get to and has many fine dining establishments of varying price ranges within walking distance of hotel. Complimentary breakfast is great. Hotel staff goes out of their way to make your stay comfortable! Definitely recommend.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Jacob C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonRaleighDwntwn, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Raleigh Downtown, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Dear Jacob C,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review! We always make sure that our rooms are fresh and clean for our guest's arrival. Our staff also dedicates every second to serving our guests and anticipating any needs that may arise.

Thank you for sharing your experience with others! We hope to see you again during your next visit to Raleigh!

Hospitably,
Maddy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven, United States
1 review
Reviewed May 20, 2014

While attending training for work, hosted in one of the conference rooms at this location, I was blown away by the exception quality of service as well as my room accommodations. After all the pleasurable experiences I have had with Hampton Inn & Suites, in multiple states, I no longer want to stay anywhere else when traveling. This particular location is perfect for checking out the Glenwood South area. It is also conveniently located to the other downtown areas and RDU.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Rebecca S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonRaleighDwntwn, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Raleigh Downtown, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Dear Rebecca S,

Thank you very much for the wonderful review and for sharing your experience with others! I am so happy to read that you had such a nice experience with us! Our staff dedicates every minute to ensuring that our rooms are clean, stocked, and ready for a comfortable stay and to ensuring our guests are well taken care of while with us. Being located on Glenwood South is perfect for business or leisure travelers. We are within walking distance to so many different local restaurants and entertainment venues that a car is not necessary. We hope to see you again during your next visit to Raleigh!

Hospitably,
Maddy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Raleigh hotels
1.0 mi away
Raleigh Marriott City Center
0.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Raleigh - Brownstone - University
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Raleigh Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Aloft Raleigh
Aloft Raleigh
#28 of 85 in Raleigh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Raleigh / Crabtree Valley
0.9 mi away
Sheraton Raleigh Hotel
Sheraton Raleigh Hotel
#42 of 85 in Raleigh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Raleigh Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Raleigh Downtown

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Raleigh Downtown
Address: 600 Glenwood Ave, Raleigh, NC 27603-1589
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Raleigh
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 85 Hotels in Raleigh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Raleigh Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 126
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hilton Hotels Direct, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Raleigh Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing