We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of the best dining options in Raleigh/ Cary”
Review of Bida Manda

Bida Manda
Reserve with OpenTable
Bida Manda is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 1,446 Restaurants in Raleigh
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: International, Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Families with children, Bar scene, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Transit: R Line, R15 City Center Deck, Moore Square Stop
Description: Right in the heart of downtown Raleigh, Bida Manda is a thoughtful and sharp gathering place celebrating the diverse food and culture of Laos. Bida Manda is one of the very first Laotian restaurants in the US. Sanskrit for father and mother, we name the restaurant Bida Manda as our way of honoring our parents in Laos who taught us everything we know about food, hospitality, and the power it has in bringing people together. Our parents' recipes are the inspiration for our menu. Every dish on our menu is exactly what we grew up eating. They are the kind of dishes you might find on the street corners of Luang Prabang and at a Laotian home. Come in and go away with us on sensational culinary journey to Laos. ------ Whether it is a birthday dinner for 10 guests or a corporate event for 100+, we will work with you to craft your memorable dining experience. Please contact Vansana Nolintha at vansana@bidamanda.com for more information.
Cary, NC
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“One of the best dining options in Raleigh/ Cary”
Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

So many outstanding choices and the gluten free options are plentiful. Our entire family of five, including our teenage kids and my wife who has Celiac's, really enjoyed eating here. Good value and delicious food (lettuce wrap appetizer was especially good). We don't often go into Raleigh to eat but this is worth a return trip. Hope they expand into downtown Cary!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank scattt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

693 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    506
    138
    38
    9
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, NC
Level Contributor
58 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Awesome”
Reviewed June 25, 2013

This is a great restaurant, and it's really to have another good choice in the old Duck & Dumpling building. The prices are surprisingly good, and the servers are very friendly and knowledgeable. We had the tom ka gai and the summer rolls as appetizers. Both were excellent - the soup has a bit of heat, but nothing overwhelming. For entrees, we had the crispy pork belly soup, the basil-beef stir fry, and the pad thai. All were very good. The soup portion was huge, and the stir fry and the pad thai were especially good. The friendly owner stopped by our table for a quick chat. Highly recommended!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Johann8431
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, NC
Level Contributor
345 reviews
222 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 217 helpful votes
“Both visits, wonderful”
Reviewed June 23, 2013

My wife and I have eaten at Bida Manda twice, once with our grown sons and once with two colleagues. Both visits were terrific. The interior is interestingly decorated with bamboo-like reclaimed wood, and the place feels both simultaneously upscale and laid back. There's a long bar along one side (facing several tables), and other area behind a half-wall with more tables. The food is a wonderful mix of the familiar and the new (if you haven't experienced much Laotian food); the familiar items have interesting twists. The first time, we ordered the lettuce wraps, which were terrific; the second time, both the fried spring rolls and the (cold) fresh rolls, and they were fabulous. My wife ordered the caramelized ginger pork ribs with boiled egg, grilled asparagus, and jasmine rice on both her visits, and I joined her on that the second time, mostly because of how much she raved about them. This is melt-in-your-mouth pork that slides off the bone, marinated to perfection. I had the pad thai on the first visit (always a good test), and it was excellent. One of our colleagues ordered the pumpkin curry with root vegetables and jasmine rice and let us have a taste: first-rate, with interesting flavors and fairly spicy. My son ordered the catfish soup--he raved about it. The waiter brings little glasses of an interesting, cooling drink at the end of the meal, and a basket of shrimp chips at the start. Service on both occasions was excellent, except that on the second visit, our waiter told it us would be 15 minutes wait for a mixed drink because the second bartender hadn't arrived. We found that a little odd and ordered wine (which took a wee bit longer than expected but not annoyingly so). On the second visit, one of our colleagues had a peanut allergy and the waitstaff were super accommodating, explaining exactly what had peanuts and holding the peanuts from the special she ordered, a green papaya salad with huge shrimps (it normally comes with chicken. This is currently one of our favorite places in Raleigh. If you have wine or drinks, it won't necessarily be a cheap meal; we spent about $90 for two, including tax, tips, and two glasses of wine each. But well worth it. Reservations are helpful (with all the strong reviews); five days before a Saturday night, we had only a 6 p.m. or 10 p.m. option on Open Table; an hour after I made the reservation, there was only 5 p.m. and 10:00 p.m.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DoctorCompRhet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Can't believe I waited so long....”
Reviewed June 19, 2013

Rates as one of the best restaurant experiences I've ever had. The prices are good, the hospitality is top notch and the attention to detail was exceptional. We got there close to the end of the night and the staff was obviously tired but they didn't leave us feeling neglected and were always smiling. The food was amazing. Chicken Curry was nicely spicy without overpowering the food. The Ginger Pork Ribs were superb. We will definitely be back.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kdpez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
178 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 220 helpful votes
“Downtown Raleigh Experience”
Reviewed June 17, 2013

We had a great experience at Bida Manda. Our waitress, (Kandita?), was personable and attentive. We had the lettuce wrap appetizer that was very good, but not at all like you're used to at PF Changs. I tasted many of my friend's entrees and everyone thoroughly enjoyed their meal. The price range of 30$ seems a little high. My pad thai was 16$. The atmosphere is different and very appropriate for a city restaurant. It is a great place for a date or friends. I wouldn't recommend it for a group larger than six because it is fairly small with limited large tables. Also, since the decor is mainly pieces of wood and rafters, the noise level is a bit louder. It's definitly directed at a younger audience or couples. I would recommend this place!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank uncwmel10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bida Manda also viewed

 

Been to Bida Manda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing